We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very romantic and a perfect honeymoon experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Village Heritage Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very romantic and a perfect honeymoon experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

A Cool and awesome place for Honeymoon Couples to spend ample time without much disturbance. Good Service and Hospitality from the Team members of the Resort.In the night we went for fishing in a country boat with lantern through the resorts private lake in the moonlight . This was an unforgettable experience which I couldn’t get anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathewktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    6
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I was travelling here with a lot of friends. Unfortunately some of my friends were living in the concrete hotel of the same company. We were the lucky few to have got to stay in the Cottages.

So not much, you walk right next to a pond and then reach this wonderful eating area with wooden furniture and a smiling staff hands you over the welcome drink. then you start walking towards your cottage and you get a feeling you are away from the world and all that surrounds you is trees and animals(ducks)

You enter the cottage and the surprises start. the flooring is wooden, the furniture is wooden and then the small verandah you have is awesome, some of them even are right next to the small river they have made. But the big surprises are still to come,

you go upstairs to the wonderful interiors which are awesome. Somehow if they had found a way to hide the A/C behind some furniture it would have made it look awesome.

Then you go to the bathroom. trust me the best bathroom I have ever seen in life and the best place i have taken bath in my life. Its open from the top but a nice banana tree covers it so that others dont get to see you. there are small pebbles everywhere and its a very clean bathroom. You will love it, taking bath in middle of the tree.

I also went to the backwaters ride, which wasnt that great but they should show some more stuff in the backwaters ride.

If you are going to Kerala , go to Kottayam and go to this place too.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GauravShinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderful Property. Our room had a fantastic balcony wiev over the lake. We felt like living in a big botanic garden, astonishing beatiful flowers, trees and green areas. Staff working (specially in the restaurant) where fantastic in taking great care of our little 2 year old daughter and made our stay really comfortable. The two poolsides where excellent for bathing, and our little daughter loved staying in the pool, specially the resortpool.
would recommend this to family, friends or colleagues as a great place to stay if youre on holiday - to have some quiet time and enjoy the beauty of the backwaters boat ride

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sykestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We just had one night at the Lake Village resort and the beautiful backwater setting for the cottages was lovely. However, we felt there were management issues exemplifed by a creepy incident in the outdoor restaurant where we were the only guests. It was chilling when our charming waiter sprang away from us in the middle of our ordering food, clearly in response to a click of the restaurant manager's fingers. Then when we came to leave there was confusion over the taxi we thought we'd offered and we ended up paying an extortionate amount for a short trip to the town bus station in the hotel car. It left a nasty taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Lake Village Resort at Kottayam was the real highlight of my Kerala trip. I stayed with my wife and eight year old daughter in their traditional Kerala style cottage in the backwaters of the Vembanad Lake. Though it is said to be a three star hotel, I found it equivalent to staying in any five-star resort at Kumarakom backwaters at half the price! Our duplex cottage was all wood, with the rustic wooden steps taking you to the bedroom on the first floor with a spectacular view of the backwaters. One complete wall was made of big windows for an uninterrupted view. The ground floor had a small seating and dining with an open-air bathroom and a private balcony overlooking the lake. Seemed like a dream house! Since it was early March, the weather hadn’t turned so much humid and hot; in fact we had lovely breezy mornings and evenings. The cottages were all interspersed with beautifully landscaped gardens with a multitude of plants and trees. My wife was most appreciative of their Ayurveda centre and she did get a couple of massages done. The only thing we didn’t like was the hotel’s business wing, which totally spoilt the look of this beautiful resort. We quite enjoyed the traditional cuisine in their restaurant, I think it was Nalukettu, though I wouldn’t be able to remember the names of the dishes, but their chef was there to help us choose from the menu according to our tastes. My daughter was a regular on their room service and the hotel staff was efficient and very courteous. This place was a fantastic find.

  • Liked — getting to stay in a traditional Kerala house in the backwaters for a really cheap price
  • Disliked — the housekeeping and maintenance of the cottages could have been better
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
11.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.1 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.7 km away
The Windsor Castle
The Windsor Castle
#7 of 28 in Kottayam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
5.4 km away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
10.4 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Village Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Village Heritage Resort

Property: The Lake Village Heritage Resort
Address: Kodimatha, Kottayam 656039, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Village Heritage Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Lake Village Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Village Heritage Resort Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing