We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Joseph Conrad”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #11 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

As you sit on your balcony or verandah looking out over the bustling harbour you can easily imagine yourself in one of Conrad's tales of tropical seas. The rooms are spacious, all with harbour views, furnished in colonial style, complete with ceiling fans as well as air conditioning. Shipping in the harbour ranges from huge container ships and cruise liners to the local ferry and small fishing canoes. Inevitably this (as well as the calls to prayer from the local mosque) makes for a certain amount of noise. We did not find it excessive in the circumstances, but if absolute peace and quiet is what you want, Brunton may not be for you.
The location is very convenient for all the points of interest in Cochin, with the Chinese fishing nets just a couple of minutes walk away.
The food in the three restaurants is very good and reasonably priced. The 'History' retaurant has live Indian classical music in the evenings. Service generally fine but understanding some of the waiters' english can be a bit of a struggle.
Free Wifi is available in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the east side (right as you face the water) are somewhat quieter, being further away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel has a good and interesting location overlooking a busy harbour and the whitewashed colonial style buildings are very attractive. Unfortunately the interior looks like a cross between a monastery and an old fashioned English public school. The rooms are basic, the beds very high and hard and the bathrooms, though clean are unpleasant. The staff are helpful and the food in the Historic restaurant surprisingly good but it is a hotel I wish I hadn't had to stay in - it needs a massive investment programme to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: Facing the water for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review of your stay at Brunton Boatyard.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the service and the food served to you at History. I'm sorry you did not appreciate the interiors though. While we have heard extremely positive reviews on the architecture of Brunton, I understand that individual choices differ and am sorry they were not to your liking.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Had been to Brunton Boatyard for our anniverswary. The food was awesome. The hospitality commendable - and the ambience. Sort of takes you back to the colonial days.

The staff are very polite and well meaning. I use the term "well meaning" - - because you may need to excuse cultural/behaviour differences that you may be used to elsewhere.

They have three restuarants - Multicuisine Coffee Shop, Seafood Speciality, Historical (where you get cuisine of Portuguese, Dutch origin)

Room Tip: It really depends on your choice. Sea facing rooms would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nrajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on your dining experience at Brunton Boatyard. We are glad to have been able to add positively to a special occasion in your life.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

One of the highlights of a stay at Brunton Boatyard is the view across the harbour, where there are always boats of all sizes going to and fro. We could have watched it for hours. This hotel is full of character, close to the tourist centre of old Cochin and the chinese fishing nets, has a lovely terrace with pool and two excellent restaurants. The room was very comfortable, though the beds are immensely high, apparently a local custom, and the staff very helpful. The hotel's sunset cruise was delightful. Room service was a little erratic, though, with some discrepancy between what we ordered and what actually arrived - a small problem, however!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thnaks for your feedback on your stay with us at Brunton Boatyard. Glad that you enjoyed your time here and the views that Brunton affords. I would like to apologise for your less than satisfactory experience of room service and we will definitely work on improving it.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

we stayed here for three nights in total during a very recent trip to India. The rooms are spacious, and clean, beds comfortable and the ensuites spotless. The hotel is more than any of these things , however. The staff are exceptionally well trained, they are charming, helpful, friendly and efficient. They manage to run a very well organised hotel along with all the charm of India.
The restaurants were very good, managing to give a personal service, along with well cooked food. we had the seafood experience, very filling, loads of lovely sea food. The outlook is stunning and the pool a great place to watch all those ships going by. The maritime museum in cochin is worth a visit, although nobody ever seems to want to take you there, you can walk from the brunton boatyard. In fact you can walk most places, or have a 30 rupee auto rickshaw ride. the ferry is a bit irritating but can also add to your experience of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellyb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind review of your stay at Brunton Boatyard. We are glad you liked the old world charm at Brunton and do hope we will have you stay with us again in the future.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our fourth visit and, sadly, not the best. Whilst overall standards remain high, we were disappointed by a number of aspects. A short bare foot walk from the poolside to our nearby room left our feet so black that even a prolonged scrub failed to get them clean. And the pool attendant gave us about the most dour, unsmiling welcome we’ve known anywhere in India. Also the service in the Waterfront cafe was maddeningly slow and erratic, especially at breakfast, when we arrived first but found ourselves served last with some items and only then when we reminded the waiters. And getting coffee cups refilled was truly painful. The waiters all tend to huddle together behind the desk staring vacantly towards the tables without noticing customers trying to attract some attention. The restaurant manager has changed since last year and this may account for the decline. Moreover, if you’re going to offer something ambitious like Eggs Benedict, at least make an effort to get it right without cooking the eggs to “hard boiled” dryness.

Against these things, the General Manager went out of his way to assist on occasions and the dinner in the History restaurant was world-class Michelin star-worthy. Odd though that it styles itself in terms of “history” with antique effect menus when the food is strikingly modern in style.

We took a look at the nearby Old Harbour Hotel and thought it looked excellent, whilst also being cheaper. Maybe next time?

Room Tip: twin rooms all on the ground floor - best not to be immediately behind swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrickm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Let me begin by apologising for your 4th stay at Brunton Boatyard not being satisfactory or upto the level of your previous stays with us. You have given us specific points that we have failed your expectations on and we have made a note of each one of them. We will definitely pull up our socks on all the aspects you have mentioned. Do come back and stay with Brunton on your next visit to Fort Kochi and allow us to leave you with a more positive impression of the place.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have to say that I don't feel the need to ever return to Ft. Cochin, which is a tourist trap. But this hotel rises above it, with peaceful and pleasant grounds and very good food. Take the harbor cruise offered by the hotel, it has great photo ops.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on Brunton Boatyard. Not sure if you had the opportunity to see some of the other destinations in Kerala but do come back and visit the state for its natural beauty and authenticity of experiences.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,095 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,428 reviews
0.8 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
660 reviews
3.6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
9.6 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 33 in Ernakulam
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $400 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing