We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Having intended to stay elsewhere, we were swayed by Palm Tree Heritage because of the offer of air conditioning in the rooms. It was the best decision we made all trip. The rooms were lovely (if a little eccentric), each one with a veranda and view of the beautiful little beach which we shared with the local fishermen and their nets.
The staff were all so charming, friendly and relaxed and we had a very happy time. I would recommend Palm Tree to anyone.
Thanks to all!
Katie & Daisy

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    192
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
260
334
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The staff made sure that the stay was great, I would have preferred if the food was more authentic Kerala cuisine.

Room Tip: Stay at the main property it is more relaxed and complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vysakh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Some hotels have people, who make your trip worthwhile and are always in your memory. Palm Tree Heritage has such people named Babu, the owner and Gopal, the manager; they can recommend you the best things to do for a wonderful vacation. Their abundant knowledge in the hotel industry helps you to take decisions easily.

First of all a great work by Antilogvacations.com in conducting such a fabulous tour at very good rates.They have done their reputation no harm as being the best for Kerala tours.We booked from them only 3 days before the entire journey and they managed it very well indeed

The Palm Tree Heritage is located right on the odayam beach, with only 07 rooms which are clean, spacious and luxurious and good air conditioners. The carved design on the doors is unique with traditional Indian carved furniture .The breakfast served here had lots of fresh fruits and variety of south Indian dishes.

The fish food at the restaurant is not to be missed as the fisherman is right in the restaurant, after his fresh catch. The kitchen staff calls you to select your choice of fish for dinner. The dinner is also set especially right on the beach with candle light dinner and the sea at your feet.
The beach is cleaned by the hotel staff and is not at all crowded and has minimum of hawkers, as compared to the other neighboring beaches. Swimming in the sea can sometimes be very rough, so it is better to enjoy the sun at the private beachside.

The North cliff a busy place is located at just a ten minutes walk from the hotel, where you have nice restaurants and can also enjoy shopping of local items.

For a business traveler, there might be some negative points like there is no internet available in the rooms and the one available in the restaurant is very slow. The rooms are pricey, so the resort should look into the internet issues at the earliest. Also there were power cuts and some disturbing noises at odd hours from the loud speakers installed in the mosque nearby. But these can be ignored.

Overall this is a nice place to stay in Varkala; stay assured of a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kartik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

After travelling 22hrs we arrived tired but was instantly revitalised by the warm and friendly welcome given to us by the manager Babu and his wonderful team.The location is quite idylic and peaceful with it's secluded beach, which you share with the local fishermen,who land their catch each morning inviting you to lend a hand,quite authentic.Our room was very light and spacious,well furnished with traditional heritage furniture wonderfully carved and squeaky clean thanks to the excellent housekeepers.The veranda overlooked the beach just steps away.The food was excellent,always freshly cooked to order at a time to suit you,no hotel set times.Dinner at night could be served candlelit on the beach under a canopy stars,quite romantic,enjoying some amazing fish dishes freshly caught that morning.If you want to tour Babu is your man,he organised everything,including a magical stay on the backwater houseboat ,a must.All in all our stay at the Palm Tree was superb thanks to the service we received from Babu and his wonderful crew.We will certainly stay again as it will be like visiting old friends.We would strongly recommend the Palm Tree,it will not dissappoint.

Room Tip: Go for the superior beach view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank You Nigel for your good and heartful review.We are also very delightful when we saw you are always very satisfied and pleasant to be here with us.We hope you people enjoyed the tour package also done and our staffs really miss the people like you here always.Your good and nice support and character really impressed us alot here.Thats why we staffs will miss the tourists like you because for a while these kind of good characters never will go from our minds.We will make our services more better and will bring also so many new services in the next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

After reading great reviews about Palm Tree we booked our stay for the second half of our first trip to India. As I continued to research our stay, it was evident that the Palm Tree was going to be a wonderful experience.

The property has a very relaxed feeling and just steps from a beach. The included breakfast was always delicious as were the lunches and dinners we had there. All employees were extremely polite and were willing to assist us with airline tickets, cabs, massages, and excursions.

There are scattered beaches outside the property which sit neatly between cliffs overlooking the surf and sea. It is all very beautiful and relaxing. This is truly a place where you could spend a large amount of time and do as much or as little as you want.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for rest and relaxation and appreciates food made fresh on a daily basis with a staff who become friends during the course of your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'bungalow' part of the property which is shown in the property's promot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your beautiful review you had shared here with others.We are glad to know that you have experienced a very good service by our staffs and they always wish the kind of encouragement that you people are providing by sharing your experiences with others.we are expecting you people again in our little paradise to be a part of our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We cannot recommend this place highly enough. We stayed in the annex which provides bed and breakfast. We had a beautiful sea view and the room it's self was spotlessly clean. Babu and his extremely helpful and efficient staff, went out of their way to accommodate our every need. It's a welcome peaceful alternative to busy Varkella. Days can be spent in peace and quiet relaxing on the beach and eating and drinking in Babu's restaurant. The food will not disappoint as there is a comprehensive menu for vegetarian and meat eaters. fresh fish is there speciality. There are rooms to suit all budgets and all are well maintained.
Nick and Lorraine ( London)

Room Tip: Go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for writing your nice and pleasant experience you had with us in our palmtree.We are also glad to you all like we have met so many nice and polite guests in our property.Your nice and satisfied experiences makes us to do more and improve our experiences for you in the future also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

It was my first, relatively short, trip to India. As an American woman traveling alone, I was quite discerning in my choice of accomodation across South India from Chennai to Kerala - ending with a short stay at the Palm Tree Heritage. I arrived from a houseboat trip in the backwaters, and was very impressed with the size and quality of the room - which was beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, and had a HUGE bathroom with a shower and big tub. No TV in the room, but I had no interest in watching TV so that didn't bother me, and that was consistent for the heritage properties I stayed at in other parts of India.

The hotel itself oozes with romantic charm. But it's little - compared with the other hotels I'd stayed in. But small, in this case, is definitely better. Also, compared to the other large luxury hotels I'd booked in Chennai, Madurai, and Thikkady, this place is way more low-key and understated. No Uniformed bellmen and white gloved, but awkward, formal service here. The grounds are also less formal than other places, but are profoundly beautiful and in harmony with the surrounding beaches.

My other experiences in fine hotels in India is that you get walled off from the outside world. That's not true at the Palm Tree either. The beach is a kind of thoroughfare for local folks and tourists alike, and it's a working fishing beach.

As other posters have noted, it's the staff here that really make the experience special. Especially because I was traveling alone, I really appreciated getting to know Babu, who runs the place, the guys who work here (doing everything from bringing you a cup of tea to carrying your bag, to calling you a rickshaw, to cashing your travelers checks, to?) and the sweet ladies who take care of the rooms and grounds.

One night very late, I got very ill. Finding Babu in the office, he made sure I was well taken care of- sending me to the local hospital with a staff member (Jackson) and rickshaw driver to help me (and hold my hand while I was given shots and an IV). Jackson stayed with me in the hospital all night and got me back to the hotel in the morning. After that, everyone treated me with extreme kindness and te kind of care you'd expect from a pack of big brothers. Babu fixed up my, now destroyed, travel schedule and got me safely back to the states. But, here's the thing, they kept me smiling and laughing the whole time - turning a scary and otherwise terrible experience into one of the most memorable (in a good way) travel experiences of my life. Now that's REAL luxury! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AubreyBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you Aubrey that you have shared your good experiences that you had here and it gives pleasure to all our staffs and they really miss your innocence and kind behaviour that you have also showed them.We are always give our prime consideration to humanity and its equal to everyone and for our guests we are always awake here to help them in all way.If your tears and sadness will fall on our property its a curse for us and we will always try to give happiness to everyone and spread smiles in everyface.We are also got sad when u got ill here but after we did see the smiles on your face it has given more and more pleasure to us.So many people miss you and your nice manner you have spent with us.take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
2.2 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
2.1 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 47 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.4 km away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 47 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 47 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.5 km away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing