We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
543
229
47
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
229
47
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews history restaurant sunset cruise railway mutton curry cgh earth the chinese fishing nets colonial style container ships cooking demonstration fishing boats overlooking the water cgh group ships passing fort cochin fish restaurant main restaurant four poster arabian sea
Filter
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 838 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Stayed 2 nights in mid March and found the whole experience a delight, we had a fantastic suite overlooking the water and the pool. The sunset cruise was great and took us around the harbour, finishing with the Chinese fishing nets. Each evening we were invited to a cooking demonstration which was very interesting.
The hotel is situated only a few kilometres from the famous Jewtown with its wide assortment of antique shops. Friends had suggested we stay at Malabar House or Taj Malabar, but after visiting these we felt we had made the right decision.
Staff were very friendly and we felt gave a personal level of service that you wouldn't get in larger hotels.Superb location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2008

Two nights at BB, our first visit. Had rooms in the middle on top floor. Excellent and clean, but lacked the large open balcony of first floor. Pool warm and good poolside service. Great views of the ships in and out of the harbour and the poor old dredger going back and forth. A couple of large Indian navy ships went past. You must take the free sunset cruise as it gets to the fishing nets at sunset for great pix, with other boats all trying to do the same. Rooms at the ferry end will be noisy, but if you like hustle and bustle they will give you a feel for local ferries. Poolside supper wonderful, excellent fish, and though it seemed expensive you get three courses and the chef kept offering us more fish. The restaurant (not part of the hotel) opposite over the road is good value for lunch, but gets overfull and service stretched in the evening. Great position for exploring Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank noshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed at the brunton for two nights. Totally loved the hotel and the room was totally gorgeous. overlooking the water with all the amazing activity going by. Could have watched all day, but then we would have lost out on Jewtown. Surprisingly, good prices and deals. Fascinating to go through these warehouses. Better than any museum in India. Sad though. The past of India is clearly for sale. Cochin is much more western than most of the other places we went and there isn't much to see. Don't go to the katakali dance. very disappointing, but stay at the Brunton. it's a joy.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank charwood525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2007

I stayed at Brunton Boatyard for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. I only stayed there because Malabar House (my travel agent's recommendation) was full and am I glad it was! I went for dinner with friends staying at Malabar House (and they then came to dinner with me at BB) and we were all agreed that BB is the place to be; apart from anything else, MH is not on the water and, if you want to be in the best hotel in town, why would you not want to be on the water's edge with views over the harbour?
BB is a beautiful colonial-style building right on the water's edge with views over the entrance to Cochin Harbour. Most of the rooms face directly over the water but there are a few rooms at each end of the hotel which do not have the view; the rooms at one end of the hotel are v.quiet but with a view of a wall, those at the other look out over the landing-stage for the passenger/car ferry to Vypeen Island and is therefore a little noisy. I had one night (before moving to a seaview room) in a room overlooking the ferry as I thought this would be more interesting than a room with a view of a wall; in my opinion this was a good decision as, for India, the noise is minimal and watching the toing and froing of the ferry is quite fun.
There are 3 restaurants, the one at the water's edge is the most romantic, the Terrace serves excellent (but expensive) seafood and the History restaurant is the biggest with excellent A/C and decent food.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank RichardLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Great hotel overlooking the waterway. very comfortable colonnial style rooms with a lovely courtyard garden. Main restaurant very attractive room but pretty uninteresting food - little from South India which is crazy. Excellent new fish restaurant just openned beside the river with a very keen manager - who ought to be managing the main restaurant too! Good place to stay though and in an interesting bit of old Cochin

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews