We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Special!”
Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Serai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2017

You will love the experience at The Serai. It is a world of tents...but luxurious and old-world...and delicious food and wonderful service, and good activities to keep you interested. We were there for two nights. One night is not enough.
Don't miss bird-watching in the early morning with their highly informed guide and the Sundowner at dusk...a camel ride in the semi-arid desert where you end up with champagne and snacks to watch the sunset. Very cool.
This place gets A for drama and romance. We loved it.
From here you can visit Jaisalmer, which is a about 1 hr away, and worth the trip. The fort is really interesting because people actually live in it now. And we were lucky enough to catch the Desert Festival, with camel parades and exercises....truly exotic.

Room Tip: We had a tent without the plunge pool, as the weather was cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X3279UHtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear X3279UHtoms

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Serai, Jaisalmer.

We are delighted to read your enthusiastic compliments about your stay, the food, and our the different activities on offer. We are happy you got to experience the different excursions like the fort, the sundowners and bird watching.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to SUJÁN in the near future.

Please keep in touch via our social media channels.
With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017

The place is extremely well managed and maintained.
Tents are amazing, specially the ones with the Jacuzzi.
Food and the service are both exceedingly good.
Evening setup for bonfire and dinner is simply out of the world.

Room Tip: the tents with the Jacuzzi are really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Vinay2015,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us at The Serai, Jaisalmer.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay and found the food and dining set ups to be "out of this world".

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Serai one day or indeed to one of our other properties.

Do keep in touch via our social media channels.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We loved the Serai and would recommend it to anyone looking for a high end Thar desert experience. Our night there was easily one of the highlights of our many trips to India over the last 30 years. The tents are wonderful and the desert setting magnificent. We were also impressed with all of the staff, including Manesh, Pallev and Megh. We felt welcomed and well cared for. Highly recommended, without hesitation.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear WLand,

Thank you for posting your experience at The Serai, Jaisalmer on TripAdvisor regarding you stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you felt your stay to easily be one of the highlight of your many trips to India over the last 30 years.

We are delighted that you were so delighted with your tent, and with our team who looked after you so well, we will surely pass on our compliments to them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Serai one day or indeed to one of our other properties.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The Serai is a desert dream: located far from any other desert camps, it is beautifully austere. The tents are luxurious, with bath and some have their own plunge pools. The staff is eager to please and the excursions are wonderful. We took the sundowner trip through the desert--we took a jeep tour first, followed by a camel ride, and a show stopper conclusion: we arrived on camel back to our own secluded dune where a porter was waiting with champaigne and two chairs for us to watch the sunset. The evening ended at a campfire and dinner. Our cabin was wonderfully heated for the cold desert night. Our night at the Serai was a highlight of our trip and I recommend it thoroughly to anyone who wants a memorable splurge.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a plunge pool--you will enjoy it. The main pool is frigid and the plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chipper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Chipper63

First of all we would thank you for choosing The Serai among the many hotels in Jaisalmer. In our home here in the desert, romance and splendour can be experienced in this wilderness setting with whimsical touches.

We were delighted you enjoyed the camp and the experiences of offer such as the dune sundowner. We spare no efforts on a daily basis to have truly personal attentions for each of our guests, making ours the key values of Relais & Châteaux that are authenticity, generosity and sharing our very own 'Art of Living'.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in a near future to SUJÁN.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Not only a stunning resort, the staff here are beyond helpful. Each tent is tastefully furnished and scrupulously clean. The food is varied so there's something for everyone. I loved The Serai. Put it in your list!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear Karen H,

Thank you for posting your experience at The Serai, Jaisalmer on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your enthusiastic compliments about your stay, the food, and our team. It is always greatly appreciated when our guests mention our team and the service, so thank you for your comments. We are certainly fortunate to have such a passionate and dedicated team of hoteliers and restaurateurs who go out of their way to ensure that guests feel special.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to SUJÁN in the near future.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Enough praise cannot be given for this "once in a lifetime" like experience. From the spacious and luxury tents filled with beautiful furniture and decor as if art directored for a film, to the overly courteous and helpful staff, to the lavish experiences they tailor for you, to the quiet and serene Thar desert setting, Serai makes you feel like a maharajah and maharani. You must do the private dune dinner. The torch lit setting (20 mins from the property) with your own chef and staff of 5 including your personal flute player plus the culinary delights is an unforgettable experience. The "sundowner" is also a great couple of hours spent in your own luxury jeep as you drive through the desert, see wildlife, ride a camel and then end with drinks in the middle of the desert with your butler, lounge chairs, snacks and champagne. If you are a fan of brands like Mandarin Oriental, Four Seasons, St. Regis, the Serai (part of Relais Chateau) will not disappoint.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mayumi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Mayumi T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Serai, Jaisalmer. We were so happy to read that found it to be a "once in lifetime experience" We are also really happy to learn you found our team courteous and helpful and that you enjoyed two our our private dining experiences.

The dune sundowner is certainly a favourite! We do hope to welcome you back to The Serai or indeed to any of our other SUJÁN properties in the not too distant future.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

From the moment you are greeted at the door, you are in another world. The desert surroundings only enhance the sumptuous accomodation, simple tents they are not. The staff are extremely helpful, going to great lengths to find warm clothing for me after my suitcase was lost by airline staff and ensuring I had enerything I needed. Manish the Manager heads up a friendly team, Monica is charming and very helpful in the boutique. As well as a tour to the Fort a must is the fantastic "Sundowners" experience, Pallav our guide and Mr Singh the driver, gave us something we will long remember. A custom made jeep took us on an exhilarating ride thru the desert pointing out the birds and wildlife, including wild antelope. Then meeting up with our camels we rode thru the dunes to a perfect position to sip champagne whilst watching the sunset. It was perfection and will be long remembered by us.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LORRIC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
49.3 km away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#4 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,294 reviews
37.2 km away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
36.1 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 113 in Jaisalmer
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.8 km away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#2 of 282 in Jaisalmer
460 reviews
65.7 km away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#7 of 282 in Jaisalmer
445 reviews
77 km away
Jaisalmer Desert Camp
Jaisalmer Desert Camp
#9 of 282 in Jaisalmer
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Address: Bherwa | Chandan, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 282 Speciality Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $992 - $1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Serai 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury desert camp and spa, The Serai has 21 large canvas tents set on a hundred acre estate of indigenous desert scrub in the Great Thar Desert. The Serai spa is the new Indian jewel in the global crown of spa company Raison d’Etre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing