We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A taste of Heritage Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Ranked #90 of 199 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A taste of Heritage Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The main USP of this Resort is its locale. Situated on an island, called the Bolgatty island, its surrounded by the waters on all sides except one. The resort can be reached via roadways and even waterways.

The staff is cordial and services is good and prompt. The restuarant of the resort provides excellent buffet breakfast,lunch and dinner. Alacarta can also be ordered as per individual tastes.

This Resort offers beautiful points to enjoy the sunset along the Arabian Sea backwaters.
The early morning fishermen selling their catch is also a view to cherish from the lake view resorts.

There are not many rooms in this property. so booking should be done in advance.
A disadvantage of these cottages is that all the cottages have double beds, and no extra beds can be fitted due to space constraints.

This property is not for big groups, instead this premiun property is best suited for honeymooners and couples.

Another shortcoming is that the rooms doesnot have electric kettle to make one's own tea/coffee, unlike other premium property of similar types.

Three cheers to KTDC for transforming this Heritage property into a traveller's delight.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smita_chatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    85
    59
    19
    8
See reviews for
105
50
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Traveled here with my family on a recent relaxing holiday to Kerela backwaters. Though Kochi itself can be skipped as a destination, I would recommend travelers to choose a hotel in Fort Kochi area if at all you plan to stay here.

Bolagatty Island Resort is a beautiful property but thats it! It's not managed well, food is horrible and the service is below average. The property has so much to offer from open spaces to fantastic city/island views however KTDC has not taken care of the resort.

Rooms are clean and spacious, but need some renovation to keep up with the Kerela tourism industry (as travelers are looking for a little more luxury).

There is just one restaurant where the food was horrible right from lunch to dinner. The Breakfast being the only crown but that too the one which has lost it's shine.

Located on an island keeps it way from the buzzing Kochi traffic which also means travelling to popular areas like Fort Kochi, City Center or even the airport could take a while.

Overall, an average experience and not a place to return to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiragAmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had stayed in this lovely resort earlier and decided to revisit it on our recent trip to Kochi. It was not the peak season yet and we had a quiet time in the sprawling property. The seaview cottages and the peripheral areas were freshly painted – however the property still needed maintenance – especially around the pool area and the greens.

The staff was courteous as before and it was a good experience overall. The location and price remains unmatched.

Room Tip: You have a choice of heritage style rooms and a modern wing called Marina. We chose the heritage roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshokBhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

My stay in this property was very short.. But it was good.

Food is good. View of the lake is really good. Along with nature beauty you will get taste ofroyal and modern structure.


Away from city noise.

Room Tip: My stay was in Deluxe A/C Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This could be a stunning place to stay, but its a KTDC hotel so one has learnt by experience not to expect top class, although it certainly looks the part. Our bedroom, whilst comfortable, had a balcony that overlooked a broken swing, a slide laying forlornly on its side and a litter strewn area where the staff took their smoking breaks - so the balcony was unfortunately definitely not a place to linger. The food is average and unexciting and the wine even more expensive than at other KTDC hotels. Only one of the waiters was particularly helpful, having been given a tip the night before, and so was obviously hoping for more!! The hotel's position on an island makes it more difficult to access Cochin than staying at hotels such as the Taj Malabar and Brunton Boatyard, where we have stayed in the past and from whom we had excellent service - I would recommend staying at one of these, although, of course, the prices will be in excess of those at Bolgatty Island Resort.

Room Tip: Avoid room 206 where the balcony overlooks wasteland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hortenseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Our stay at bolgatty was a decent one. we found the rooms big and clean attached with a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The food was perfect for our palate and the staff at the restaurant were very cordial. Although we dint find the receptionist very helpful. as they gave us the most expensive travelling options from the hotel to Cochin city which we later found out was a rip off as the trip would costs us otherwise 1/10 the priced they offered. They were too slow in providing information asked and moreover they falter while speaking English too. which makes it so difficult to understand. Even at the time of check out they dint inform us when our driver arrived to take us to the next hotel even after being requested to do so.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valenie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We kicked off our kerala trip with Cochin and Bolgatty was our first stay. Though we stayed there only one night, but we really liked the place a lot. It was very calm and serene, ideal for relaxation. Rooms are nice with big balconies. Room service was quite prompt as well. The location is quite good as well, with water all around. The promiximty to airport as compared to most other hotels in cochin was another plus point.

One of the drawback about the place was that its far from old part of the city!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Young_traveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
12.1 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.4 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
6.0 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
21.8 km away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 5 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 km away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#20 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Property: Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: Event Center- Capacity 900-1000 Pax theater style (ideal for marriages and conventions), Lake Side conference Hall : Capacity: 200 pax theater style . Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax, View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1000 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 pax. Other Facilities in the property includes 9 Hole Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing