We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here twice in March 2012. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. They were very good at remembering which room we stayed in when it came to taking food and beverage orders.
Excellent local food and western breakfasts, superb fresh juices.
This hotel is ideally located for exploring Fort Kochi.
The rooms are splendid, though the Wifi does not reach them all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    198
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
234
785
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent ten days at this wonderful boutique hotel, near the historic center of Cochin, very friendly welcome from Sukesh Stephenson, our "suite princess" a pure delight of elegance, impeccable service.
the restaurant worthy of French chefs, high quality sevice and friendliness of Annesh.P, and the delicious pastries of Rahin.
We intend to return in 2013 as a family. Establishment recommend ..Margaret Ayroles



the rooms are bright and calm, élégant interior.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We went for lunch and had a tuna burger, uhm DELISIOUS best we ever had, service fantastic.. garden butiful.. we will come again..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitt h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed one night as part of our tour of Kerala which started here. It set the bar very high. We arrived much before check in time and luckily our room was ready, we were in a garden view cottage which was beautiful. Loved the 'outdoor' shower! Spacious room and hotel is within walking distance of Chinese fishing nets, Santa Cruz Basilica and St Francis Church. Only negative is that breakfast is not a true buffet style. Despite that, would definitely stay here again if in Cochin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShikhaAnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Everything was perfect starting from booking: pick up in the airport, accomodation, services etc. Don't want to be boring with the details - wonderful location, nice rooms, expecially suites, once again perfect service and really very personal attention of all the staff and particularly of Jude! - you can easily find all these in other reviews and be sure, that each perfect review is truth. I would like to say just two things: you may stay in a reputable 5star hotel and receive also very good expected services, but here in Old Harbour Hotel you could feel yourselves a real GUESTS and get something more than just a perfect service. Besides, the place itself and the hotel are wonderful, not without reason it is considered as one of the luxery hotels all over the world!
We loved to stay here.

Room Tip: Suites are perfect and no doubt worth their rates. Ground floor rooms with the exit to the garden ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We booked Old Harbour based on the recommendations on TA and were extremely disappointed when there was no availability of rooms! The very helpful Jude from the reservations team then helped us get bookings for Dreamz House which has recently been bought by the hotel and is a few steps away. I must say here that Jude was very patient and thorough with information - he even sent me photos of the Dreamz house which helped make the decision far easier!
So my husband and I arrived early morning at Cochin airport and had the car ready and waiting for us. Our driver Anthony was lovely. His car, a vintage Ambassador made a great ride as he pointed out details of the city and also gave us ideas on what to do during our stay in Kerala. The hotel books the car pick up from the airport. You may decide to take prepaid taxis from the airport too as these maybe cheaper but we weren't sure if our hotel would be easy to find....which in every way it was! Everyone knows of Old Harbour!
Check in was smooth and our room was ready despite a last minute change in flights and an earlier check in....
The Dreamz House is literally 2 minutes walking from the main hotel. It is the most adorable little Portuguese style cottage I have ever seen!! A multicolored front entrance that leads you to your very own home. The ground floor has a living and dining area with a television and plenty of room for visitors. There is a closed kitchen inside with every range of cutlery, crockery and amenities available. The fridge in the kitchen also serves as the mini bar.
The first floor comprises of a bed room with one king and one single bed...so quite suitable for 3 adults...there is plenty of space with cupboards and trunks to unpack your luggage into.
The bathroom is adorable with an outdoor shower that is semi covered...so you do stand on pebbles to take a shower but it doesn't allow very many insects to come through...
The house comes with it's own telephone line, so any problems and the staff at the Old Harbour hotel will come around to help you.
The beds are perhaps the most comfortable ones we have ever slept in...with extremely soft cotton sheets....I wish I could've bought those sheets :) !!
You can walk easily to all the main areas. Recommended places to eat include the Old Harbour hotel restaurant, Dal Roti and the restaurant at the Neemrana hotel which is next to Old Harbour. For fresh tender coconut water, there are two kiosks just in front of the hotel closer to the Fishermen's net.
We explored the Old Harbour hotel at large and it is a beautiful property. We also had a meal at their restaurant and it was delicious. Service was a little slow but the good food more than made up for it. In the evenings, there are little fairy lights all over the restart garden and live music to entertain you. It is a very popular hotel as well as the restaurant is most buzzing at all times.
The staff at Old Harbour were always smiling, very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were having a good time. We stayed only for a night, I wish it had been longer!

You must stay at the Old Harbour hotel in Cochin and you must opt for Dreamz house instead of the main hotel rooms....it is a little treasure waiting to be discovered.....

Room Tip: Choose Dreamz house instead of the main hotel....it is adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTmadfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Everything wonderful has already been said. I just want to agree with it all and thank Jude for all his help. My only request would be more loungers by the pool!

Room Tip: Tower room was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing