We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Suryagarh(Jaisalmer)
US$115
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gulaal(Jaisalmer)
US$65
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pleasant Haveli(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
US$20
US$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$20/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
US$17
US$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorbandh Palace(Jaisalmer)
US$36
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal Haveli(Jaisalmer)(Great Value!)
US$21
US$12
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$14/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
134
15
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
15
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbush dinnerorganic gardensun downerluxury tentsmain poolsunset dunetented resortcamel ridemanaged propertyunparalleled servicesher baghspa services aredemoiselle cranesgreat spahuge bedroomorganic vegetables
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 154 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Arrived here after a very long drive from Bikaner – 200 odd miles, so not that far, but due to the quality of the roads, the amount of dust, the intense heavy vehicle traffic & the preponderance of livestock made it somewhat tedious. The exception or highlight was a fabulous interlude, where we stopped at a well-known village to see the ‘Demoiselle Cranes’.

Where exactly – No idea. Turned left about 3 hours out of Bikaner, down a narrow lane in midst of a busy village/town and then veered in and around a tiny village to the Lake – Ask your guide. It seemed a well-known spot. See picture. They are stunning and this is a worthwhile stop for 20 mins or so.

When we found our first 'The Serai' sign (on the left, heading towards Jaisalmer) we were delighted and relieved. Prematurely, as there was still miles to go and we were now on open dusty dirt roads - we really felt we had arrived in the Thar Desert.

The Serai is related to Sherbagh (or is it ‘Sher Bagh’) in Ranthambore (or at least owned by the same Folks/Firm – Sujan, I think), and it is ‘Relais & Chateaux’ so we expected good things. Checked-in and went to view our Room (sorry – Tent). Everything is tented here – Reception, Lounge, Dining Room, Bar, across the way around the elevated pool were 4 Tents (awnings or gazebo’s might perhaps be better words), and then beyond were the Tents, pleasingly not too close to each other in a kind of horse-shoe arrangement – 21 in all.

Ours (number 8) was a Luxury Tented Suite (as opposed to ‘Royal Tented’ or simply ‘Tented’. Fourteen of the latter, Only one Royal and six of the Luxury. Ours had an outdoor patio area, then inside - living room area with desk etc, a huge bedroom (double bed, dressers, bedside table, headboard, AC / Heater, safe), ditto twin-sink bathroom, and then the differentiator to the ‘Tented’ was an outside (open to the sky) plunge pool, in your own very private and secluded wallgarden.

It was mid-March so we needed the AC during the day, big time. Funnily enough for a Desert location where it had not rained in goodness knows who long, we had a thunder storm. Serious and very dramatic with heavy rain for several hours – we could have done with more robust defense than our canvas tent – it leaked & not just through holes. That is how hard it rained.

Food good/very good, yet nothing extraordinary. Wine - OK, but a tad expensive. Service excellent. Drinks and Bar service excellent, if again, a tad pricey, but that’s not the staff’s fault. Breakfast was super with a good series of options including cooked-to-order. Dinner was the best, due largely to the location changes - we had several, incl. poolside with candles, around their quadrangle of water channels – again with candles or lanterns. Very photogenic/romantic. Delightful temperature change from the heat of the day too

Whole place was super quiet – guess that’s what you get from being 'remote' or in the 'middle-of-nowhere' or 'lost in the Thar Desert'.

Now that actually brings me on to the only real negative – Remoteness has it drawbacks, if you like being busy or want to do something. We arrived late and collapsed with a cold beer and dinner on the first night. Day 2 was a long visit to Jaisalmer (getting there and back and long trudge while there, getting around, up, down and back to the car), Day 3 we did a Bird Walk, then zilch – chilled-out, but we were not offered much of an alternative either. No Camel Ride. No Photo Safari. Our Driver offered to take us wherever we wished to go, but in the end we realised that the only option was a repeat visit to Jaislamer – naah !

It poured that night (and how) and well into the following morning, when we checked-out and left.

How long you stay here is therefore worth a careful think. Visit to Jaislamer is a whole day visit – and a long one too. The alternative in our experience was chill-out and relax. There did not appear too many other choices.

It is a darned long and very tiring way to come to relax and put your feet up.

We were visiting in mid-March and Temps hit 40+C, so we were at the extreme edge (end) of their season, and that in itself was also beginning to show – ‘Holidays’, ‘Going Home’ and ‘Days off’ loomed large in everybody’s eyes. Not blaming you – just saying. May also explain why our Bird Walk was kind of quiet – too hot for many and many more had migrated North already.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

It is a beautiful resort in the desert. The 5* tents are unbelievable and we were upgraded to a tent with a small private pool. The service is exceptional.
Breakfast is excellent and the spa services are high class.

But:
The food at dinner was disappointing. (Again the set up and service were amazing)

In the neighboring tents there were on one side a family with small kids and on the other side 4 guys. Both of them were noisy and we could not enjoy the tranquility of the desert, or to sleep late in the morning.

The resort has to offer more things to do like yoga or bike riding. In addition there are no places to sit and enjoy the nature.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank IamZozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear Guest,

Wishing you a very Happy New Year. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Serai. We are so glad we were able to share some of our magical experiences with you and that you found the service to be expectional.

We are sorry to hear that you found the food at dinner disappointing. We do hope you were able to communicate this to our chefs at the time who would have been more than happy to make you something else.

As for the noise, we are sorry to learn this, had this been communicated, subject to availability our management would have been more than happy to move you.

We have a brand new yoga deck and yoga classes available at camp. This information is placed in all guest tents and can be booked through the front office. There are a number of other carefully curated activities and excursions available at The Serai, all of which are listed on our website and in the in room compendium.

We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile


Everything about The Serai, Jaisalmer, is extraordinarily good. All the members of the property are awesome as both individuals and professionals, and only because of their awesomeness can they provide such remarkable services to their guests.

Mr. Prodyut Chatterjee, the General Manager of The Serai is incredible. The way he interacts with his team members/ staff and guests most likely contribute to his attributions of being great and likeable. He makes sure that all his guests are treated with utmost care and dignity. He, is kind and cordial as well, a true leader who inspires everyone to excel in their respective field/ department and as individuals. He’s passionate about his work, he is dynamic and courageous to improvise and make a difference. He’s a gem.

Mrs Devika, Front Office Manager and Mr. Pallav Pahuja, Field Representative are peerless and kind. When guests arrive at the hotel, they only get a few minutes to make a great first impression and it's effortlessly impressive.

F&B manager Mr. Sanjai Kapri, and from the F&B and housekeeping Mr. Manish, Mr. Tambal, Mr.Umed, Mr.Jog, Mr. Narayan are brilliant and hard working.

I appreciate the extra mile they all rendered in offering to assist me with everything I needed.

Chef Rawal Singh, Chef Rahul,Chef Narpat with a sublime team are mind blowing with their culinary skills. They are like the sergeant of the army. Thank you all for all the yummylicious food prepared.

All the hospitality professionals I have mentioned set the tone of the entire experience that the guests will get from their stay. They pamper and make sure their guests are always in the lap of luxury and comfort during their stay at The Serai. My stay was a rejuvenating one because of these super amazing people. Their hard work and dedication is noteworthy. I appreciate the warm hospitality I received from their end . So much of affection showered on me made me feel at home. Thanks a ton :)) they gave me all the reasons to extend my stay at The Serai.

The horticulture manager , gardeners are fantastic in propagation of plants , organic vegetables, breeding & caring who supervise day to day landscape operation and fauna. Peacocks and a variety of migratory birds, cows and hens are there in the farm within the property.

Very kind and efficient security guards, the chauffeur, Ram Singhji who drove me for a sundowner was fantastic.

Also, thanks to everyone whose names I must have forgotten to mention for making my stay a memorable, safe, happy and amazing one.

Spa therapists Livon and Laxmi are skilful and warm.

All of the above mentioned names are emphatetic and caring, willing to go above and beyond, they have the ability to anticipate their guests' needs, they remain calm and composed at all situations,knowledgable ( can strike meaningful conversations), resourceful, energetic, hard working and dedicated, and they all manage to do this non stop with a million dollar smile on their face. :))

I was looking for a holiday with a blend of luxury, relaxation, warm hospitality, excellent food, spacious tents in the lap of nature and the only place I could think of which would give me the feel of being away from the chaotic world is The Serai and I am glad I made the right choice where I was well taken care of by everyone. Thanks a ton to all of them for their fabulous services and for making my stay a memorable one. Hope to have more such memorable stay at their sprawling property in the middle of nowhere with all the lovely people around. All the best to the entire team of The Serai. May you continue with your excellent hospitality!

Ms. Simona Choudhury

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank 16Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear Simona,

Wishing you a very Happy New Year. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Serai, Jaisalmer.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourself and thank you for all your kind compliments about the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to SUJÁN in the near future so please do come and see us again soon.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

2 nights I will remember.
21 tents, in which every detail is perfectly set, with luxury and taste.
People are very kind, ready to solve any issue: you feel at home, treated like a king.
And the place is wonderful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andycnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Andycnv,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad we were able to share some of our magical experiences with you and create some long lasting memories.

It was super to have you with us at camp and we look forward to seeing you again at SUJÁN very soon.

With love,
The SUJÁN Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

The Serai is perhaps what some would call a hotel. However, to me, it was truly a home away from home.
We arrived late in the evening. It was a long journey across Rajasthan. However, nearby Jaisalmer and the Thar Desert are some of the most incredibly unspoiled wonders of our world. Therefore, I would wholeheartedly encourage anyone to travel to Jaisalmer. Once we stepped out of our car, we immediately felt the warmth of the Desert. In Jaisalmer, the sky is lit with thousands of stars. The general manager welcomed us immediately. He is simply one of the most generous and kind people I have met. He is also extremely proud of his camp and of the many staff members who help him make the Serai a wonderful place to stay.
The camp is laid well with a small number of private tents. First, off the motor court are the main tents which house the lobby area, the restaurant and the bar/lounge/library. All are furnished with colonial pieces as well as local decorative objects. Passed the main tents is an incredibly large courtyard with in-ground canals. Although not destined for one function specifically, the courtyard is used for functions of all types. Then, one will find a raised pavilion onto which the pool is perched. The pool deck is ideal for sunbathing while gazing at nature. Below the pool deck are the shop and the bathroom/changing area.
From the pool one path leads to the spa, another to the private tents. The spa is a beautiful place centered around a courtyard. The massages are exceptionally healing. Our masseur, a kind and discreet man, came to escort us from our tent to the spa at every scheduled treatment session, with an umbrella to veil us from the scorching sun!
The tents are very large. One enters through an outdoor seating area into a space that serves as a reading/writing nook. It is appointed very nicely and jars of local delicacies are replenished throughout the day. The bedroom is located in the center of each tent. The beds are soft and plush. Bottled water is being constantly provided. In a large ice chest, other drinks are available for purchase. A well concealed cooling unit maintains a comfortable temperature in the bedroom area at all times. The bathroom offers a very very large shower built of local stone. The amenities are exceptional. The organic soap, shampoo and conditioner are divine and dispensed very generously. Last but not least, in the enclosed courtyard, at the rear of our tent, is a private spa of very good proportions. It was warm of course, being in the desert.
The Serai is simply an experience. For instance, the general manager gave us a private tour of the herb garden the hotel maintains. In fact, many of the ingredients used in the cooking are farmed on the property. Dinner is quite a show at the Serai. The venue is ever changing. One evening it is served pool side, while the next, it may take place in the courtyard. The objective is to always create a memorable experience for the guests. In fact, everyone who stays at the Serai feels right at home. The staff is constantly available and always glad to have a conversation about local traditions or to discuss any other topic of interest. It is perhaps the service at the Serai that exceeds all expectations. I felt as if I had known most of the people there for years, while we had just met. I find it remarkable that after only three short days, it became very difficult to say goodbye... we were truly touched...

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jerome1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUJANFAMILY, Manager at The Serai, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Jerome,

What a wonderful review to read. Thank you from us all for your detailed feedback and report of your stay with us at SUJÁN The Serai. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and for us to be able to share some of our magic with you.

Home away from home- is what we set out to provide for people travelling to India. Our properties our an extension of the SUJÁN home and we are so happy that you felt this.

Your kind words and compliments will most certainly touch the entire team at The Serai who very much enjoyed making your stay unforgettable.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Jaisalmer and indeed you must come and experience some of the other SUJÁN properties and meet the rest of the team ready to share new experiences with you.

With love and do keep in touch,
The SUJÁN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews