We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Finest Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Vivanta by Taj is the finest Luxury Hotel in Trivandum. Located centrally, it is close to Business as well as Government Offices. The rooms are large and tastefully furnished with a good view. The best part of the hotel is the excellent food available in the multicuisine restaurant. The lunch buffet's have variety and very tasty especially the Kerala Food.The hospitality and friendliness of staff is very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    321
    86
    24
    15
See reviews for
239
127
55
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were totally spoilt rotten by the service and stay! first surprise was the comp upgrade to the Premier rooms. The room was absolutely spectacular and totally comfortable-the bathroom looked a little dated but importantly everything worked. The rain shower was an absolute delight. Room service was prompt. The restaurant, Fifth Element served excellent food and had incredible service. Pramod, Mani and Dinesh were exceptional in their service levels. At breakfast, when the kids were still sleeping, they offered to pack some pastries and fruits and send it up to the kids so they could have breakfast in bed. Breakfast had an excellent voice. No spa though:( We used their travel desk and did a houseboat ride and their pricing was competitive-comparable to outside operators. Kids even got sent up delightful afternoon tea snacks in addition to their in room dining orders. Pool was great and quite a haven. From front office to restaurant to room service to everything-this place is a winner and we would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Trivandrum. We all didn't want to leave-need I say more!!

Room Tip: Take a room in a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed one night en route to the Maldives. It was a great stay. They greet you with a welcome drink, the rooms are luxurious with fruit and chocolates waiting for you, the staff go out of their way to help. The rooms were modern and comfortable and the shower was one of the best we had in India. The Indian dishes at the dinner buffet was great (why would you seek western food while in India!?) Had a great western breakfast buffet-omelet station, decent croissants, fresh juice. equivalent to a good Sheraton in The US.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Our first experience in a taj hotel. Rooms are ok to average. Food is ok. No spa @ hotel. Restaurant very very average, no western buffet breakfast. Staff at restaurant very friendly and helpful, go beyond their call. Ask for Tony at restaurant, a good and very helpful lad. Front desk staff are confused. Be careful of travel desk staff, I think that they are in some kind of dubious deals, we asked for a taxi to Thekkady and was quoted Rs17000.00, after I moaned and groaned we got a taxi for Rs7000.00. This was the most expensive fare, yet the shortest distance we travelled in India.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

After our Kovalam disaster, the Taj came to the rescue and we spent one night in this city property before moving back to the beach.

This is your typical upscale business city hotel. It's not as heavily decorated as a 'full' Taj hotel, but the service is friendly and everything works smoothly.

The room we had was super spacious and the food nice!

Again, thanks for saving us! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip, having checked myself out of another terrible hotel within 20 minutes of my arrival that night. The Taj reservation hotline came to my rescue and had me booked in at the Vivanta within moments over the phone. My arrival at the Vivanta was almost like a homecoming, I was met and greeted with such warmth and genuine hospitality that I almost felt that I was being mistaken for someone else! It was doubly pleasing to be recognized at the front desk nearly a year after my previous visit and that speaks volumes of the committment of the staff. My room was a Superior Charm room on the 6th floor with a city view and the room was large, spacious, well-appointed with a business desk, high speed internet, mini bar and the king size bed was excellent. The hotel has an excelent selection of pillows from their 'Pillow Menu' which I highly recommend. Room service was quick and the food was delicious. The buffet breakfast is quite a good spread with plenty to choose from with Continental, South Indian and local delicacies on the menu. The hotel also organized a chauffered car on my request. As always the best part of staying at a Taj hotel are the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: -You can request a pool view room or a city view room. - Try their 'pillow menu'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhayynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I spent a week in this hotel during a business trip to India. The top marks in my opinion are to the service and the restaurant.
Food was expensive by local standards however, was very, very good.
The staff was always attentive and helpful. Although sometimes this could also be irritating. Some moments you just want peace and quiet, and you don't need a different person asking how you are every 5 minutes.
I do think this hotel could do with some more facilities however. The pool area to me just did not feel very comfortable or private. And besides the gym and business center, that was about it. Maybe a spa or something, a way for guests to relax.
The room was always clean and tastefully decorated.
I had a nice view from my room over the city, towards the mountains.

My only real dislike of this hotel was the internet. They charge per device!! So many people travel with smartphones now, business people with a laptop, and myself also had a tablet. I only got the internet for my laptop but it would have been nice while waiting in the lobby for a taxi if I could easily surf the internet on one of my smaller devices.

Room Tip: Choose your internet device wisely. Skip dessert. Meals are quite large and usually they brought a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20wot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
678 reviews
0.8 km away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
729 reviews
10.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.4 km away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#3 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
425 reviews
20.7 km away
Hotel Lake Palace
Hotel Lake Palace
#7 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Address: Vazhuthacaud Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most happening restaurants which open to the lobby to create an enticing food zone offering the best in world cuisine. Technology is woven through it all. Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, has all the entertainment and connectivity options today's traveller requires. Become a part of our world. Feel the pulse of an international business and conferencing destination. Experience the buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum India/Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing