We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect start to a kerala holiday - evocative, exotic”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2011

we stayed for 2 nights at the start of a 16 days kerala holiday with our 2 children 10 & 8.
I cannot envisage a more evocative, exotic hotel to awaken ones senses to Kerala and recover from an arduous flight.
We had been upgraded to one of the enormous balcony suites overlooking the pool and the harbour. The furnishings were beautiful rather than the normal impersonal anodyne international style most hotels provide.
The service was generally very attentive although a little chaotic at History the first night. The location was perfect and incredibly evocative watching the world go buy on the sea.
We loved the lobby and garden area, so peaceful - highly recommended like all the CGH earth hotels we visited. The swimming pool was a beautiful green.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our kerala trip. Excellent location with the chinese nets and market all 5 mins walk away. The rooms all face towards the sea/estuary with lots of local boats and all the ships entering and leaving the port to be viewed. We even had a few dolphins swimming about 30 metres from where we were sitting and having afternoon tea!!! Cant beat that.
Rooms are all well appointed and quite big. Staff were excellent. Even lent us a computer to do our check in for our flight home. Nothing was too much trouble. All meals were a la carte but were delicious. The outdoor seafood restaurant looked nice but we didnt go to it since there were lots of mosquitos about but the food in the other restaurant was exceptional.
The free evening sunset cruise in their own boat is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, higher floors better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Brunton Boatyard is probably the ideal choice to stay in at Fort Kochi. done up almost like a old time haweli, and gives the feel of one, while being a relatively new construction (and i mean this in a nice way!)... rooms are large, beds comfortable and beatiful balconies overlooking the sea... the hotel is right in the middle of the Fort Kochi so a 2 mon walk to the famed chinese fishing nets, and close enough to let you meander into the charming lanes of the Fort Kochi without breaking a sweat...

The hotel staff are exceptionally helpful, and more than willing to suggest activities in or around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed at the Brunton Boatyard for one night before heading down to stay on a houseboat at Alleppey.
Our room was lovely with a view of the river and we saw dolphins from our room. The bathroom was very spacious as well as the bedroom. We enjoyed a free boat trip at 5.30 and then a cooking demonstration by a chef.
We ate at a local restaurant The Seagul which was fine although our view was of the new container terminal !
Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and we were sorry we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Take the boat cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We thought it was a 200 year old house restored. Staff dressed in beautful sarees and dhotis with GENUINE welcoming smiles received us.The welcome was just right .Not over the top. The big old tree in the centre of the courtyard is gorgeous. The verandah-lobby is charming and stylish with stone floor , vaulted ceiling with punkahs,19th century furniture , portraits and prints of old Cochin . The room has a high Victorian wooden bed with a footstool ! We had managed to get the last available room and my partner thought the seafacing rooms would have more natural light which is what will, hopefully bring us back. The little balcony was beautiful .We enjoyed Sunset on the terrace overlooking the harbour .The coffee is comparable to the best in the world.We had delicious seafood at the Terrace Grill . The service was caring and like we were home ! A day and a night was altogether too short . I do hope we will be back again !

Room Tip: Book on Expedia .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueocean201016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the brunton boatyard, the hotel has a wonderful old world atmosphere and the location right on the water front gives it drama - watch the fishing boats, cruise liners and cargo ships floating by, take the free sunset cruise - the kids loved it. Food was excellent - the local breakfast was really yummy!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoiltrottengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The building is lovely, renovated to retain original features. We had a standard seaview room (looking at the back of the building it was to the left of centre). It was spacious and so was the bathroom. The service was excellent. The pool has a delightful view and is a good size.

Ferries run from about 6am to 10pm. Although you can hear them, it is really only background noise and we were not disturbed at all in our room.

I can really recommend the restaurants. Although they are more expensive than outside the hotel I did not find it excessively so. There is a selection of fresh seafood and fish available very day or a local/fusion menu (to reflect the different cultures that historically inhabited Cochin) that changes daily too. Food is very beautifully prepared and presented. Breakfast is plentiful and very good too. We couldn't fault this hotel in any way.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 km away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,140 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,475 reviews
0.8 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#23 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
696 reviews
2.8 km away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
930 reviews
1.1 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: C$175 - C$656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing