We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Hotel but slow restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #21 of 196 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but slow restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We found the Fort Hotel a good place to stay, not only for its good and quiet location but also for
its moderate prices. The room was simple and not very spacious but clean and in order.
We unfortunately had no chance to test the restaurant for dinner - we waited a long time without being attended. So we walked away. In the morning again, serving of the breakfast was slow and the personnel was neither friendly nor in a hurry to serve us - quite a contrast to the staff at the reception which cared tremendously.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    212
    48
    20
    9
See reviews for
119
251
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

loved the interior courtyard leading to a very nice restauraunt on their own pier overlooking the harbour.Clean spacious rooms and tranquil setting. restaurant food was good although service slow, again relaxing. Located across the street from the arts centre for dance.

Room Tip: eastern wing is newer but all seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-clayton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Fort House was recommended to us by friends but had no vacancies for the first two nights - so we stayed in a pricey villa, comfortable but rather impersonal. Spending the rest of our week at the Fort House was a wonderful experience: we loved the peaceful, welcoming atmosphere and the charming garden. The location on the waterside is great. We stayed on the right wing, in a spacious room, had no problem with noise. Breakfast was excellent, so was the Ayurveda treatment ! And we were most impressed with the friendly and helpful staff and also the perfect planning of our tours to the Backwaters and Munnar. We can highly recommend Fort House Hotel and would love to return...! Barbara + Birgit

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fort House in Feb 2012, found it to be an extremely pleasant and well kept up facility on the waterfront. Nice rooms, wonderful ambience, good meals served outside on a patio overlooking the water. Across the street from a cultural center with Indian dance shows. The shop in the lobby had some excellent clothes at a very reasonable price and no hassle. We would stay there gladly next time in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfoster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a nice hotel and the room relatively spacious. The breakfast and dinners are good and generally you're are well looked after by courteous staff. I would strongly recommend the east wing because the rooms there are better than the others, which we had the opportunity to view while there. While the rooms are clean the interior is starting to look a bit tired, especially the bathrooms.
But I would stay here again for the price/value in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room in the east wing - the west wing's rooms are smaller and more tired looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We intially booked this hotel for the start and end of our holiday because (in honesty) we were a bit apprehensive about arriving in India for the first time and this hotel seemed like an easy place to start.

In fact, we needn't have worried - Fort Kochi (like the rest of Kerala) is an incredibly easy place to visit. So if you are not after the illusion of luxury (and having a big gate and wall around you), then there are plenty of other nice places to stay, for about a third of the cost.

The hotel itself is very pretty - a garden courtyard and a restaurant on a little pier overlooking the sea. Our room just above the courtyard was also lovely. Large, nicely designed and immaculately clean. The water in the shower was hot, although frankly had lousy water pressure, but not the end of the world.

The service on the other hand was pretty poor. We booked a table in the restaurant at the end of the pier for a romantic last night. We had watched them write it down, but when we arrived they had no record of it. So whilst the restaurant is meant to be nice, we never got to eat there.

They also have signs in the rooms saying that they can arrange an earlier breakfast if required before the normal restaturant opening hours. When we enquired they just said no outright. I mentioned the sign and asked if they could do anything, they said they would sort out a takeaway breakfast. A nice masala dosa or something you're thinking? No it was one piece of cold stale toast. Can you book us a cab to the airport? Yes, for twice the price we paid on the way here... I guess that's to be expected from a hotel, but still a bit annoying.

Anyway, overall we had an amazing two week holiday and completely fell in love with Kerala and would highly recommend it to almost anyone.

However, we generally paid about £15-20 a night for a double room and (maybe we were lucky), but everywhere we found clean rooms, great food and friendly helpful people.

At the Fort House Hotel, what we wanted was a decent shower, a good dinner and service. For our £70 a night unfortunately all we got was an (albeit spacious) hotel room (but who spends their holiday in their room) and a piece of soggy toast. Go, but save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We ate here on our 1st trip to Kochi and thought it looked a lovely place to stay, with it's waterfront jetty dining area and lush green courtyard. So at the end of our month when we returned to Kochi we booked 2 nights. Our first night was spent in a room in the original block (Rs3500 per night) and was pretty average and a little noisy (The coastguard's parade ground is next door!). So on the 2nd night we upgraded to a room accross the courtyard in the new block (Rs4300) and it was lovely. We also both had great massages at the in house spa. Good way to end our holiday. The food served in the restuarant in the evening is asbolutely delicious too, and the ambience of the candlelit pier is very romantic.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and stay in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#4 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 km away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#13 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.8 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#30 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
1.2 km away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#34 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Property: Fort House
Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing