We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch Out!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Bay Beach Resort
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Watch Out!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Coconut Bay- beautiful place, rooms are fine (India standard) but not fantastic or anything given the price we are paying (100 euro) Would expect a lot better at home. THE BIG WATCH OUT is that they do not serve alcohol. It is not written on the website etc and not that you would be skuling drinks or anything- just nice to have a glass with dinner! You can order wine at reception but you have to drink it in your room- feel a bit like a bold school child drinking wine from a mug! Anyway anyone that would like a glass of wine with dinner- unfortunately this is not the hotel for you, there are loads of beautiful resorts in this area and I would not recommend this place to anyone. (P.S food only ok and restaurant service extreamely slow)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
30
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Coconut Bay Resort was really a great experience and it was the first time I did Ayurveda and I must say: I will for sure do it again. Hotel was very nice and clean, surrounding was like paradise and the treatments have been very professional. Entire staff was really friendly and helpful and for the fact that the resort is small, we were treated like family members. For sure a place to recommend and price/service wise a more than good deal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I paid over 1000 Euros for 9 day stay.
If the price is European standard, then of course I expect to be satisfied at European standards. Was I? No way.

Negative points
1) The whole place was full of bugs, especially flies. Not acceptable.
2) The restaurant forgot my orders a few times.
3) The female receptionist told me that I misheard my taxi charge as 500 rupees when
she claims she said 550 rupees. I can't possibly mishear FIVE HUNDRED and FIVE HUNDRED and FIFTY, later she even said I was asking for a discount. That was totally
annoying. I did not for a discount!

Positive points
1) Prepared me sandwich for free for my very early morning flight so that I can have it
on the way.
2) No room service charge (the restaurant was full of bugs so I had to stay home)]
3)Lovely flowers on the bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogini_misa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonimathew73, Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2010
Dear Guest,
It’s our consistent endeavour to give the best of staying experiences
at Coconut Bay.
We regret and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced.
At certain times of the year; especially during rainy season, Termite
flies do appear and vanish in a day.
We have our taxi charges printed in all our rooms, to avoid any
miscommunication.
We have taken up the matter of misplacing the order with our restaurant
team and have given vigorous training and incorporated more process and
systems on the same.
Its my personal commitment to ensure a world class stay, Incase you
wish to have a second visit.

Thanks and Regards,

Soni Mathew.
(Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Location
Cocunut bay is @ a fansctatic location
in the side of Arbania sea with full cocunut treas nearly by fisherman village @ Mullar beach.
Its around 15 Km from trivandrum & in the way of Kanynakumari/poovar route.
Best time to visit:
I guess the best season to experience the full stuffs is from oct to jan,
where they offer many sports activities.
We went in august which was not all that great season,the beach tides was tough,so we didnt get any chance to experience a water sport.
Staffs service:
Staffs are good,but only few understands English well..
Food:
food was served hot,fresh and tasty with all premium rates,
but we got to wait for its preparation for a long time.U can have a good time viewing the sea from dinning hall.
Rooms:
We opted Superior Deluxe villas,it was good with
great view of sea.Nice to see the sea and experience the
waves sound all time sitting @ seabeds/hammrock/sundeck provided.
TV was very small..hardy we could see much from that!!Bathroom was very normal.
Only advantage here with this villa was the sea view!
Faclities:
--They had good swimming pool,but the cholorine level was little more when we had a swim.
--Yoga and ayurvedic is the main stuffs ppl go there..
--Each room had sea beds n hammrock
--Have sea very near,we can enjoy playying in that,but not many were in water as per my knowledge.Local people were present in the sea shore!!
--Cocunut tress alround make the environment very pleasure.
--They arrange many sightseeing trips at reasonable rates,but opt your own means if you want the to and fro communication to the resort!
--They offer sports activities in normal low tides period,we missed to experience them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed here for 1 -night on our way to Kanyakumari. Resort is right on the beach.... peaceful location, kid enjoyed beach n swimming pool. We even used ayurveda message facilities which were good. We found staff professional, helpful and friendly. Food served at restaurant is simple but good.

Everything great apart from it is bit pricey but I feel still worth paying that extra for facilities. Importantly I notice it is mainly occupied by Swiss/German tourist who has come over for long stay of ayurveda treatment etc.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sant0sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haibach ob der Donau, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

after having 2 years ayurveda treatments in other Kerala hotel (beach and lake) which were also quite good places this one is fairly the best.
very friendly personal, very good restaurant according to our treatment, very clean resort and rooms,
very nice swimming pool and also mostly clean sea to swim.
and over all perfect ayurveda treatment, doctors and therapists.
and friendly guests ( mostly from Europe).
only minus was the position of our room just beside entrance which results in noisy nights when guest arriving departing.
our next stay is Dec/Jan 2010 and we already chose rooms away from entrance - will be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lothar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haibach ob der Donau, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

phantastic hotel, perfect food, perfect service, perfect Ayurveda treatment, very good rooms.
good swimming in sea and pool.
only minus was some noisy nights because our room was next to entrance and street. next time we will take room on the other end of area.
perfect for Avurveda treatment not just for tourist visit for it is miles away from and life.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lothar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
1.8 km away
Thapovan Heritage Home
Thapovan Heritage Home
#16 of 51 in Kovalam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
11.6 km away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#2 of 3 in Puvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.3 km away
Travancore Heritage
Travancore Heritage
#1 of 3 in Chowara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
29.0 km away
Palmleaves Beach Resort
Palmleaves Beach Resort
#36 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.6 km away
Paradise Gardens Beach Resort & Ayurveda
Paradise Gardens Beach Resort & ...
#19 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Bay Beach Resort
Address: Mulloor PO | Vizhinjam, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Beach Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Coconut Bay Beach Resort India/Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing