We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Whispering Palms Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Palms Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 9 January 2009

This was our last stop on a 2 1/2 week blitz around India. I figured we would need a quiet peaceful place to unwind for a few days before the long trip home and this was definitely it. We were pretty bedraggled upon arrival and left refreshed and relaxed. We had a lake facing room near the pool which got rather noisy on the last day but everyone was having a good time. Our private backwater cruise picked us up at the dock and took us to Kumarakom where we visited a temple and a family who lived along the waterway. We were treated to a fresh coconut he chopped from the tree behind his house. I had a spa treatment and lounged by the pool. A welcome change from the fumes and noise of Delhi and Kolkata, exciting and interesting as they were. Other reviewers stated there is not much to do but you can get a tuk-tuk and go anywhere you want, if you can tolerate the bumpety-bumpety road.
If you have read The God of Small Things, it is set on this road and you can see the History House at the Taj a few kms down the road. I just happened to pick it up before I Ieft on the trip, not knowing I was actually going THERE, so that was a real treat. I kept expecting to see the Paradise Pickles truck on the road! I finished the book swinging in the hammock outside our room.
We enjoyed the food very much. We opted to order a la carte once in a while and the portions were huge. Their dessert bar is very tempting, especially the ice cream and kulfi. The wait staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. My husband went through Diet Coke withdrawal, though. No diet drinks per se though they will mix some concoctions up for you if you ask.
I can see getting a bit bored over a longer stay ...staring at the beautiful lake and all the houseboats cruising by but we did not reach that point.
The hot water tank is quite small which necessitated quick or widely-spaced showers. But some places we stayed had none so we were pleased with it.
Odd thing...it seemed like the gift shop was selling used clothes! I saw a top from the Gap! Maybe things guests have left there?
The security seen all over India was here, too. There is a guard at the gate and one at the dock. No bugs or other creepy things. A beautiful egret visited each morning and evening and took care of any that were around.
The staff was very accomodating when we learned our flight was cancelled. They let us keep our room past check out and fielded calls from our agent in Cochi as we got our plans rearranged. The trip home was very long and stressful so I was even more grateful for having experienced the peace and calm of Whispering Palms.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigsister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

I agree with the other reviews, and would add that we got our driver to take us to the Bevco to pick up some Kingfishers, so we could enjoy drinks on the patio.

Also our room was actually a small villa in a bamboo compound - spacious and comfortable, and with the curiosity of an outside shower, toilet and sink. Also had a plunge pool and pretty garden.

If you want something to do, just walk up and down the adjoining road and meet the locals, but there are not alternatives to dining unless you visit the other resorts on the same road.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissiedxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

A lovely location on the lake, but overall the stay marred by a couple of issues.

As a recent reviewer has said, there is no alcohol sold at the hotel because of religious reasons, but they don't mind if you get it from outside. That said, there is no focal place for people to congregate in the evening and after dinner there is little to do except sit in your room.

The food is a buffet, which whilst they made an effort for quantity, it became a little repetitive after a few days.

Because of its remote location, there is nowhere nearby to go for a drink or change of meal.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank world_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayswater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

A pleasant hotel in a lovely setting but not a lot to do especially if you do not have own transport.

The choice of whether to drink alcohol is not a decision made by guests but by the Managing Director. who, we were told. has decided that as he does not personally drink alcohol then neither will it be available for purchase by guests.

All meals while we were there were in the form of a buffet. This was tedious and in no way compared to having a meal especially prepared as is the norm in most traditional Indian restaurants. Food lying around, as it inevitably does in a buffet, can lead to intestinal problems in a country where tourists are often already at risk. Beware.

  • Liked — calm location with lovely views
  • Disliked — Attitude of hotel in removing choice of guests by imposing no alcohol & only buffet meals
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifermakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed her for 2 nights in early december. It is a great hotel with good staff. There were performances by the pool both evenings. The food is good, though you might want to try the ala carte option for variety.

For activities, there is nothing much. You could go for a cruise in a house boat, the hotel will arrange for it. Or you could just spend time sitting near the back waters and taking in the beautiful view.

It might be better to take a lake view room if your budget allows.

Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asterissk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

This is a beautiful resort set just beside the big lake. I was here for 5 days with my wife. We were looking for tranquil vacation in nature and we got just that. Resort has nice lake side rooms. It hasa a small pier to enjoy sunsets and quiet mornings, hammocks, nice swimming pool with a breeze from the lake and very nice indian cuisine varieties. Only one problem was there are lot of bugs in the night but thats outside the room so that was not a big deal for us. In short, we liked the stay and are definitely coming back whever we can.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sarangd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
well travelled Ontarians
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

We set out to stay at another hotel that several friends had used and recomended. We were disappointed that space was not available and I used this site and our agent in India to find the best replacement. We were totally impressed with the result.

This is an India based chain (Abad) that seems to be able to serve the Indian market as well as the western one with an approach that works. There are several types of accomodation but ours was a huge cottage with a private garden and a Kerala type exterior washroom. It was amazingly modern, spacious and very pleasant.

The food is buffet style Indian with a huge selection which allows us western types to see and taste the variety. I don't think anyone could walk away unsatisfied and you could learn a lot.

Service was great. Bars non-existant although they're happy to provide ice and mixes. Locale, pool and views supurb.

If you are looking for all the comforts of a western hotel, this won't cut it. If you are looking fo a 5 star local experience with great service, you've found it.

  • Liked — Size, uniquness and canliness
  • Disliked — nothng
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kottayam
0.0 km away
The Lake Village Heritage Resort
0.0 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.0 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 km away
Kalathil Lake Resort
Kalathil Lake Resort
#4 of 28 in Kottayam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 km away
Rain Forest Ayur County
Rain Forest Ayur County
#15 of 28 in Kottayam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Resort
Address: New Nazareth Church Road | Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kottayam 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Hotel Kottayam
Whispering Palms Resort Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing