We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tired and worn, but clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bangalore Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bangalore Gate
Ranked #130 of 640 Hotels in Bengaluru
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tired and worn, but clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The front desk really did a terrible job welcoming us. In fact, they set a bad tone for our 1 night stay. We waited 20 minutes for our room to be ready despite it being an hour after the checkin time. While we waited, the front desk wouldn't give us the internet code.

The lobby is dated and the furniture smells a little musty, but otherwise it is clean.

The room was right near the elevator and there was a strong chemical smell throughout the floor. We couldn't tell if it was air freshener or wet paint. Also, there were moth balls in the drawers in the room and the smell of mold.

That said, the room was super clean, but the furniture was worn out. The floor was probably super once, but now is covered in stains. The TV worked, but the volume was inconsistent from channel to channel. One channel would be super loud, the next too quiet to hear.

The bathroom is totally dated and could use an upgrade. But again, it was clean and functional.

The breakfast in the room was surprisingly good. Nothing special, but given the rest of the hotel, we were worried. Still, it was tasty enough.

The location is good, but the front desk really isn't there to help you enjoy your stay. They don't have lots of information about the area to share.

It's always a risk choosing a 3-star hotel in India. The quality varies a lot...If the price were cheap, we might stay there again. but more likely, we would risk a different place we'd never stayed at.

Room Tip: We had a basic room. I think the ones they picture are the next level up. Well worth the 400 extra r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Sir,
It has been a commitment on part of me and Our entire TEAM to see that guest have a pleasant experience and a very comfortable stay with us from the reservation time till checkout. But it was sad to read that we didn't fulfill the same during your recent stay with us for which we wholeheartedly apolozise.
After a brief meeting with our team I would like to write down few points regarding your stay-
1. Delay in Check In- It was peak Christmas/ New Year period and the day of your arrival was busiest day of the season where our occupancy rate was beyond 100%. The previous occupant had a infant and they had requested for little grace time after standard checkout time of 12 Noon (under special circumstances we have to honor special requests for extension of checkout time and here guest had a infant which we couldn't refuse). Further it took us some time naturally to get the room ready and allot the same. Hence there was a delay but same was conveyed to you on arrival.Alternatively Superior room was also suggested (the only room available at that time which was also ready)
2. Regarding Internet access code- This was a purely of Technical nature. Internet access code is system generated and is available ONLY when the guest checks In/details are fed into our computer software. But we saw to it that there was no delay in activating the internet access once you were in your room. I am also you also liked our FREE HIGH SPEED internet connectivity.
3. Regarding chemical smell- Maintenance work in our property is of regular nature. The smell what you experienced was due to on going paint work in the common areas on the floor above you.
4. Regarding rooms & furniture- the room you had taken & stayed was a basic Standard room which was also reasonably priced .Our front desk had suggested regarding upgrade to Superior room at a add on cost of INR 400. As you know this room has trendy new decor, LCD TV, mini fridge, coffee/ tea maker , safe etc and has variety of complimentary items. But you had chosen our standard room instead. Its been a tradition to constantly upgrade our rooms, common areas and facilities, the work on the same is on going.

Finally our Front desk & entire team @ Hotel Bangalore Gate is here to deliver our best possible services, guide our guests and make guest stay more comfortable. We whole heartedly welcome you again to stay with us on your next visit to Bangalore.

Regards,
Hotel Bangalore Gate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    58
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
22
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was our hotel choice for 2 nights at the start of our trip and the last night at the end. We were not dissapointed.

We arrived in the very early morning and our taxi driver had to wake the staff to unlock the gates and all the staff were most efficient in quickly checking us in and getting us to our aircon room, which was comfortable and had free wifi. All toileteries were complimentary, as was drinking water. Bathroom was very clean.

The restaurant attached was very good and we ate here all the times we stayed. Be warned the main courses are very big portions (you won't need a starter) and they have no concept of "Please make it mild"

The receptionists were helpful and spoke excellent English. they even went out of their way to flag down a tuk tuk in the pouring rain, when we were leaving for the railway station.

The only negative (and this has been mentioned by others below) was the cost of a taxi back to the airport. We never saw one taxi on KG Road and as we didn't have an Indian sim, we couldn't book a Meru cab. So we had no option but to use their service. This cost Rp1,000 and was simply just a standard KSTDC taxi. This is the same taxi we caught from the airport and it only cost Rp550 on the meter and this was at 02.30 am. I have read the hotels response to this criticism, but still think their charge is too much.

But apart from that gripe we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We found the cheapest way to book this hotel was via Hotels.com and Hostelbookers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank infoaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Sir,
It was great to know you had a enjoyable stay at Hotel Bangalore Gate during your recent visit. We wholeheartedly thank you for your appreciation of the Hotel's location, efficiency of staff, comfort level of our rooms, cleanliness, restaurant and our service standards.
We apolozice for the inconvenience you may have faced due to spicy food in the restaurant as major menu had been designed keeping local market in mind.(we Indians like our food to be bit spicy). We have now instructed our restaurant staff to guide the guests to select food with mild spices or to serve food less spicier on request. Further we are in a process of rolling out a NEW on request/ special menu specially to cater our FOREIGN CLIENTELE.
As regards to your feedback on charges for Airport transfers, KSTDC taxis which we use for transfers are highly efficient, prompt and are not the similar ones you find in Airport like Meru. INR 1000 what we charge is inexpensive considering both ways (hotel- airport-hotel) charges what hotel pays the taxis, parking fees, taxes and waiting charges in case of flight delays or service during odd hours (midnight/ early morning) but doesn't collect any extra charges from the guests.
We once again thank you for reviewing us and welcome you again on your next visit to Bangalore.
Hotel Bangalore Gate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Spent 2 nites there with a large delegation and location was good, hotel was clean, service was good. close to shopping places and good restaurants. liked it on the whole.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MintyAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Hi,
Good to read your favorable review about Hotel Bangalore Gate. Indeed it was a great challenge to handle a large group of 35 + rooms. I hope that our TEAM has rightfully delivered and made yourself & entire group feel comfortable during your entire stay.
We welcome you again to HOTEL BANGALORE GATE on your next visit to Bangalore.
Regards, TEAM @ Hotel Bangalore Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed for three nights and found the staff on reception were extremely helpful. The location is very good if you are arriving or travelling on by bus or train as it is close to both stations. There is a Vegetarian restaurant attached to the hotel which is very popular with locals, and provides good food. There did not seem to be a large choice of other places to eat immediately around the hotel. Walked down to the shops around the bus station at night for a flavour of the local life.

The rooms are spaceous and clean, althought one morning there was alot of noise from the floor above, it seemed to be from furniture being moved around, ready for some sort of meeting or conference.

Overall had an enjoyable stay. If you are looking to stay in a local area, and not amongst all the tourist shops, close to the bus and train stations, then this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsg067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Ma'am,
It was great to know you had a enjoyable stay at Hotel Bangalore Gate during your recent visit. Location, Service, Food and Cleanliness has always been Hotel Bangalore Gate's strong FORTE which you have rightfully mentioned in your review.
We apolozice for the inconvenience due to noise experienced by you as we had to do some urgent unavoidable maintenance work on the floor above you.
We once again thank you for reviewing us and welcome you again on your next visit to Bangalore.
Hotel Bangalore Gate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroda, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were visiting the city after a gap of 20 years and did not know where to stay. A friend of us suggested Bangalore Gate and we are thankful to him for that, as we found out it was very very comfortable. The staff was very well-trained and service was too good.Food was really tastey and the rooms were nice and clean. We stayed there from 21st March,2011 to 23rd March, 2011 and would like to recommend all to stay at this hotel. Also would like to stay there again and again...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlkaBhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear Tulip,
I thank you on behalf of our entire team for rating us 5 out of 5 for your experience at Hotel Bangalore Gate. Our Team is overwhelmed by your review and we welcome you again for your next stay with us.
Thank you,
K Nagaprasad Shenoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Right from airport pickup, the hotel displayed its responsibility towards guests. I arrived Bangaluru at 3 am and called the driver through the given number. The driver picked up the phone and showed comfort. Few minutes later, the manager called me and assured of prompt pickup which happened on time. Warm reception followed by excellent room service and free breakfast.... all were nice.

The next day, I had to leave by 4 am and the hotel promptly woke me up with a cup of nice coffee, assuring me of drop service. I was really moved by the courtesy of all the staff, especially in the front-office/reception.

I would love to visit this hotel again and strongly recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Book in advance, as the hotel is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathivanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Bangalore Gate. We are also pleased to read your positive review & satisfactory comments on services at our property. Your review will surely be an inspiration to take our TEAM PERFORMANCE to greater heights. Looking forward to your next stay @ Hotel Bangalore Gate.
Regards,
Hotel Bangalore Gate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had come for business purpose to BLR and really had a pleasant stay at Bangalore Gate Hotel, Bangalore. Hotel had also arranged for airport pickup and till arrival at the hotel they were communicating on the phone to guide us properly. Pickup was flawless. Best thing was after a long journey we were greeted with smiling faces and were immediately upgraded to a premium room without even asking. the toilets were clean n modern, rooms were very well done, HI SPEED WIFI was really speed . Breakfast was complimentary . As we are very frequent travellers to BANGALORE we are really looking forward going back there. BEST OF LUCK TEAM BGH

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dealzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore_Gate, Director of Sales at Hotel Bangalore Gate, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Bangalore Gate. We are also pleased to read your positive review & satisfactory comments on services at our property. Your review will surely be an inspiration to take our TEAM PERFORMANCE to greater heights. Looking forward to your next stay @ Hotel Bangalore Gate.
Regards,
Hotel Bangalore Gate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Akshaya Aura
#158 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
The Signature Inn
#157 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Richmond Town
Vellara Hotel
Vellara Hotel
#64 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rialto Hotel
#126 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Springs Hotel & Spa
#91 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#60 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bangalore Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bangalore Gate

Property: Hotel Bangalore Gate
Address: 9 & 12 Gajanana Towers |opp Menaka Theatre I | Kempe Gowda Road (K G Road), Bengaluru 560009, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 640 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bangalore Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Kempe Gowda Road , Hotel Bangalore Gate is budget friendly and is designed to suite tastes of business and leisure traveler alike. We offer guests strategic location that effectively reduces travel time to commercial hubs & tourist destinations and ensures safety. We are just 1 Km away from Majestic Bus Station, Bangalore City Railway Station & upcoming Metro Junction. Kempe Gowda International Airport is 35 kms away. Hotel offers three dinning options, Vasudev Agidas on the ground floor- 100% veg restaurant, Journey of Spices on the roof top - a multi cuisine veg and non veg, Cafe Terracotta- ope nair coffee shop. Hotel also has 3 conference/ banqueting venues, ample car park, complimentary WIFI , 24 hours check in/ checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Bangalore Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing