We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you very much lake village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Kottayam
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I went to this place based on the reviews I read with my wife and kid. The place is very peaceful and quiet which I personally liked. Even though this is not exactly in  kumarakom, I think it should be by far the best in and around kottayam. I would really like to thank each and every one of the hotel staff for their warmth and kindless. Here are few tips for people who may plan to go to this part of kerala and are considering this hotel

1) For booking contact Mr. Ajo  from the resort. Check for the special offers that they have on the website and plan accordingly.  

2) Do take the airport pickup and drop service directly from the hotel as the one from the airport (pre paid cabs)  costs almost the same.  Also once at the hotel check if you can get the lake side room, its really nice to just walk out from the room and directly get in the swimming pool and look at the lake from there.

3) As soon as you arrive, make sure that you meet with Mr.Abhilash and plan up the iteneray with him along with the transport provided. He will work out the best with the number of days available to you. 

4) The boat cruise  is AWESOME. it might be one of the best in terms of facilities. The staff on the boat are really nice and helpful, so do take a half day cruise  

5)Ayurveda  centers. The 2 Massages a day was haven on earth and twice a day Yoga was very helpfull also. If somebody like to take care of there health, thats the place to go.
6)The food available at the hotel  is the best available around the hotel. Try to check if there are any lunch plus dinner offer and you might take that. Try the tandoori  karimeen (pearlspot)

To summarize, my stay was really pleasant, the only thing I missed was RAINS. It must be awesome when it rains in these places :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mattlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was our first time at an Ayurvedic resort so we decided to book the 14 days Rejuvenation Therapy package to try it out. It was definitely worth it. The massages were close to perfect the staff and doctors are very friendly and competent. We had our own hammock in front of the cottage which was perfect to relax after the daily our treatments.
Fabulous service, excellent facilities, great pool, fabulous cottages and real ayurvedic diet food. Ayurveda treatments was very good and Authentic kerala style treatments . The landscaped gardens on the lake side are beautiful. Would recommend one day at least where you don't leave the resort.

However, if you are looking for a place to recharge your batteries than this is the place to be. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sudhachandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were there for 1Night -2Days. We took the Magic Jasmine honey moon package which was all incl.( Candle light dinner , fruit basket , badam milk, breakfast , special cake , wine and country boat trip).

The cottage are AC and it was pleasantly pre-cooled when we arrived in the room. It was clean and exactly as shown in pictures (was on upstairs floor). The ground floor rooms have living room with balcony & open Bathroom with plants .In the garden hammock for relaxing in evening or early morning.

The food was very good with wide variety of South Indian, north Indian and continental food. Breakfast was also very good. Fresh juices, fruits were served in breakfast.
we used the Spa for massage and ayurvedic treatments and it was good.

All in all it was very pleasant stay for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed in a cottage at the resort during the last week of Feb '11. The resort was very beautiful and well maintained with great food and service. It is surrounded by beautiful backwaters on sides and the views are breathtaking. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vasuchennai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

A Cool and awesome place for Honeymoon Couples to spend ample time without much disturbance. Good Service and Hospitality from the Team members of the Resort.In the night we went for fishing in a country boat with lantern through the resorts private lake in the moonlight . This was an unforgettable experience which I couldn’t get anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathewktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I was travelling here with a lot of friends. Unfortunately some of my friends were living in the concrete hotel of the same company. We were the lucky few to have got to stay in the Cottages.

So not much, you walk right next to a pond and then reach this wonderful eating area with wooden furniture and a smiling staff hands you over the welcome drink. then you start walking towards your cottage and you get a feeling you are away from the world and all that surrounds you is trees and animals(ducks)

You enter the cottage and the surprises start. the flooring is wooden, the furniture is wooden and then the small verandah you have is awesome, some of them even are right next to the small river they have made. But the big surprises are still to come,

you go upstairs to the wonderful interiors which are awesome. Somehow if they had found a way to hide the A/C behind some furniture it would have made it look awesome.

Then you go to the bathroom. trust me the best bathroom I have ever seen in life and the best place i have taken bath in my life. Its open from the top but a nice banana tree covers it so that others dont get to see you. there are small pebbles everywhere and its a very clean bathroom. You will love it, taking bath in middle of the tree.

I also went to the backwaters ride, which wasnt that great but they should show some more stuff in the backwaters ride.

If you are going to Kerala , go to Kottayam and go to this place too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GauravShinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderful Property. Our room had a fantastic balcony wiev over the lake. We felt like living in a big botanic garden, astonishing beatiful flowers, trees and green areas. Staff working (specially in the restaurant) where fantastic in taking great care of our little 2 year old daughter and made our stay really comfortable. The two poolsides where excellent for bathing, and our little daughter loved staying in the pool, specially the resortpool.
would recommend this to family, friends or colleagues as a great place to stay if youre on holiday - to have some quiet time and enjoy the beauty of the backwaters boat ride

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sykestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
0.7 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#4 of 29 in Kottayam
183 reviews
1.6 km away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 29 in Kottayam
55 reviews
1.3 km away
The Windsor Castle and lake village heritage resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
815 reviews
10.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
5 km away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 29 in Kottayam
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Village Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Village Heritage Resort

Address: Sh 1 | Kodimatha, Kottayam 686039, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kottayam
Price Range: $126 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Village Heritage Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lake Village Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Village Heritage Resort Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing