We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit tired,poor breakfast and pool needs a facelift”
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Certificate of Excellence
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a bit tired,poor breakfast and pool needs a facelift”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We wanted a pool and the arcadia provided a no frills pool on the rroftop.The rate was very different when we turned up in person.Internet access is an extra charge.The rooms were just ok ;clean enough but I expected better .The bathroom got very wet when you showered.The breakfast was poor with hard chappattis and a poor choice.We stayed for the pool but it was not what we expected although the reception area looks better than the rest to of the hotel .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    61
    35
    11
    12
See reviews for
64
20
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I had gone to Kottayam to attend the wedding of my fiance's brother. My fiance had made sure that I get the best Kottayam could offer. My four days stay at Kottayam turned out to be a great experience because I had a great place to put up. The hotel room was clean specially the bathroom was sparkling. For breakfast it was the same menu every day...toast...appam...egg curry and juice. But the roof top restaurant with the lush green view of the outskirts made it very special. The hotel is located in the midst of a busy marketplace hence offering good accessibility. Room service however disappointed me. But the staff were really nice and courteous. Amazing experience.

Room Tip: The hotel has few rooms which have walls outside the window. Please try to avoid those rooms and tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ism_monalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed first time in this hotel and had a very bad experience. Rooms were not clean and ants everywhere. Bathrooms were not good with taps leaking everwhere. The room had a faulty power switch and the electrician was running from here to there in the middle of the night to get it in working condition. No restaurant / food available between 10 a.m. & 1 p.m. so my guests who came in to visit us at 11 a.m. had to go back empty stomach. All in all a very bad experience and not recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamanAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
423 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A very different type of Hotel. Exteremly flexible like you check out at 8.00 am without complimentry breakfast the rent goes down by Rs 200, dental kit & shaving kit another Rs 100 , Tea maker pay Rs 100 more. Rooms are ok but noisy place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We checked in to the hotel on a sunny afternoon after reaching Kottayam from Thekkady. The hotel is situated in a busy market, thus providing us accessibility to shopping area. The hotel front desk is at the first floor so you will have to climb a few stairs to reach to the reception area. There is also a lot of ground and basement parking area available. The hotel is nicely built and has an appealing architecture. Specially the rooms are comparable to those provided by hotels in western countries. In rooms you can find tea-maker, which we did not find in any other hotel throughout Kerala. Best part of the hotel is swimming pool at the roof top. At 11th floor, you can take a dip into the pool during a warm winter day, giving you all the pleasure.

The restaurants were ok and breakfast served at the 10th floor restaurant was amazing. Specially that we could order fresh Omelette to be served to you.

Overall the experience was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I was impressed by the friendly staff and their polite mannerism. Very nice place to stay. Service was good throughout the hotel, lounge & restaurant. It is centrally located with access to all shopping facility. Great experience and value for your money. Room was clean and had a good bed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukeshjshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

After two weeks of disappointing stays we were delighted to check in at the Arcadia. Had booked through makemytrip at a great price - so much so that the manager on duty double checked our confirmation but honored the price nevertheless.

Opened the door to our room to find it spacious (room for a couch!) and clean. Toilet was sparkling and shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Mini bar and air con were a great bonus. Roof top pool looked clean but unfortunately we never found the time to go for a swim. Breakfast was included in the price - a nice buffet.

Location was great. Right in the middle of town; opposite the bus station. We caught a taxi to the wharf to catch the public ferry to Alleppey to continue our journey. Wished we had stayed at the Arcadia at bit longer instead.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_and_Ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.7 km away
The Windsor Castle
The Windsor Castle
#8 of 28 in Kottayam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.5 km away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#5 of 28 in Kottayam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
Hotel Olive International
Hotel Olive International
#11 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.8 km away
Nisha Continental Hotel
Nisha Continental Hotel
#15 of 28 in Kottayam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Property: Arcadia Hotel
Address: T.B ROAD, Kottayam 686001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia, to be precise, the epitome of Kerala’s hospitality has been the pride of Kottayam town since its inception in 1974.Being a fully equipped three star business hotel, Arcadia provides you with a multitude of services that are sure to make your business and leisure trips an overwhelming experience. From gracefully appointed rooms to a baffling range of restaurants; from refined and experienced staff to thoughtfully set conference & banquet halls, Arcadia is all primed to treat you to the best of Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing