We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
538
222
46
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
222
46
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistory restaurantsunset cruiserailway mutton currycgh earththe chinese fishing netscolonial stylecontainer shipscooking demonstrationfishing boatsoverlooking the watercgh groupships passingfort cochinfish restaurantmain restaurantfour posterarabian sea
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 825 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The staff at the Brunton Boatyard bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The hotel is right on the harbour so you can watch the various boats, ships, tugs, barges and naval vessels pass by. The pool is a wonderful spot for watching this fascinating harbour. Our room was a top shelf harbourview suite featuring 1 large bedroom and 2 bathrooms, a balcony overlooking the pool and a gorgeous sitting room with TV. Our children aged 9 and 11 slept on foldaway beds in the sitting room. There was plenty of space. The service was excellent. Food was delicious and the breakfast room (the armoury) was a real treat. We also enjoyed the shady cloisters and central courtyard. Chef Cham gave a free cooking demonstration each night and we went on the free sunset cruise. My daughter and I also attended a free yoga class. All in all, a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Brunton's earlier in July. Off season so the hotel was quiet - only 3-4 families at the hotel. A lot of maintenance work was taking place - polishing floors in rooms, painting etc... which was a little noisy and also not very professional I thought.

The hotel is a converted boatyard which used to operate during the Raj. Incidentally (which I learnt by chance) one of the Brunton's used bricks which were later discovered to be from the Indus Valley civilization to build a railway between Karachi and Lahore!

The building commands a prime position by Kochi harbour with views from the rooms of the boat traffic coming and going from the harbour. I think all the rooms have sea views. It has been restored to give it an authentic Raj era colonial look.

Check in was quick and efficient. We were given welcome drinks and cool towels to wipe down with. Staff were welcoming.

Our room was very large & on the first floor. There is a nice little balcony with views over the harbour and the pool. You can sit and watch life go by. The room has been kitted out in a colonial style. This includes musty wardrobes with drawers which don't quite work! The TV in the room could also do with updating - probably over 10 years old now. Wifi connectivity is free which is nice (and as it should be).

The bed is huge and very comfortable. We fell off to sleep without any problems.... the bathroom has an excellent shower and separate bathtub. Should you wish you can lie in the bathroom and look out over the water.

There is communal lobby library with a billiards table and library. The hotel basically forms a U shape around a central courtyard. The central courtyard is sadly abandoned. There is a large tree and some grass but it could be so much more - croquet if going for the colonial feel or a(nother) pool, But it seems a shame to leave it unused.

There is a coffee shop - Armoury I think - where breakfast is served. Really excellent coffee, croissants, dosas and fruit. Yummy!!! Service was excellent. There is also a bar there.

There is a formal restaurant - History - on the 2nd floor. Live music - Indian classical - and haute cuisine - I had lovely prawn starters, fish main and chocolate cake dessert. Service was truely excellent and the wine list is very nice. The menu is a little limited but do ask as the chef kindly prepared a fish dish which was not on the menu for me.

The pool is lovely and clean. Quite deep at one end and great for a few lengths. The hotel also has a little boat and they do complementary harbour tours every day at 1730.

So the negatives - well I just felt the hotel was lacking a little razzmatazz. In the search for authenticity I think the hotel is looking a little bleak - long white dull corridors which are dark and not very inviting. The owners could do worse than look at the Old Harbour Hotel down the road or indeed Galle Fort Hotel in Sri Lanka for some inspirations.

Would I stay here again next time - I think I'd try Old Harbour as it seems a little more polished. That is not to take anything away from Brunton's - they jsut need to spice things up.

PS: Special mention for Rohin - waiter who served us at breakfast, dinner and on the boat - his service was exemplary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_rushLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and i started our Keralan honeymoon here and we could not have asked for a more idyllic setting. The hotel is a beautiful historic building on the coast, with panoramic views from the seaview rooms, antique hardwood furniture and a real sense that it harks back to a bygone era where life was more relaxed. It made our 3 day stay a real joy, itfelt like the lap of luxury and we loved every minute of our stay. It's a great location in Cochin itself, next to the coast, in walking distance to the chinese fishing nets, Keralan cultural centre, spice markets and main shopping area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RujGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed 5 memorable .days at Brunton Boatyard and it was such a pleasure to arrive back at the hotel after a busy day sightseeing and shopping in the hot streets of Fort Cochi. The rooms are huge and sea facing and many a happy afternoon was spent sitting on our balcony overlooking the busy harbour sipping a cold glass of wine. Bathrooms are very spacious and have a window overlooking the harbour. The gardens are cool and lush. The olde worlde atmosphere of this hotel is captivating even though it was built only about 17 years ago. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and our favourite cafe is the Armoury - great food and wonderful staff. Look out for Rohin the most delightful waiter.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing and the 2 upper floors have the better views of the activities on the sea also over to the small island and Willington Island
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spectaculat spot right on the harbour. Pool is new and very clean, long and deep.
Rooms especially for a young family of 4 is spacious and very comfortable.
Highly recommended. History amazing!
Cochin is a photographers paradise,spice markets, etc

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimdoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews