We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Maintenance”
Review of Hotel Icon Classic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Icon Classic
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Great location (close to town center, transport and private stands, etc.) and basic structure, room accessories, bathroom fittings, etc. are well-done/high-end. Staff was generally helpful. However, the room was poorly maintained, with a musty smell and dirty/dusty counter-top and chair. Counter-top panel was peeling off and not-too-clean phone had no instructions on how to use for various services. Linen and bathroom were clean, though. Corridor was dingy and had a similar musty smell. Basement level bar was also a bit disconcerting as inebriation started early in the day and went on till the wee hours. Food options did not start till 8 a.m., but there are restaurants nearby, although a coffeemaker would have been helpful. Important: the bottled water that comes with the room is not sealed, so please ask for a new bottle (have to pay, but worth it for one's health).

Room Tip: Farther from the main road might be quieter, but also means a longer walk down the dark corridor; pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2016

Horrible hotel to stay in..! The hotel is in rundown conditions and the room ceilings have holes... and the bed is infested with Bed Bugs.. Trust me pretty huge bugs i have ever seen...! We had had booked for 3 days and we checked in at around midnight, we had no other option but had to stay till morning before we could check out. We got bed bug bites all over and its a terrible night..! When we complained, they just changed our rooms which was still bad... and the hotel staff weren't apologetic and they just reduced 500/- off for one night room rent..! like really they run a bed bug infested hotel.. after 20 mins of talking they agreed to take 1000/- rs (2000/- per night). Wich we were okay to pay..!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak_shyam06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Intercom provided in the room was dead. Chairs were broken. No drinking water was available( one old water bottle filled with tap water was kept on the table). No bell boys were available. We had to carry our suitcases to the room ourselves. Stairs and corridors were kept very clean. If the rates are reduced by 25% it is worth.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank W4051EBthomasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

When I booked a room here over phone based on a search in hotels.com, I thought I got myself a good deal. Drive slowly along this one-way road or you will miss the sharp, narrow entrance and then have to take a full circle of 0.5 km to come back again!! We were told that there is ample covered parking, since we were driving in. We found that the place is just a "hole in the wall" setup, with a dingy cellar as car park, fronting a Wine & Beer parlour with many bikes parked. Saving grace is that the room (102) was good, with A/c working (no ceiling fans at all!!) and a microscopic LCD TV. Also it is in a central location, close to temple, Maidan and cheap restaurants. The restaurant and "Foggy Bottom" Executive Beer Parlour were empty; so its quality is suspect. I think you might get a discount if you say you dont need a bill.

Room Tip: We got 102 which is reasonably quiet if the windows are shut. Otherwise there is large road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravindrakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The biggest pro of the hotel is its location,right in the heart of Kottayam, The rooms are big but poorly maintained. The ambience of the place is not good either. Facility wise the hotel is getting a zero but it goes easy on the pocket. *Stay if you have no other option*

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevinjohn1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Location of the hotel is the only advantage. The rooms though big are lousy with bad odour due to the poor maintenance. Not even Good for having a drink party. The lighting and ambience are not good in general.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Good location as it is in the middle of town. Parking space at the bottom of hotel. Rooms smells terrible, no hot water (staff brings hot water in bucket on morning, gave a coil and bucket to heat water for next morning . No lift, vacated next am as we had enough, charged for 2 nights though. Not even a one star hotel. Email from booking .com few days later stating, we did not show up to hotel at all. Manager and staff tried to accommodate us as much as possible, but unfortunately it’s not enough. No Wi-Fi at all anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.7 km away
Nisha Continental Hotel
Nisha Continental Hotel
#19 of 29 in Kottayam
4 reviews
0 km away
Orchid Residency
Orchid Residency
#21 of 29 in Kottayam
68 reviews
0.5 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 29 in Kottayam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 29 in Kottayam
191 reviews
1 km away
Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hotel
#14 of 29 in Kottayam
18 reviews
1 km away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 29 in Kottayam
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icon Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon Classic

Address: Near Press Club | Thirunakkara, Kottayam 686001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range: $29 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icon Classic 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Icon Classic is a business hotel situated bang at the heart of Kottayam city. We let you experience a whole new level of hospitality with our well-furnished rooms, delectable cuisine and prompt service. Our hotel could be the perfect stopover for those heading out to Kumarakom. We also take over the hassle of arranging customised tour packages for guests and ensure that they get to see & experience all that matters, while having a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Icon Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Icon Classic Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing