We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Bay Cliff is located on the Varkala Cliff with a good view of the horizon. This place offers a comfortable stay and is away from the Varkala town. Its an ideal getaway for a relaxing holiday, to laze around and do nothing. There is no in house Restaurant so food has to be ordered from outside. There are no nearby eat-outs as well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank viveksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2017

Don't get it wrong - the "Cottages" mean exactly two cottages at the time of writing it. The third one is just being built. This means you need to book ahead in season. Take the cottage further from the gate as it has much better view towards the garden with palm trees and the sea seen from the cliff. The cottage itself is a treat, it's really large with huge bed on eleveated floor and the bathroom size is a record on its own. It's got everything you need - aircon, wifi, fridge, kettle, amenities, not to mention delicious local breakfast. It's little bit off the beaten track and you need around 20 min to walk to main Varkala beach. The host, Jasar, is super-friendly and will help you with everything you may need. Just next to this spot there is Samsara resort where you can have a good and quiet dinner just on the seashore.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay at Bay Cliff Cottages over Christmas and ended up staying at the cottage for 10 days. It was wonderful! The cottages are to the north of Varkala cliff which is perfect for escaping the busy bars and restaurants. Jasar and the caretaker were very helpful and organised a scooter for us as soon as we arrived which I would definitely recommend for going to and from the beach. You can also get a tuk tuk and book through them. Every morning we were served traditional Indian breakfasts, our favourite being the curried eggs, but you can have a western breakfast if you'd prefer. The location of he cottages is stunning and we spend many hours relaxing in the hammocks enjoying the peace and quiet. I definitely recommend staying here!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank VerityM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016

2 big rooms in a property that is currently undergoing work for expansion, we probably had an expectation mismatch. The cook was on leave and we had to order food from outside and have it delivered. Go here if you want super rustic - great location but otherwise not everyone's idea of a holiday hotel (I wouldnt call it a resort by a mile)

Stayed: June 2016
3  Thank Menaka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasarHakeem, Owner at Bay Cliff Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

I am really sorry to know it was disappointing. Firstly, as a guest it is your responsibility to know very well about the character of any property before choosing to stay in it. It is very unfortunate that you misunderstood my property rather wanted to cancel your stay on arrival after booking it well in advance & demanded full refund. In that case I still manage to give you very reasonable refund when you demanded it whereas the cancellation policy was very strict & you would not have got any refund at all. It is very strange that you cannot distinguish between a room & a cottage. Secondly you were lying that work was going on during your stay. We are in the process of progressive expansion which was done without causing any inconvenience to our guests & all sorts work was suspended during your stay & it would be the case with any other guests. Thirdly you booked my property on booking.com & it clearly mentioned everything in detail of my property & it was not a resort but a boutique property with 2 cottages. And you may also refer to property website for the same. Any ways I am sorry about your review. Wishing you all the very best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

A lovely place to stay! We booked three nights, but extended for a fourth, and would have stayed longer, if the place had been available longer! The bungalows are clean and neat, everything worked very well. We were served delicious Kerala breakfast, and the landlord, Jasar, took very well care of us. He arranged for a free pick up at the station, is helpful and very nice, and made us feel very welcome.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank KjerstinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasarHakeem, Owner at Bay Cliff Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Kjerstin,
It was really pleasure meeting & hosting you. And my sincere thanks to you for staying with me & writing such an excellent review. I am really glad to know that you had such a nice little vacation staying with us. You are always welcome back any time. Wishing you all the very best. Warm regards...Jasar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews