We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brunton Boatyard
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Meridien Kochi(Maradu)
US$84
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$66
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Atrium Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tissa's Inn(Kochi (Cochin))
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sonnetta Residency(Kochi (Cochin))(Great Value!)
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
528
218
45
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
218
45
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistory restaurantsunset cruiserailway mutton currythe chinese fishing netscgh earthcolonial stylecontainer shipscooking demonstrationoverlooking the waterfishing boatscgh groupfort cochinfish restaurantmain restaurantfour posterarabian seabeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 810 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, location is perfect, wonderful views. The rooms are spacious, clean and simple.The swimming pool is small but functional. Loved the sunset boat ride, its free and worthwhile.Cookery demonstration was good. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Only negative is the food, we ate at the two restaurants and were really disappointed by the standard of cooking. The breakfast too was not up to standard. However there are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

This was one of six hotels we stayed at during our tour of Kerala. We would highly recommend this hotel, but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room or better still the suite.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hastings20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review on your stay with us at Brunton Boatyard. Glad to hear that you appreciated the architecture, location, sunset cruise and the cooking demonstration.
I'm sorry that your experience of our culinary offerings wasn't satisfactory. At Brunton we try and provide our guests a culinary experience that ranges from History; our restaurant that showcases the influence that various civilisations have imprinted on Fort Kochi to Armoury that is our all day dining space which overlooks the harbour and provides contemporary cooking based on Indian consciousness as also the Terrace Grill that offers fresh catch of the day and is an alfresco dining facility. I'm sorry that our offerings did not meet upto your expectations. We shall definitely review our offerings and try and improve the quality of our culinary experience further so we do not disappoint.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at this property on two seperate occasions and we were delighted with our stay. To be sure, this hotel is not as flashy as other luxury hotels in India. The design and decor is a bit mor subdued, almost rustic, however it harmonizes exceptionally well with its environment and everythig is of excellent quality. This hotel excells in substance a bit more than in style.
This hotel and the company that runs it takes the environment very serious. For many hotels environmental concerns are a bit of a gimmick or an opportunity to save on laundry costs, however, here they are resolute about the environment in everything they do. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the a/c works well, the bathrooms are excellent. The hotel truly exceeded our expectations in the restaurant. We met the Chef and he explained his desire to serve authentic Indian cuisine in a contemporary way - and assuredly he is successful in his mission. The staff behind the front desk is top notch and always ready to help. Many of the Associates at the hotel have been there for many years and their pride shows in their work and attitude.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

As you sit on your balcony or verandah looking out over the bustling harbour you can easily imagine yourself in one of Conrad's tales of tropical seas. The rooms are spacious, all with harbour views, furnished in colonial style, complete with ceiling fans as well as air conditioning. Shipping in the harbour ranges from huge container ships and cruise liners to the local ferry and small fishing canoes. Inevitably this (as well as the calls to prayer from the local mosque) makes for a certain amount of noise. We did not find it excessive in the circumstances, but if absolute peace and quiet is what you want, Brunton may not be for you.
The location is very convenient for all the points of interest in Cochin, with the Chinese fishing nets just a couple of minutes walk away.
The food in the three restaurants is very good and reasonably priced. The 'History' retaurant has live Indian classical music in the evenings. Service generally fine but understanding some of the waiters' english can be a bit of a struggle.
Free Wifi is available in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the east side (right as you face the water) are somewhat quieter, being further away from the ferry dock.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel has a good and interesting location overlooking a busy harbour and the whitewashed colonial style buildings are very attractive. Unfortunately the interior looks like a cross between a monastery and an old fashioned English public school. The rooms are basic, the beds very high and hard and the bathrooms, though clean are unpleasant. The staff are helpful and the food in the Historic restaurant surprisingly good but it is a hotel I wish I hadn't had to stay in - it needs a massive investment programme to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: Facing the water for the view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review of your stay at Brunton Boatyard.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the service and the food served to you at History. I'm sorry you did not appreciate the interiors though. While we have heard extremely positive reviews on the architecture of Brunton, I understand that individual choices differ and am sorry they were not to your liking.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Had been to Brunton Boatyard for our anniverswary. The food was awesome. The hospitality commendable - and the ambience. Sort of takes you back to the colonial days.

The staff are very polite and well meaning. I use the term "well meaning" - - because you may need to excuse cultural/behaviour differences that you may be used to elsewhere.

They have three restuarants - Multicuisine Coffee Shop, Seafood Speciality, Historical (where you get cuisine of Portuguese, Dutch origin)

Room Tip: It really depends on your choice. Sea facing rooms would be better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nrajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on your dining experience at Brunton Boatyard. We are glad to have been able to add positively to a special occasion in your life.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews