We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service, Rude Staf”
Review of Orchid Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Residency
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Rude Staf”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We paid in advance for 1nite in this hotel trough expedia site and showing the printed page of our reservation while chek in. The staff seem understand english but then he show us the hotel tariff ! We check in with hope to get shower (7.30PM) but the hot water is not work. I call the housekeeping and no one hang up. I call reception and ask for the hot water, but then he said 'Im sorry mam actually there is NO HOTWATER AT NITE!' Well, we had long journey from Allepey after saw Snakeboat Race n feel dirty so i force my self to had a cold shower. My husband call room service and want to order some food, after mentioning the food we order, the staff answer on the phone like this 'if u order room service u have to pay the tax also, the price is not included, so can u pay as we charge for room service?' Omg that was ridiculous, they think we dont want to pay? how they manage the staff to speak like that? Around 9PM We going down directly to the restaurant, small room with dimmy light, and no staff/waiter stand by. My husband ask to reception if restaurant still open, and is possible to order beer/coctails, they said 'Im sorry sir this is a Muslim Hotel so we dont provide Alcohol here' .. oh OK! we walk abit to the front side to find some drink and food. The room(4th floor) was spacious but less clean. The Bed matras was very hard like a Rock, Thank God we just overnite at Kottayam and cant wait to check out early morning and go to Munnar. Morning 6AM we checked and still NO HOTWATER! As my husband had enough suffer with all bad service of this hotel, we packed and Finally 7AM we go to reception to confirm check out after bfast. I remember lastnite he said bfast start at 7AM. But he confirm n said "Im sorry mam, actually the breakfast start at 7.30' How tricky was it? Again we dissapointed and hv to find bfast in other place. Only dissapointment we had during our stay in this hotel, very very bad service and no hospitality at all, if u dont want the same experience as we had, pls DONT stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    19
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
7
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Orchid is an ok hotel, it's generally clean but our room did have a very strong damp smell especially the bathroom (probably because the door to the bathroom having a self closing mechanism so it had never been left open for some ventilation) Room service was poor, especially when ordering food, you are quoted one price over the phone and when the bill comes, it is higher! We only stayed one night and I think that's probably as long as I could have stayed. Also, late in the evening there seemed to be a party going on either very closeby or downstairs which meant we didn't get much peace.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night and wanted to be out. Overall my experience was extremely negative. If you look out the window of your room, the sight is of old dingy buildings. Downright awful. Don’t be deceived by the pictures on their website. There was no hot water. You take a cold shower. The shower head was leaking profusely on to the wall. No toilet paper. They claimed they have internet connection in the room. It did not work. The TV would not work. They promised to send someone to fix both problems, but nobody ever showed up in two days. I would give this hotel less than a one star rating. Most unpleasant of all they do not honor their word.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gally78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kottayam hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice at the end of July 2011 one night at each end of a 2 week holiday camping and sightseeing in south India. Whilst the hotel is too large to have any real charm and is on a main road in a commercial area so not very picturesque, we found the hotel to be excellent for our needs. Rooms are very specious, very applicable cost, clean, well equipped and including small fridge (large bathroom, functioning A/C and king Size bed), staffs are friendly and helpful and service is generally pretty slick. There is also a small business center also. Despite being on main a main road and having a street facing room but we didn’t have any trouble with noise from the street.

Special mention goes to excellent restaurant where we had two lovely meals the menu is extensive but it is rewarding to go for local specialties. It seems to attract to lot of locals, which is always good sigh.
The hotel is on the busy Pulimoodu Jn., 15 to 20 minutes bus ride to kumarakam (House Boat), and the most ideal for sightseeing. If you want to be in the thick of it – but a nice treat for us at either end of a holiday that champing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calicut, kerala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

the worst hotel ever stayed....there was no hotwater at all..when complained about that the housekeeping guys told they will get a bucket of hotwater soon ...but waited for the same for 2 hrs....nothing happened.....the bath towels were torn....bathroon was not cleaned....bed sheets was yellowish coloured , seems like its been washed a couple of months back.....the room was full of fine dust...and the very low quality stuffed buffet breakfast...but 1 thing was good...the reception people and a very quick check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephcherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed here for only 1 day..found it very good..rooms were very neat..restaurant food was great..felt very comfortable here.service provided was also good.it provides good value for money..i think one of the best in Kottayam.shall surely come back for another stay when necessary...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnThomas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This hotel has some of the best local cuisine I have eaten in Kerala. It also has a great breakfast - dont forget to try the appams
Nicely located for pleasure or work, I would recommend this to one and all

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adilpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kottayam hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Icon Classic
Hotel Icon Classic
#24 of 28 in Kottayam
23 reviews
0.4 km away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kottayam
179 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#2 of 28 in Kottayam
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Nisha Continental Hotel
Nisha Continental Hotel
#16 of 28 in Kottayam
3 reviews
0.3 km away
Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hotel
#17 of 28 in Kottayam
16 reviews
1.6 km away
Chrysoberyl
Chrysoberyl
#6 of 28 in Kottayam
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Residency

Property: Orchid Residency
Address: Pulimoodu Junction, Kottayam 686001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orchid Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Residency Hotel Kottayam
Orchid Residency Kottayam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing