We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Place for Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmleaves Beach Resort
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal Place for Honeymoon”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our stay was part of my honeymoon trip to Kerala. The Calm and quiet beach just behind the hotel is our first experience in lifetime. No crowd, Golden Sand and pretty long beach. This is really an ideal place for Honeymooners.
Resort is cute and Mr. Mathew Roshan took care of us very well. Food was tasty and service was good. Spacious Room with sufficient amenities and we were really happy with this Resort.

Room Tip: Room which is facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sachin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    77
    30
    15
    26
See reviews for
84
81
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at PALMLEAVES during the first week of March with family. The experience was awesome and felt as if we stayed in a private beach with great golden sorroundings. Vacations are sure to unwind and relax and we got it full. Beach,sun, coconut water and wind with excellent fingerlickable seafood prepared by the owner herself. Hospitable people and staff..My wife and kids Eva and Dave had a blast. Also we explored kerala's lesser known beautiful places, courtesy Roshan. I fully recommend this resort to all and even ask you to plan kerala tour after speaking to him.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bijulazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had an excellent time at Palmleaves and wished we had scheduled more time there. We found the owners to be very friendly and they made every effort to be helpful. But it is better to anticipate a small guest house rather than a "resort." The food, which is very good, is cooked homestyle rather than being a restaurant with a menu. The rooms were clean and pleasant, although most of the patios are small. That means that you have to walk about 100 meters, through a palm grove, to the open sand beach. You'll find that you spend more time on the beach than on your patio. The beach is beautiful, but not set aside for just for sunbathing: fishermen are busy going in and out with nets and boats. We found that a fascinating plus, but others may prefer to be around a more typical beach crowd. Although the fishermen were busy with their work, or playing cards, the atmosphere was very relaxed with plenty of space for sunbathing or playing in the surf.

Room Tip: The rooms at the very front, ground and second floor, have the very best views. The second floor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrymorganwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Last december we visited India, we looked at this finest resort. We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days. Even though the road's are bit bumpy & the location is bit inside (thats fine), but the resort was astounding. We loved the hospitality by the management, welcome drink(tea) and got the sea facing room... Wow, what a room it was. Amazing collections, good collection of books to read, satellite connection, nice wood work, clean beach, fresh coconut (fetched from trees). Being foodie, we had continental/kerala foods(on request basis), wonderful kerala meals we got (yummy yummy). Even we got chance to meet the local fisher folks with the help of the management and make ferry ride(on request basis). The best part is we walked on the beach in the early morning and evening... it's amazing!! The place is fully surrounded by coconut trees... so all the time you will get the breeze.

Resort management is mantained by nice couple....They will try to accomodate as much as they can. Also you get vehcile for travel to near by beaches/city/temple or kanyakumari etc.

Overall, we enjoyed the trip, the location, clean beach and wish to visit one more time. So i recommend you to give a try.

Room Tip: 1) Ask the sea facing rooms.... 2) Talk to the management. They will assist try to assist you 3) G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deva_Gnanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Ideal for people looking for a vacation away from the city crowd. This place has a beach front with lots of coconut trees to make the sunny days cooler. Also the beach where this hotel is faced is not the commercial beach. It is more of fishing area where you can see lots of boats parked. So no tourist crowd on the beach.

Service of the hotel is quite friendly and homely. We also liked the food a lot and ended up over-eating . We literally spent one whole day just relaxing near the beach on the hammock under the coconut trees. Even though it was quite sunny, the cool wind made it feel very soothing.

However if anyone is looking for a 5 star kind of ambiance, uniform wearing staff or a highly formal behavior from the hotel staff then please don't bother going there. Also if someone is going there with a plan to spend whole day out of the hotel touring Trivandrum, then please do note that this place is about 20 kms off city.

Room Tip: Rooms at ground floor have sit-out which opens straight into sandy beach. So the floors of these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlokDamle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I booked for 3 days during January on the strength of what we saw on the internet. How decieving that can be. The first indication was the driveway, suitcases could not be wheeled due to the state of the driveway. We had booked the deluxe ground floor sea facing room. Well you could either have the TV on or the fridge but not both. The mattresses felt like they were made out of bricks and the bathroom was let say in need of upgrading. There was no patio furniture until the brought a table for us, out side the grass hadn't been mown in ages. The view from our room to the beach was marred by rubbish and wrecked buildings to the right. The beach itself left a lot to be desired and the 'resort' seemed to attract back-packers who were seen smoking the same stuff that I am sure your reviewers who gave it a great review were smoking! After one day we told the owner in no uncertain terms that we were not staying another night! As we had paid in advance [don't go this route!] we negotiated to pay for two nights and get a refund for one night. [still a rip-off] It was an absolute nightmare - yes the owner has aspirations to create a resort in the future and I wish him well but it is not a resort right now more like a badly run home-stay! Another thing is that there is no where locally you can dine except the 'resort'. In all our 4 weeks stay in India this was the worst experience and we stayed in numerous resorts in Kerala and even a fabulous home stay in Kochi [Saj Home Stay - a little well deserved plug for Saj and his family!] Russell & Rita Atherstone - Durban S Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you go in with the right expectations, then the Palmleaves is a fantastic place to stay near Trivandrum.

It's not a resort, but something more like a homestay. So, accomodations are basic, no toilitries available, limited services (no pool, no bar, sometimes things you expect are not available). What you can find are really friendly owners always happy to stop and have a chat with you, funny and helpful staff, amazing local food and a great local beach to watch the fisherman and sunsets from.

I had stayed originally for 5 nights, with the plan of spending the rest of my stay near Kovalam in a bigger resort. But, nevermind that Kovalam is annoying and dirty, the food at the other hotel made me very ill. So I wound up cancelling the rest of my reservation there and moved back to Palmleaves for my remaining 9 nights. Annie and Mathew noticed I looked unwell and prepared me some special dishes to help in my recovery. Very kind of them.

There is nothing in the surrounding areas. So if you are planning day trips to keep you busy or don't mind a few days of total relaxation, the location is good. The room had an air conditioning unit that worked well. And all have some view of the beach from private balconies. Breakfast is served each morning consisting of fruit, toast and whatever local surprise they have of the day. Could be coconut pankcakes, fermented rice cakes, rice noodles, goes on an on. There is a dinner menu but there are also daily specials which can be anything from fresh grilled prawns to chicken curry. You just have to ask what is available. Besides the fact that the food was delicious, I also liked that because it's such a small place (10 rooms), the other guests are sociable and I had a great getting to know them and hear about their experiences in India.

The staff was always ready to lend a helping hand be it in organizing something for you or just stopping by to see if you're enjoying yourself. Anoop has a difficult job yet always does it with a smile and a laugh. He's a good guy. Mathew's young daughter also tried to teach me some Malayalam. It's going to take some practice. :)

Being the only hotel in the area, the beach is empty. Any locals around are not bothersome and I always felt very safe. Mathew did mention that one day he wants to do something with the connecting property, for instance another restaurant and pool. If that's there, the rating should increase as the ocean was at most times way to rough for swimming and it would be nice having another place to hang out.

Free wifi is available in the restaurant. Usually it worked well, sometimes it seemed to be turned off though.

I think the only (only!) part of my stay that that was less enjoyable was a hard matress I had in my room the first stay. It was an ayurevedic style medical mattress. Although at my second stay, I was in a different room and the mattress was softer. So I was pretty comfortable then.

I'll be leaving tomorrow from the Palmleaves and am feeling a sad to be leaving my friends there. But one day I'll come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 20wot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
13.7 km away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#4 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
19.2 km away
Sun Tara Beach Resort
Sun Tara Beach Resort
#60 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Lake Palace
Hotel Lake Palace
#7 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
Hawah Beach Resort
Hawah Beach Resort
#22 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
16.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#3 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
16.0 km away
The Residency Tower
The Residency Tower
#13 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmleaves Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmleaves Beach Resort

Property: Palmleaves Beach Resort
Address: Puthenthoppu PO | ST Xaviers Collegevia, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695586, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmleaves Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmleaves is a family run village beach hotel,just 16 KM from Trivandrum international Air port, 20 kms from Trivandrum city, and 6kms from Technopark.A pristine and safe beach is just in front of our pool. Palmleaves is for people on leisure, to spend time with nature as it is in rural Kerala, experiencing Kerala village life. Our guests can see the fishermen at work every morning in-front of our beach and may join them in fishing.Fresh fish can be bought from them to be prepared for your taste. We have a newly constructed open restaurant just on the beach among palm trees, and it is thatched with coconut leaves. There are not any other such facilities in Trivandrum and it is great to read a book or enjoy the sea, sunset sitting in the open restaurant when you are served fresh home cooked cuisine. For a relaxing and authentic Kerala experience, away from city, you are welcome to Palmleaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palmleaves Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmleaves Beach Resort India/Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing