We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a fairytale”
Review of Hotel Rajmandir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaisalmer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rajmandir
Ranked #24 of 154 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like staying in a fairytale”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Situated inside the fort, staying at Hotel Raj Mandir was quite a treat for us. Rooms are very cute and atmospheric, and we had a great view from ours which was also delightfully furnished.

The staff were really great, especially the owner, Suresh, who arranged a couple of very worthwhile tours for us and was incredibly generous and helpful.

The food was especially noteworthy – after travelling for a while, it was lovely to have more home-style Indian food freshly prepared by the staff, all enjoyed with amazing views of the fort and the city.

Room Tip: If staying in winter, bear in mind that the larger, mainly stone rooms take a long time to heat, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    71
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
90
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Thank you Suresh for the fantastic hospitality you gave our family during our visit at Christmas. You went out of your way to look after all our needs and more. We had an amazing time on our camel caravan on Christmas Eve and enjoyed our stay at the Rajmandir immensely.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great place. Suresh is a excellent host and I would recommend the non-tourist camel safaris that he can set up. All the staff are very helpful. The deluxe room in the turret on the second floor has a great view of the city.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mister G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We traveled to Jaisalmer between 25-28 Dec with family and stayed in the family room of Raj Mandir. Our stay at the hotel we very pleasant and memorable. The owner, Mr. Suresh and his assistants are very warm and treat guests very well. From ambiance, to food, to the awesome city view that the roof top restaurant offers, everything was simply great about the place. We had a good time and strongly recommend the hotel.

Thanks,
Chintan Dev Puri

Room Tip: Prefer rooms that give city views from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chintan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I had initially allocated only 2 days of my Rajasthan trip to spend at Jaisalmer and I felt I was not doing the justice. Personally I feel Jaisalmer is a great city and it mirrors the Rajasthani culture. Allow me to say this” If you have seen Jaisalmer, you have seen Rajasthan".

However, It was not just the place that made me to feel like staying long. I and my wife experienced a homely atmosphere at RajMandir, Jaisalmer and I should than the Owner Suresh for making our stay memorable. He assisted in every thing that we asked for him to and took a step ahead to re-plan our Rajasthan trip to make it more easy and effortless. He suggested what to see, where to buy and helped us not get cheated by the locals which was a pain for every tourist in India.

The Hotel RajMandir is located inside the Jaisalmer fort and gives a panoramic view of the Sunrise. It's like no damned thing comes between you and the raising sun. The rooms designed with in the fort walls are luxurious with interiors and realize the feeling that you are actually living in a Fort. No doubt the rooms give a rich look, but the cost is moderate and is value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishnaVardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Visited jaiselmer in October end 2011 and were put up Rajmandir for 2 nights. We were a family of 3

Good points
Sureshji is very customer oriented and takes care of all your needs and a good help to plan your stay in jaisalmer. Also inquire about some offbeat activities like camping under the stars etc.
Must have – Rajasthani food from his personal kitchen. And he willingly arranges for the same. Hotel cook will make you feel at home ( I mean simple food ).
Rooms and bathroom are neat and AC and beds are in good condition.

Grey area
The cook – Syam is a Friday Man. He does everything right from cooking to cleaning to booking and billing. He should at least have a separate cook so to serve the guest better.
The terrace needs some dressing with better furniture.
If you have a kid, then you must go for super deluxe strictly. Deluxe will be too small for a family of 3.
We stayed at Prince Resort for an overnight stay in tent through him. HE has options of some other resorts too. But we had very bad experience at Prince resort and will not recommend to anyone.

If you are a family of more than 2 members, must go for Super deluxe rooms. Deluxe rooms not very spacious.

Room Tip: If you are a family of more than 2 members, must go for Super deluxe rooms. Deluxe rooms not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolly304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We three couple just stayed in the hotel Rajmandir in first week of november 2011.. We were searching for a hotel inside the fort with good location and rooms.. After checking several hotels, we fould this is the best hotel in terms of value, service and room ambience.. the hotel has only five rooms from which there are four couple room while one is family room.. all the rooms are nice but I would suggest the rooms with Balcony (Zarokha)..These rooms are very nicely kept with newly fitted split A/C.. Room service is excellent.. though there is no intercom in the room, the staff is always there to help you.. They only serve breakfast in the morning while you have to order in advance if you want to have lunch or dinner there.. they will arrange the dinner/lunch at the roof top of the hotel which is very nice place to sit and have a look at the view of the city from the top.. The owner of this hotel Mr. Suresh is very nice person.. I must say that we had the best food during our trip in this hotel since the food was made by the owner's wife ! What a food and service !

Location of this hotel is also good.. It is near to the Market inside the fort.. Jain temple is also at walking distance from here.. from the main entrance of the fort it is at little walkable distance.. though for every hotel you have to walk a little to reach there..

For the camel safari in Jaisalmer, I suggest you to go to Khuri instead of Sam.. because Khuri is less crowded compared to Sam and its more clean also.. From the sand dunes, you can take the camels to a little far where you can see the deers (if you are lucky).. Even you can sleep at night in the Sand Dunes instead of Tents!! we were 3 families with childrens and we all slept in the Sand dunes.. an amazing experience!! Though I suggest you to sleep at Sand dunes only if there are atleast 3 or more families and at high season since the sand dunes are isolated during the night so if there are few more people around you then you, its more safe..

at last, I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.. solo travellers, families with childrens, couples... You will definitely enjoy your stay here...

Room Tip: room number 2 & 3 are having nice balcony/Zarokhas overlooking the city..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Raj Mandir Inn
Hotel Raj Mandir Inn
#63 of 106 in Jaisalmer
5 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#8 of 106 in Jaisalmer
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,062 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#23 of 106 in Jaisalmer
485 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort
Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort
#34 of 154 in Jaisalmer
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rajmandir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rajmandir

Property: Hotel Rajmandir
Address: Inside the Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rajmandir Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing