We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great services and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jawahar Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jawahar Niwas Palace
Ranked #79 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great services and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel and enjoyed a lot there. Nice and beautiful swimming pool, friendly staff. it seems like management is working hard to maintain the standard of services. Best of luck............... cheerrssssssssssssss

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheerajk_p, Manager at Jawahar Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Mr. Kishan ,

GREETINGS FROM JAWAHAR NIWAS PALACE
my team would like to say thanks to appreciate our work and service hope to see u very soon with your family and kid

Thanks & Regards
Dheeraj Purohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    14
    17
    14
See reviews for
32
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Before travelling to the hotel, I had read the reviews of the hotel and I was in doubt how my stay at the hotel would be?

I would definately appreciate that the services at the palace have substantially improved as replied by the manager in reply to previous review.

They have definately undergone hard turn around exercise as far as professionalism of the staff and services are concerned.

But I must say that the manager and the hotel staff have succeeded in erasing their unprofessional image as far as my personal experience is concerned.

As you are going in a heritage hotel, please do not expect hi-fi gadgets ( i.e. flat t.v., dvd player etc. ) and wi-fi connections in your room.

It is a hotel which houses in a historical royal building, so no need to say a word about the building and ambience.

Simply royal.

I would definately say that if you are a leisure traveller with no big requirements like spa, this hotel is worth experiencing.

It has been one of my memorable experiences.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patelnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheerajk_p, Manager at Jawahar Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Mr. Patel
greetings from jawahar niwas palace

my entire team would like to say thank you to appreciate our work and services . my all team working very hard to improve our services . this review will give us more motivation to provide best services to our valuable guest

thanks & regards
Dheeraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

First impressions were good, the palace is quite magnificent, has a good view of the fort in the distance, and the rooms (at least ours) are huge and in keeping with the palace style.

It's a short distance from the city, meaning it's nice and peacful. (note it's not where the Trip Advisor map currently shows it)

Our room was expensive, but we expected it would be worth it. Unfortunately we became increasingly disappointed with the hotel, and ended up wishing we had stayed elsewhere for less money.

Our toilet had to be fixed three times while we were there (two nights only!) as the flush wasn't working. The restaurant service was appallingly slow, and they never seemed sure what food was available when. The Tandoor was only started to order, meaning an extra 30 minutes wait if you wanted anything from that, even at normal evening times. We arrived for the included buffet breakfast one morning to find absolutely no food ready (over an hour after breakfast time started). The food then arrived one item at a time, and after an hour we gave up and left having only had toast and eggs. Even tea and coffee which we asked for first, only arrived as we were leaving. Bear in mind there were no more than a dozen of us in the huge restaurant at this time.

Most of the staff seemed untrained and disinterested, despite the best efforts of the management.

A disappointing stay in what could be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jawaharniwas, Manager at Jawahar Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your feedback , it is a gift for us and also help us in improve our services, even we are really working very hard upgrade our service



Regards
Dheeraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is by far the worst hotel we stayed in over the course of two weeks in India, which is a shame because the building and grounds could be spectacular.

The service amounts to zero and the general response from staff is a zombie like grunt and eventual action after 5-6 requests.

Value for money is terrible, for the amount we paid and the overall service, quality of rooms etc is appalling, there is zero cleaning of rooms, and most of the rooms seem to have leaks in the bathrooms and doors that don't open/close properly without kicking them in.

Food in the restaurant - after the first attempt we gave up. Waiting for 2hrs for a simple lunch was crazy given no one else was really in the Restaurant.

I'm sure one of the Havelis near town would be far better value.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooksy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jawaharniwas, Manager at Jawahar Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest ,
GREETINGS FROM JAWAHAR NIWAS PALACE

We understand that you had some problem during the stay as u know that more then 150 person of your group are there . thats why we become a bit slow with services kindly remove your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel merits better rating. The palace is romantic and has a pleasant atmosphere. The service is friendly, informative and very helpfull. The setting is quiet, with the main atractions within a 4 min riksha of taxi drive. The rooms we had were just huge. In the desert heat the pool is of course really nice. Excellent value. It is clear that there is new management. There are still things to be improved. In some (larger) rooms the airco was insufficiently coolin the blazing heat outside (46 Celsius). I general the interior could be modernised, starting with the restaurant.
In general I think this hotel is a rising star.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

This is a precious little heritage hotel. Charming! Everything about it is regal, yet extremely warm and personal. The food is the best Rajasthani alongwith delectable Continental and finger foods. The local cuisine if ofcourse straight from the emperor's kitchen since the hotel is owned by the Jaisalmer royal heir. The tea is fabulous and I have switched from coffee to tea now, thanks to the way they brewed it Indian style! The facade and entrance of the hotel is breathtaking and all the rooms are equipped with all modern facilities, but in no way taking away from the natural history of the place. A lovely breeze caresses your face every day and one doesn't feel like one is actually in a desert. Camel safaris on the Thar desert are a must as a re visits to the Jaisalmer Fort and Mool Sagar. And if you are lucky like I was, you will run into the handsome royal heir himself!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RAK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

This place is far too dirty, far to isolated and far to neglected to be a hotel worth staying in - let alone in this price range. Shame on any of the various guides for recommending it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty / Paint off Walls etc
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nljtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jawaharniwas, Manager at Jawahar Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest ,

GREETINGS FROM JAWAHAR NIWAS PALACE
We understand that during your stay with us u had a problem , but we have upgraded our self and now we are really working and looking after for guest , we are really sorry . and also have request you to remove your feed back from tripadvior and give us a chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
2.2 km away
Mahadev Palace
Mahadev Palace
#85 of 103 in Jaisalmer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#87 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#38 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.9 km away
The Royale Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer
#20 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.5 km away
The Golden Camp
The Golden Camp
#46 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jawahar Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jawahar Niwas Palace

Property: Jawahar Niwas Palace
Address: No.1, Bada Bagh Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jawahar Niwas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Jawahar Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jawahar Niwas Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing