We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Backwater and Sea...

The beach is very serene and less crowded.the approach road is also very beautiful with backwater... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ominir
,
Bengaluru, India
very beautiful beach with lake

it is different from other beaches in India because here both side of beach road having water, one... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
sushant19
,
Bhilai, India
via mobile
Read all 62 reviews
  
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
21
26
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
26
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow strip of sand bumper ride banana ride boating facility scenic beauty meeting point must visit place coconut trees backwaters sea boulders beach shore rafting bridge parasailing coastline
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 62 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2018

There is a small lake on one side and the beach on the other. There is some sand where you can walk on in between the 2 water bodies, Nothing excellent about this place. There are a lot of trees and bushed and you can see local couples spending time behind each one of them. We were not allowed to enter the water when we went. So, this is a scenic place worth spending like 30 minutes, but do not expect anything great.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank RakshithTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Kappil is some ten kilometer North of Varkala and we walked there along the coast from our guest house (which was half way between the two). So we saw actually the entire beach starting from some small fishermen huts at the Southern end, leading along the backwaters up to the vilage of Kappil itself.

The beach is unusually clean, quiet and beautiful. We were able to watch many crabs running around, a few birds and had a very warm impression. Ah, it is also very hot there but a few trees toward the backwater provide shadow. We even thought of coming back for a picknic.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

The beach is accessible all year round and almost empty most of the time. Make sure to visit Sandy Toes Beach Cafe where you can get delicious food and juice and stay to relax in their hammocks. The Cafe is located in front of both the lake and the beach so this is also the easiest way to reach the beach rather than when you cross the bridge which requires you to walk along the boulders before you reach the beach. You can enjoy this peaceful and quiet beach by the ocean or go for a swim in the lake. Perfect place to spend the day in such a peaceful environment. You can also rent an umbrella at the Cafe to get some shade on the beach.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Sanna362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

This is not a review of Kappil beach, but a review of the organization Swim Adventure Water Club, a wonderful place just beside Kappil beach. We were visiting Kappil beach in the hot morning time, and casually enquired about the facilities seeing the entrance of this place. They offer various water activities, at quite an affordable rate, I would say. We opted for the banana ride and the bumper ride. Rates 350 INR per ride per person as on February 2018. Other options included kayaking, rafting, parasailing, water skiing, etc. They provide complete swimming costume for both genders, at no extra cost, so extra dresses are not needed. Even after the rides were over, we spent a lot of time at the place swinging at the hammock or swimming casually at the backwater. They provide proper life-jacket, and anyone can jump into water without any prior swimming knowledge. The backwater was a cool place even under the sun and was feeling wonderful to spend time there. The proprietor Mr. Arun, and ride guides Mr. Ajit and Mr. Anshu, were all extremely helpful and friendly. The warm behavior from the hosts made us feel at-home very much and welcoming at the place. As in February 2018, they do not serve food, but they are constructing a rest house there, for proper accommodation and food options. They said it would be operational in next six months. We visited as a couple, it was a complete enjoyment. Highly recommended for families as well.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank SujoyS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

One of the best experience coz the crowd is minimum. When we went there there was only one group.. and after few minutes we wr all alone.. it feels magical when you are all alone in the coast line.. you can only here sound of the waves..n its so awesome.. it is a must visit place..

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Onika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews