We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A very good Heritage hotel. Excellent service,spacious room and good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #37 of 200 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very good Heritage hotel. Excellent service,spacious room and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel during our Honeymoon in June 2011 and we couldnt have asked for more. It is a very well kept hotel. the rooms are very spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. And the Bathrooms too are equally good, very clean, big and nicely planned (If you are a little fussy about that, you will love this place). the property in itself is very beautiful. It is also very strategically located in the fort Kochi and most of the tourist places are at a stone's throw. the best part about the hotel was its service. the staff is extremely helpful and hospitable. the food is good but a little expensive. What i suggest is, you should have the meals at the nearby restaurants which are comparatively cheaper. there are a lot of dhabas near the Chinese Fishing nets which serve good and cheap local cuisines. overall you will not be disappointed with this hotel at all. It was because of this hotel that we prefer staying in Heritage hotels whichever city we visit. It changed our mindsets completely from liking the Business hotels to the Heritage hotels now.

Room Tip: Call them before you land in Kochi to reserve the 1st floor rooms with a good view. They actually he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    125
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
84
198
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Beautifully restored from a dilapidated ruin, the Tea Bungalow is an outstanding place to stay and an example of what Fort Kochi could be like if other heritage buildings had care and money spent on them. Very friendly staff who take genuine care in the guests. We had great advice from the staff and management who also helped us create and book our own personal tour itinerary of the Western Ghat mountains.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and our stay was very comfortable. Had a huge room on first floor, well appointed, and a lovely large balcony off a huge sitting room outside our room was a welcome retreat. There are building works going on next door but we found this was common all throughout our week stay in India, so sort of expected it.There is a small pool which is adequate but quite shaded from trees all around. Perfect for those that dont like the sun. We only ate there once and it was OK, nothing out of the ordinary but acceptable. The breakfast was also adequate. In a quite spot, about 5 minute walk to town centre. Service again was faultless, so accomodating and the restoration on the building has been tastefully done. A very comftable stay in Cochin, which I loved.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms a little more private as room downstairs are off dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel is an old mansion that has been restored. The staff are terrific, very helpful and friendly.

Our room was right off the dining area but it was not a problem for noise or privacy. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We had some problems with the in-room safe but each time it was quickly sorted by the staff. They finally decided to replace it will a trouble free one. We spent three nights here and it was easy to walk to the waterfront and shops. Our first night we went to a traditional Kathakali dance performance with some martial art demonstrations thrown in, great fun.

When we came out of the show, we were greeted by rain. First rain we had seen in over a month. I need to tell you that Kochi and Kerala are beautiful, tropical and green but very hot and very humid. We went back to the Tea Bungalow and witnessed a lot of lightning with its thunder followed by an awesome downpour. We sat on the patio and enjoyed a dinner watching the rain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This has been the cleanest and brightest hotel we have stayed at yet in India. Renovated 4 years age, the bedrooms and bathrooms are very modern and clean. Pleasant treed grounds and pool area. Formerly the property of Brooke Bond Tea Company.

My only complaint, not really a complaint, was the restaurant that only offered a couple of Indian items on the menu. When querried they said they were trying to cater to European tastes. But I didn't come to India to have Italian pasta!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at Tea Bungalow for two nights last month( Jan 2012), mainly because I could not get accommodation at Old Harbour Hotel, Brunton Boatyard or Malabar House, my first choices. I booked directly with hotel, 7,900 rupees or about $158 a night, and the only room available was the Calicut Room. We arrived into Cochin Airport from Goa quite late ( Plane delayed) at about 8pm, and booked a prepaid cab at the airport to take us to Fort Cochin. It was at least 9:30pm before we arrived at Tea Bungalow. The welcome was warm and friendly at the small reception area, and on being shown our room ( Calicut, upstairs in the new wing) I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was quite large, with a small balcony, accessed by french doors on either side of the double bed. It also had a large window overlooking the entrance to the hotel. Beautifully decorated, the decor was 'modern colonial' with 3 walls whitewashed, and a 4th in a bright 'bluewash'. Very serene and cool! A basket of fresh fruit was on the table, along with bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities, and a fresh flower. The bathroom was large, and modern, with twin basins, and a very large shower with a rainshower head. Water was hot and plentiful. The room was both airconditioned ( and it was a quiet one) and had an overhead fan. The only thing the it lacked was a mosquito net over the bed. ( Not that we were bothered by any mossies, but we could then have left a window or two open in the night) . The TV is still one of the old 14" CRT models, but didn't switch it on anyway.
The whole room was spotlessly clean and well cared for.
As it was quite late by now, we opted to eat at the hotel. The main dining room at Tea Bungalow is very brightly lit and lacks atmosphere, and not what I'd describe as very attractive, but outside on the verandah near the pool,it is far nicer. I had a very nice Prawn Curry, while my wife had a ( not so nice) Tuna Salad. As the hotel does not have a liquor licence (?) they still managed to find me a large ice cold bottle of Kingfisher beer. They allowed us to also bring out our own wine.
Breakfast is served on the tables around the pool, as well as the verandah, and I found it to be a very civilised experience. No help-yourself buffets here, but rather individual service at you table, tea in a real teapot , cappuccino or espresso etc. Although there is no menu, apart from the fruit juices, fresh fruits, pastrys etc, you can order any egg dish you like, as well as Indian food. Try the 'Masala Dosah', a spicy potato pancake sort of dish, it was absolutely delicious.
We never did use the pool, nor see anyone else do so, but it is pleasant to sit around at breakfast, or while having a drink in the afternoon. Be warned about those pesky crows though, that roost up in the trees above. Although sitting under a large umbrella one afternoon, one of them did manage to splatter the back of my shirt with its droppings. The staff, to their credit, immediately took my shirt away, and had it back to me next morning freshly laundered, all at no cost.
We found all the staff to be very friendly, and also very obliging and willing to help with any request. On our final morning, they arranged at short notice an English speaking driver to take us the 2 hour journey to Kumarakon Lake Resort, for a very reasonable price.
For the price charged at Tea Bungalow, it offers excellent value for money, is spotlessly clean, is in a good location, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Fort area of Cochin ( a place we found to be fascinating, and well worth at least 3 nights stay)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vendepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had a lovely stay for 3 nights at the Tea Bungalow. It is close to the hub of Fort Cochin where everything is within walking distance but manages to maintain a feeling of oasis and calm in which to relax to. The staff were extremely helpful, welcoming us when we landed very early in the morning and they booked our train tickets for our onward journey, which was greatly appreciated.
The decor of the hotel is lovely and it has been restored with care. Our room was on the first floor with a small balcony The bathrooms were the best we encountered in India and the shower was excellent.
I would recommend this hotel highly to all those looking to stay in Fort Cochin - it enables you to escape the city chaos and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
9.4 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
21.9 km away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#5 of 5 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#68 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.9 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#176 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#3 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing