We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jaisalmer's Slogan, "Come as a tourist, leave as a friend" is True at Sanjay Villas, Great Camel Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sanjay Villas
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Jaisalmer's Slogan, "Come as a tourist, leave as a friend" is True at Sanjay Villas, Great Camel Safari”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Sanjay Villas for 10 days around Christmas time. The hotel is located outside of the Jaisalmer city walls, in a quiet neighborhood about a 20 minute walk from the fort. We loved the location because it was far enough from the chaos of the center of town, yet accessible to all the major sights. In fact, it is two streets down from a beautiful Brahmin temple and sunset point.

The hotel was spotless. In fact, the young boy that worked at the hotel as a cleaner was constantly either mopping the floors or sweeping it. The hotel has a lovely rooftop restaurant tended to by a pair of brothers, Balee Khan, who works as a server amongst other roles, and his brother Anwar Khan who, despite being young, is a fantastic cook. Stick to Indian classics when ordering.

Both Balee and Anwar, the managers Jamser and KK and the cleaning boy, whose name I can't remember, made our stay incredibly memorable. All around Jaisalmer, hotels have the slogan "Come as a tourist, leave as a friend" written on all their cards. At Sanjay Villas, the warm staff really makes this happen.

Sanjay Villas also organizes a memorable camel safari. They have high-end and non-touristic camel safaris available. We opted for the non-touristic safari and were treated to solitude in the desert!!!!! Our friendly guides, Jackie and Gaji took good care of us, cooked really good food and took us to areas in the desert where there wasn't a single person besides us.

In the end, when we left Jaisalmer, we were sad to say goodbye to the good friends we had made.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jmoksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    30
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
26
42
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Over Priced. Good food served, but costly. Small hotel, with no Generator & Power back up. Bathrooms need maintenance & Hotwater facility has restricted time zone. Hotel Owners are staff are very helpfull & do take care of guests very well.

Room Tip: Rooms on Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sateesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My visit to jaisalmer will remain unforgettable only because of this beautiful place, Super smooth sand & most importantly this lovely hotel & the staff. Hotel is very very neet & clean with very much spacious rooms. Food is awesome here, right from breakfast till dinner. The view & the night atmosphere is awesome from the rooftop restaurant. Staff is very much helpful & friendly. We faced lots of trouble due to my car while reaching this hotel @ late night, but on a single phone call, Mr Jamsher (owner) helped us to reach safely to the hotel. Next 3 days we traveled from their own jeep with Mr. KK. Wonderful person who helped us to fix our car prob as well as made our trip memorable with Camel Safari & Cultural programs. Really It was amazing experience of beautiful Jaisalmer just because of this hotel & the staff. They have proved their lines "Padharo Mhare Des" ....

Room Tip: All rooms are cool & spacious, whatever u get, You will cherish that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Abhay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Excellent Hotel, everything you want before and after your camel safari, friendly staff, beer, clean room and hot showers. The roof top bar and restaurant food was top notch. We also booked our Camel Safari with the hotel which cut out the hassle of dealing with all the touts and they even looked after our bags for no extra cost while we were on the safari.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank aidanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hotel Sanjay Villas is owned and operated by Jamshir, an extremely caring and congenial man. The hotel room I stayed in was clean and spacious, beds very comfortable with crisp clean white sheets. The bathroom clean and all fixtures new and sparkling. I loved the little alcove in my room with the colored glass ornate window and cushions covered in Rajasthani textiles.
The first night we had dinner and a fire on the rooftop restaurant.
The second day was part of my highlight on my month long trip to India. A camel ride and sleeping under the stars in the desert! WOW!!!! We were picked up by the guides at the hotel and driven 1/2 an hour into the desert where we met our camels and the guide who walked with us as we rode the camels. We rode the camels for 1 and a half hours and arrived at our campsite in time to watch sunset on the dunes. We enjoyed a campfire and our guides cooked for us on the fire. The food was so delicious, even fresh chapati was prepared. The night under the stars was magical. I felt like I was living in The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. The guides sat with us and told us of life in the desert in their amusing and charming way.
In the morning a delicious breakfast of eggs, toast and delicious chai was served.
Upon arriving back to Hotel Sanjay Villas Jamshir had rooms ready with towels and hot showers which we needed by then. We were completely satiated by the previous evening in the desert and happily sat on the rooftop and sipped more chai before heading to Jodhpur.
I can't wait to get back to Jaisalmer to stay with Jamshir and ride Peacock, my cute camel!

Room Tip: The hotel has beautiful fort views and a few rooms have the beautiful alcove with brightly colored g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ceslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

AMAZING hotel to stay in Jaisalmer! The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.They provided jeep service for a pick up and drop from and to the railway station.
The room was nice, well furnished and neat. There is a quiet rooftop restaurant serving delicious food!
We did the camel safari proposed by the hotel, it was an awesome experience. We had lots of fun, met nice people, and all was done to make us feel comfortable. We were provided delicious food and everything necessary to sleep in the deser. The guy who was our guide on the safari(his nickname was LUCKY) made the trip very special, funny and unforgettable!!
This hotel is one of the best one I stayed in during my trip in Rajasthan and I definitely recommend it!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank martawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This has to be one of the Worst Hotels I have ever stayed in. Since our Travel agent screwed up our original bookings we had to last minute take what was available, but this hotel was really the Dumps. The rooms were filthy, the bedding was filthy, the food was quite sad, the surroundings were filthy. The staff was pretty nice and helpful but to be honest they all smelt like they did not take showers regularly. We were booked here for 2 nights but decided to leave after the 1st night it self and camp out in the Desert instead, that is how bad this hotel was.

Room Tip: There is No good room in this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BombaySymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#34 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#40 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Bharat Villas
Hotel Bharat Villas
#21 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.6 km away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#32 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanjay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanjay Villas

Property: Hotel Sanjay Villas
Address: Achalvanshi Colony, | Nr. Sunset point, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sanjay Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaisalmer and Hotel Sanjay Villas!Our hotel is constructed throughout with the golden stone, laced with unique Jaisalmeri carved features. Located near the beautiful sunset point which is one of the quiet area but still within a walking distance to the main market and Jaisalmer Fort. We have a range of rooms that will suit your budget, non air-conditioned or air-conditioned rooms with Rajasthani style appointed bay windows. Total 11 spacious rooms with attached bathroom and clean toilets. Each room is simply decorated, neat and clean, fitted with large comfortable beds and colour TVsFeel a cool breeze in our relaxing roof top restaurant where you can enjoy delicious Indian, Rajasthani, Western, Asian and real Thai foods which only available here. Service to your room is also available with no extra charge.Horn-free area, friendly neighborhood, hassle-free environment Hotel Sanjay Villas is where you will find real 'peace' in Jaisalmer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sanjay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing