We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradisa was one of the nicest hotels we...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradisa Plantation Retreat
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradisa was one of the nicest hotels we...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Paradisa was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in on our vacation in India. The rebuilt Kerala houses are unique and gorgeous, the setting and food are both fantastic. Another highlight was listening to Simon, the owner, tell us local legends on a trek up to the Hindu temple nearby.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Set on a hillside with an enchanting view to the mountains across a wooded valley, Paradisa lives up to everything it claims to be. There is little I can add to the comments of already made by other visitors. This is a place that treats you as an honoured guest, and the food is out of this world. Kerala cuisine is my favourite, and Paradisa' s must be up there with the best in Kerala. Check out the archeological artefacts, be pampered by Simon and his staff, kick back and relax. Great for honymooners.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the Paradise plantation resort. The setting is fabulous overlooking the beautiful valley below and the mountains opposite. Our private bungalow was delightfull, beautifully furnished and even had a mosquito net. The restuarant food was first class with lots of fresh fruit at breakfast and freshly prepared fish and curry for dinner. We went for a evening stroll with Roy the hotel manager who told us splendid stories about the area and the Hindu religion. We highly recommend the Paradise Plantation Resort to othert travellers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

The place has the chance to be in a beautiful mountainous settings, but other than that you can see that it has been built on the cheap side. The rooms are very basic and are way overpriced!! Furthermore it is much too far from the attraction in the area: Peryar park. You have to drive there and back to visit the Park. The owner is nice, but obsequious. He tries to give you the impression that the world stops at his place. A bit unnerving. The great thing the owner organized however : traditional South Indian dances performed by two small girls, one was 8 years old and the other 11years old. The 11 years old was truly amazing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ascagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandra, Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

I stayed there one night on the way from Parrier National Park to Cochin. The place is beautiful with a great view over the mountains from all the old Kerala-style wooden cottages. The food-menu (for lunch and dinner) is limited and Indian only – but fine quality. The host/owner Simon welcomes all and gives the place a very personal touch. However, the place is very quiet (the nearest restaurant is ½ hours drive away), so I couldn’t stay here more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esbenthorup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Paradisa really does live up to its name! The antique wooden rooms are beautiful and full of character, the views are out of this word, the food is amazing and the service top notch. I totally agree with the other reviews - it is a really unique place with great attention to detail. Nothing is too much and the staff all go out of their way to make you happy. There is nothing I could fault at all. It is worth pointing out that the hotel is quite isolated so is nice for relaxation but perhaps not for people who need to be very active or entertained. Having said that, the staff will take you for walks in the area and you can visit a tea factory and ayurveda centre or do a full trip to the reserve in Thekaddy. There was a dance perfomance one evening and you can into the kitchen and get some recipes from the chef if you are interested in Keralan cooking. .There is no TV or internet connection however. The pool has fantastic views and you can have delicious snacks and ice cold beer served there. Simon the owner is a great host and Roy the manager is also great - nothing is too much trouble. I recommend this place wholeheartedly - it was one of the highlights of our trip to Kerala and one of the most memorable places I have stayed anywhere. Perhaps the only downside is that the rooms are spread out and involve steps so it would not be suitable for disabled people or those with limited mobility.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Paradisa Plantation for 2 nights as part of a month-long odyssey across India and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We had the most amazing time here.

The accommodation was as fantastic as the views – the retreat is comprised of beautifully furnished traditional wooden houses nestled in the lush and bountiful jungle of the cardamom hills.

As for the food, the kitchen at the Paradisa Plantation is something of a culinary miracle. No corners are cut and no sacrifices made in presenting guests with incredible freshly prepared dishes of traditional Keralan cuisine. The breakfast fruit platters are fit for a king and the evening meals of fresh fish are incredible and the portions huge! The manager Roy is hugely passionate about the food and his attention to detail and keenness to impress and please guests is second to none. The team there demonstrate a lot of creative flair with the food and the freedom they are given really shows.

But the real highlight of our visit here was our host, Simon... He took us on walks and on a visit to his tea factory where he showed us how tea is made and entertained us with his stories and his knowledge of the area: from the local flora and fauna to the wildlife and birds. He even took us for a beer to the most amazing planters club which, in my opinion, stands as one of the greatest bars on earth for it's character and charm! He really made our time there very special.

If you're thinking about a trip to Kerala don't hesitate in booking here. We can't wait to return!

Simon, thanks for your hospitality

K & C

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingponglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisaThekkady, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this review, 18 March 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words , you certainly thats what keeps us going . Thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
20.2 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
22.6 km away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
20.8 km away
Kofiland
Kofiland
#14 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
22.7 km away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
22.6 km away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisa Plantation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisa Plantation Retreat

Property: Paradisa Plantation Retreat
Address: Murinjapuzha P.O. | Idukki District, Thekkady 685532, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradisa Plantation Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisa Plantation Retreat is set on an organic coffee and spice plantation in the hills of Kerala. The Retreat comprises traditional wooden cottages, embellished with invaluable antiques. The activities available are yoga, cooking lessons, visit to the tea factory(12 kms), visit or massage at the Ayurveda centre(8 kms), and Periyar Tiger Reserve (40 kms). There are many spectacular walking routes. One leaves the Retreat invigorated by the fresh air, pampered by the caring staff and visually delighted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisa Plantation Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Hotel Thekkady
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Idukki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing