We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“undiscovered gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets
Willimantic, Connecticut
1 review
“undiscovered gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place is a hidden gem of calm in kochi within walking distance of all of the major sites. The staff are this hostels biggest asset and make this place what it is, they had a wealth of local knowledge and were able to help us with transport shopping and a minor medical emergency. We stayed in a double room with bathroom for three nights. The room was tidy and spacious with clean linen and a new bed. I saw many single travellers staying there and the place had a good buzz visit here before it is discovered by the LP and ruined.

Room Tip: seconf floor good wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wirimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    117
    33
    17
    20
See reviews for
20
51
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very friendly, welcoming staff. The rooms were spacious, clean and cool if you opt for a room with air conditioning (recommended as these were less beds and larger rooms). Great atmosphere downstairs on movie nights. Owner is very willing to help organize day trips around Kochi and understanding of a backpackers budget.
Don't stay on the top bunk if you are a restless sleeper - if they invested in railings that would be a good idea. And the activities listed on the white board like yoga aerobics etc were never running when we asked??
Also the laundry was very expensive (more than the cost of a room!), especially when you see it drying laying flat on the grass out the front and when it came back some items weren't very clean, some were actually dirtier.
But overall one of the funnest places we stayed in Southern India! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephie-ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedanta W, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Stephie,

Thanks for staying us and for the invaluable feedback! We apologize for the laundry, it seems that the laundryman didn't show up that day and so the team at the hotel took to the laundry themselves. However, this is no excuse for tardiness. We apologize for putting you through the trouble.

We are installing the railings as recommended by you. They will be up immediately.

We thank you for the feedback, it has helped improve operations at the hotel!

Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Nice and clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in a room with two bunk beds, a little bit hard to get up to the top bunk, but that’s not a huge problem. The room was very nice and clean, and so was the bathroom (with hot water). I really enjoyed the stay in Fort Kochin, the hotel was one-minute walk from the bus station and ten-minute walk from the ferry to Ernakulam, great location. The only thing I was missing were somewhere to hang my clothes. But this is a very nice hotel and a great place to meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Set in one of the best central locations in Fort Kochi,close to all amenities, this friendly hotel is a real find.Rooms are clean, well maintained and not overpriced. Communal areas are light and airy. It"s staff however are its major asset,young,enthusiastic and only too willing to help with any of the little niggles that beset any traveller.Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissawdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This place is run by a crew of upstanding young people for a more than fair price per bed. The rooms are clean and sunny, and they encourage community and a sweet kochi experience through helping to plan trips, late night get togethers, easygoingness and always a willingness to help and be friends with everyone who stays and manages the place.

Also, not to mention the location can't be beat-- right next to everything in Kochi. You don't have to take a rickshaw anywhere if you don't want to! and right near the fairy, etc. etc.

Best place I stayed in India during my trip, hands down. Also coincidentally the cheapest as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I'm very grateful to the Vedanta team for the hospitality and friendliness they showed me during my stay - it really helped me to enjoy Kochi and Kerala. They take an attentive and personable approach to guests' needs which makes for a delightful stay. It was also rather refreshing to find such clean and comfortable accommodation at such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bron_Intheface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Beautiful backwaters is quite a sight. The rooms are roomy and well maintained. The services is good and very well thought out. Additional services to the city and local attractions are very informative and helpful

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekar_Menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 km away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#91 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 km away
Fort House
Fort House
#21 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#104 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Vedanta Wake Up - Ernakulam North Station
0.3 km away
MARITIME by thehostelcrowd
MARITIME by thehostelcrowd
#7 of 410 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 km away
The Happy Camper
The Happy Camper
#1 of 410 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets

Property: Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets
Address: Building 507, 1/506-A, Calvathy Rd, Cyrils Estuary | Opposite Hotel Brunton Boatyard, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, is nestled in the heart of the city and is walking distance to all shops, restaurants, bars and local attractions such as the beach, Chinese Fishing Nets, Santa Cruz Cathedral, St. Francis Church and Mattancherry Palace. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing