We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Palace! Just ok...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Ranked #102 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not a Palace! Just ok...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Spent four days here recently. The hotel sounds very romantic - a palace on an island.....it's not. It's old, dated and tired. the rooms are old, damp, smell of damp. I did not have one hot shower the entire time we were there. There is a spa on site and they ring your room every hour to see if you want a massage. food not great. service not great.

at the end of the day, this is india, so manage your expectations. we had fun because we were in the right mindset, but if you go expecting an amazing place, you'll be disappointed for sure.

Room Tip: Try to be on the first floor as you do get a nice terrace. if you're on t he ground floor you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
58
45
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

This is possibly one of the best places I ever lived, the service was really good, cab was on time to the airport and car was arranged on time for sight seeing and food was very tasty! and you can have a perfect joy of living in the heart of the city but on a island and which is less noisy and gives ample space to walk and their pool is superb and they can arrange a ferry on call which is unique and I recommend this place to everyone who wants to have quite and peaceful holiday !

Room Tip: All Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Saw this beautiful looking place while speedboating. They had dream like circular white cottages overlooking the waters. Instantly my wife wanted to be there. But all that dream came down shattering when we checked in. Room was not cleant when we checked in. Had to keep waiting for room service to arrive. Bathtub was broken. You will be happy if you get a bucket of hot water that is after you call up room service and tell them there is no water pressure. they take an hour to come. Another hour to fix things. The property these people are sitting on is truly a gem. But maintainance and service sucks!!!!!... If you still decide to book here... DO NOT EVEN THINK OF EATING HERE!!! I have been to hotels small and big, but these guys have the worst food

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank NovioPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

London, england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Believe everything you read about the location, it couldn't be better. The resort itself is fine, if you overlook little examples of a "couldn't care less" attitude, that some say comes from the fact that it is government owned and run and that the main revenue comes from weddings and events (where it is in a league of its own).
We stayed in the Bolgatty Resort, the modern complex tacked on to the old palace, and room was large, clean and comfortable. If you think of a resort as something self-contained, you'll be wrong. There is no shop for essentials, or all the things you forgot to bring, there are no tourist info brochures or tour reps, so you need to do a lot of finding out before you go. If we didn't have friends berthed in the yacht marina, it would have taken us considerable time to find our way about.
Food the week we were there was all Keralan specialties, which either appeal or they don't, but it is a 3 minute ferry ride to Ernakulam from the jetty in the village (no signs, so ask). Breakfast was OK, but only OK. Replenishment and table clearing / re-setting most days was poor, but that seemed to be the fault of one or two poorly trained supervisors. The younger staff members were good and helpful. Firing one individual in particular would raise the performance quite a bit. The greasy hand marks all over glass doors to the restaurant put us off a bit and were never cleaned during the week as far as we saw.
Decor in our bathroom was just about OK, but circles and rawlplugs where shower mountings had been moved were just left unrepaired. More a niggle than a problem. By pressure over a couple of days we acquired the one hotel electric plug adaptor that worked, a sink plug and one of the two hotel hairdryers, so bad luck on the rest.
Overall we warmed to the place over the week and it is undoubtedly the most beautiful location in the city area, but it is for the more self-reliant traveller, not those who expect things to be packaged for them.
Room service works, but at a slow place (40 mins to 1 hour for anything), but everyone is very polite and helpful.
Such a pity that the attention to detail just isn't there, but if you can live without that, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

This hotel is excellent. We loved the stay here. This is a must visit place for tourists. The restaurant food is good. Best part is the location, surroundings and the overall experience. Rooms are quiet cozy and comfortable. Don't forget to enjoy the morning beauty of the lake beside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParthaSadhukhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Fabulous property but the service and food are not upto the standard at all !!!! Food is very monotonous abd basic. Staff hardly speak Hindi , leave alone English !!! Had a tough time finding my room as my room key said #403 while there was no #403 outside my door !!! It read Verseer !!!
Apart from this, the location and serenity is awesome. The property grounds are huge and the jetty is at the hotel.
Just sit in the portico and enjoy your drink ...its heavenly.
Also good value for money !!!
They have a good spa ...very reasonable rates. Recommend the shirodhara !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viersen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

The guest building is in a terrible condition, see photos, some examples:
- channels from the central AC on the corridor of the guestroom building were totally molded from outside and most probably also from inside as the air coming out of the AC was stinking like mold and very humid
- terrible smell in all rooms
- air-condition was not possible to adjust
- the whole staircase was molded and the water was dripping from the ceiling, which was also molded
- big leakage patches on the ceiling in the room and bathroom
- dirty laundry laid open in the staircase together with the spare mattresses
- leavers of the AC outlet in the rooms and in the reception/lobby area were also covered with mold
- a tray of used dishes standing outside on the corridor floor when we arrived and was still standing there when we left
After complaining at the management, we got a refund without any problems

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaMo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.0 km away
Aquatic Floating Resort
Aquatic Floating Resort
#63 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.7 km away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#49 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
5.0 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort

Property: Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Address: | Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bolgatty Palace is the oldest Dutch Mansion existing outside Holland. The picturesque Bolgatty Island is surrounded by the quaint Chinese fishing nets that take you back in time.The Palace has 4 Palace Suites with the dutch charm in architecture. The Palace dates back to 1744. All suite rooms named after famous painters, the private balcony in Each suite offers a panoramic view to the river.The property has Bolgatty Palace, Bolgatty Island Resort and Marina House situated in the same Island, it is ideal for conducting residential conferences, In house wedding Functions large banquets etc.With the capacity to park more than 500 cars, lush green lawns on both the sides Bolgatty is an excellent host to both tourists as well as banquet functions. Our Banquet Facilities include: A/c Lake Front Hall with Panthal : Capacity: 250 pax theatre style (inside the Hall). Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1500 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 paxOther facilities in the property includes swimming pool, health club, ayuvedic spa, golf course, Boat cruise, airport pick up and drop, Multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, internet, Kathakali program me, beer parlor etc to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Bolgatty Palace Kochi
Bolgatty Palace And Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing