We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype”

Karimpumkala Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Kottayam
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The restaurant provides us with an authentic local sea food and meat dishes. The place we felt was not worth the hype. We have been here more than couple of times and each time we felt that quantity/quality was not consistent. Though the food is tasty it is definitely over priced and very less quantity per serving. There are much better places down the road with reasonable price and taste.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AbyDany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2018

We family of 5 members visited Karimpumkala on the way from Kottayam to Trivandrum on 28th Mar 2018 and found this restaurant not worthy and recommending others not to visit.

Prices are not too high nor less, we ordered chicken curry (but there is not curry in it and when asked about any curry with more gravy they told this is the one, think about roast then) the quantity of gravy is hardly two to three spoons though pieces were there. Along with it we ordered Karimeen Polichathu medium (Rs.300/-) not cooked as we can taste the raw masala again since gravy is not there we orderd Egg curry. In all the curries what we found is abundant pepper and kids are starving for water after each sip of water...We had appam which is tasteless and not hot and stiff. Parotta was good.

For family only two rooms in the ground and for AC rooms you need to climb second floor where there is no lift facilities.

Overall we rate it as average hotel with big hype only and worthless going there.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RakeshAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018

Went here for the 4th time and it never disappoints. What started off as a little toddy shop with some tasty side grub has now become a family restaurant still holding on to its roots. There are 2 restaurants of the same name not far from each other, so make sure you go to the right one (on the right side of the road as you head to Kottayam).
Firstly, this is more of a local fare than a tourist attraction. serving authentic spicy Kerala dishes and meals along with their famous toddy (alcoholic coconut beverage). Their prawns (chemeen) dishes and Meen polichathu (spicy fish from the backwaters cooked in leaves) are a hit and this is our regular order every time we visit Kerala.
The prices are slightly on the higher side compared to other local restaurants but this is the price for perfection.
The layout is perfect with a separate family dining area (air conditioned) and outdoor seating. The waiters are very courteous and welcoming every time I visited, especially taking extra care to meet the tastes of children and recommending us the day's special.
Do give it a try for some local experience and dont forget to try the Toddy.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Hearing lots about this restaurant, we had lunch there on 04.03.2018.Bill No.21951 Rs.601=00. It seems that the restaurant started in 1958 and very sad to remark here that the standard maintained in ambiance and the standard of the food is the same. We had Prawns,Tharavu Curry, Appam (seems to be re-heated one) lime and meals. All foods were not up to our expectations. We will never visit this restaurant again.Thank you.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gentleman492001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

I went here with my family for lunch. Lunch time is very busy and serve staff is stretched to the limit. And the a/c room only seats about 8 people, so don't set your expectation too high.

However, the food is excellent. Their tiger prawn curry is the best i have ever had (a bit on the expensive side). The meals are top notch. If you do go, try the prawn curry and karimeen (The baken in banana leaf kind, much better than the fried kind.)

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ro_Fishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karimpumkala Restaurant also viewed

Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 
Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 
Kottayam, Kottayam District
Kottayam, Kottayam District
 

Been to Karimpumkala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing