We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitomy of kindness and generosity in an incredible setting!”
Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Serai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

The Serai is perhaps what some would call a hotel. However, to me, it was truly a home away from home.
We arrived late in the evening. It was a long journey across Rajasthan. However, nearby Jaisalmer and the Thar Desert are some of the most incredibly unspoiled wonders of our world. Therefore, I would wholeheartedly encourage anyone to travel to Jaisalmer. Once we stepped out of our car, we immediately felt the warmth of the Desert. In Jaisalmer, the sky is lit with thousands of stars. The general manager welcomed us immediately. He is simply one of the most generous and kind people I have met. He is also extremely proud of his camp and of the many staff members who help him make the Serai a wonderful place to stay.
The camp is laid well with a small number of private tents. First, off the motor court are the main tents which house the lobby area, the restaurant and the bar/lounge/library. All are furnished with colonial pieces as well as local decorative objects. Passed the main tents is an incredibly large courtyard with in-ground canals. Although not destined for one function specifically, the courtyard is used for functions of all types. Then, one will find a raised pavilion onto which the pool is perched. The pool deck is ideal for sunbathing while gazing at nature. Below the pool deck are the shop and the bathroom/changing area.
From the pool one path leads to the spa, another to the private tents. The spa is a beautiful place centered around a courtyard. The massages are exceptionally healing. Our masseur, a kind and discreet man, came to escort us from our tent to the spa at every scheduled treatment session, with an umbrella to veil us from the scorching sun!
The tents are very large. One enters through an outdoor seating area into a space that serves as a reading/writing nook. It is appointed very nicely and jars of local delicacies are replenished throughout the day. The bedroom is located in the center of each tent. The beds are soft and plush. Bottled water is being constantly provided. In a large ice chest, other drinks are available for purchase. A well concealed cooling unit maintains a comfortable temperature in the bedroom area at all times. The bathroom offers a very very large shower built of local stone. The amenities are exceptional. The organic soap, shampoo and conditioner are divine and dispensed very generously. Last but not least, in the enclosed courtyard, at the rear of our tent, is a private spa of very good proportions. It was warm of course, being in the desert.
The Serai is simply an experience. For instance, the general manager gave us a private tour of the herb garden the hotel maintains. In fact, many of the ingredients used in the cooking are farmed on the property. Dinner is quite a show at the Serai. The venue is ever changing. One evening it is served pool side, while the next, it may take place in the courtyard. The objective is to always create a memorable experience for the guests. In fact, everyone who stays at the Serai feels right at home. The staff is constantly available and always glad to have a conversation about local traditions or to discuss any other topic of interest. It is perhaps the service at the Serai that exceeds all expectations. I felt as if I had known most of the people there for years, while we had just met. I find it remarkable that after only three short days, it became very difficult to say goodbye... we were truly touched...

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jerome1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Jerome,

What a wonderful review to read. Thank you from us all for your detailed feedback and report of your stay with us at SUJÁN The Serai. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and for us to be able to share some of our magic with you.

Home away from home- is what we set out to provide for people travelling to India. Our properties our an extension of the SUJÁN home and we are so happy that you felt this.

Your kind words and compliments will most certainly touch the entire team at The Serai who very much enjoyed making your stay unforgettable.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Jaisalmer and indeed you must come and experience some of the other SUJÁN properties and meet the rest of the team ready to share new experiences with you.

With love and do keep in touch,
The SUJÁN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Stayed 3 nights in october ,it was amazing. The tents take glamping to a whole new level.pure luxury in a tent. The place is so peaceful and the staff fronted by the manager and his wife are super,nothing is to much trouble, even when on the 3rd night we wanted something not on the menu. Every evening you are seated in a different location around the camp so it feels just like your alone superb. The birthday cake for my husband was super and a really nice touch. We thought about booking a tent with plunge pool but decided not and it mattered not,as every day there were only the 4 of us at the main pool. The spa was relaxing,and the sundowner on the camel a must do. We also went to a local village and an early walk around the farm so relaxing and everyone so friendly could have easily stayed a nother night.

Room Tip: All tents are great and spread around nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ralphy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Serai, Jaisalmer.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourselves- it was wonderful for us that you chose to celebrate your husbands birthday with us at SUJÁN. You seemed to enjoy lots of the different aspects of camp life and some of the experiences on offer.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to SUJÁN in the near future so please do come and see us again soon.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Stunning property, amazing food, flawless service and attention to detail. My husband and i were here for 3 nights, we celebrated a special occasion and we couldn't have picked a better location or hotel. We've been recommending it to friends and family ever since. If you're celebrating a special occasion and/or would like to have a truly special experience, I'd recommend requesting the hotel to set up a private dinner on the dunes. It was an unforgettable experience, music, stars, delicious food and unparalleled service.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MalavikaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear MalavikaS2,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Serai. We are so pleased to learn you that you found our camp stunning and the food, service and attention to detail "flawless".

When celebrating a special occasion there is nothing better than being alone in the wilderness enjoying the sounds and beauty of nature. It is wonderful to learn that you had such an unforgettable experience and we very much hope to welcome you back to The Serai or indeed one of our other SUJÁN properties soon.

With love,
The SUJAN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Apart from the road journey to The Serai (the roads are appalling - hours of roadworks) this was indeed 'an oasis in the desert'! Beautifully designed to blend into the sandy surroundings, the tents are well spaced and we had a pool suite right on the edge of the resort - there was an amazing thunderstorm the last night with more rain than I can ever remember and we stayed dry, despite the roof sagging down! In the evening the setting is magical with lanterns around the main courtyard. The only downside is the price of food and drink, but it is a top luxury location.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank safarigirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Safarigirl68,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Serai, Jaisalmer. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope you will come and visit us again when you are next in India and of course we would love to welcome you to any of our other SUJÁN properties in the future.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This is a terrific place to stay while visiting Jaisalmer. It is beautifully laid out and they take endless trouble to provide an excellent service. There is so much attention to detail and at night, it is the prettiest place to be in the middle of a desert. The massage in the Spa was second to none, the waiters so helpful - one took us to their organic garden to show what we were eating in our delicious meals. We were able to thank the cows that provided the milk and curd. There are many birds and we were entertained by a flock of bee eaters, bulbuls and swallows dipping into the swimming pool to cool down and take a drink in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hartswoodblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Hartswoodblack,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful posting on TripAdvisor, it encourages us to keep doing what we love.

Excellent service and attention to detail for us is ultra-important at every level. For you to mention this and that you found The Serai to be the "prettiest place to be in the middle of a desert" make us very happy.

We are so pleased you were able to experience the Spa and have a wonderful treatment and also make a visit to the organic gardens and the farm, it is lovely to see where all the produce we serve you actually comes from!

We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Beautiful property, A+ service, great spa and infinity pool. We opted to take the camel excursion, which in my opinion is worth the money as they take you out to a secluded area, set up champagne and snacks and you are taken by camel through the small dunes. The only downfall of this was the boys that were leading the camels were very unfriendly, didn't smile, nor did they speak english. It would have been nice to have a more personable guide and someone to answer our questions.
We also enjoyed a night by fire, where we were provided blankets to keep us warm and every so often a waiter would come out to top up our drinks- it was lovely.
My favorite part of our one night stay was returning to bed to find a his/hers hot water bottle tucked into our beds for a good nights sleep. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed life at the property.

We have made a note of your comments about the camel experience and will follow this up.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon and we would be delighted to welcome you to one of our other properties.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The Serai Jaisalmer is full of surprises!! The property is 'in the mid of nowhere', but had everything you expect from a five star resort and beyond! The staff were Super friendly, the resort itself was amazing, Camel ride and dinner are highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VvFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear VvFox,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful posting on TripAdvisor, it encourages us to keep doing what we love.

We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
49.3 km away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#4 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,292 reviews
37.2 km away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
36.1 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 113 in Jaisalmer
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.8 km away
Damodra Desert Camp
Damodra Desert Camp
#2 of 282 in Jaisalmer
460 reviews
65.7 km away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#7 of 282 in Jaisalmer
445 reviews
71.1 km away
Le Royal Camps
Le Royal Camps
#34 of 282 in Jaisalmer
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Address: Bherwa | Chandan, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 282 Speciality Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $988 - $1,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Serai 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury desert camp and spa, The Serai has 21 large canvas tents set on a hundred acre estate of indigenous desert scrub in the Great Thar Desert. The Serai spa is the new Indian jewel in the global crown of spa company Raison d’Etre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing