We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice--But Outside Town”
Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice--But Outside Town”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We knew that the hotel was not near the main city area, but if you do not have your own transportation to come and go the distance could be an issue-especially at night after dinner. That's the biggest downside.

On the plus side the hotel is well maintained, rooms are generous and beds very comfortable with spotless linens. Bath is a good size. The rooms are quiet, you do not hear noise from other guest rooms. The grounds are spacious and really give a sense of peacefulness. The desk staff responded to every question and request thoroughly, promptly and cheerfully.

In terms of eating however, the bar staff was slow and careless. The food options were limited which is unfortunate considering that you are so far from town. The restaurant wait staff was inconsistent, but the food---all buffet style while we were there---was fresh and good.

Would we stay here again? If vacationing I would not; would stay in town. If going for a meeting or other purpose; absolutely yes. If you are a meeting planner/organizer; this is a great place for your event and the staff will help make your job easy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    202
    80
    37
    14
See reviews for
198
142
14
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed here for a conference for around 2 days . Hotel is beautifully built with nice gardens . Overall nice stay

On the downside hotel is very basic in amenities and the food is also average

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamalmittal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Please share your feedback with us.

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Beautiful outside decoration with a nice big swimming pool. The inside of the hotel is quite cold and simple, nothing spectacular. Big and clean room with ok decoration. Far from the city; if you dont have a driver, its not a good hotel choice. Nice hotel but would choose another one if we go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludivine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Please share your feedback with us.

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
331 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Beautiful grounds, lovely room (decent size) great gardens and pool. Restaurant is ok, nothing amazing (big selection for international food, less choice for local dishes, could get boring after a few days). Staff are lovely though and very helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Please share your feedback with us.

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I almost decided that it would be a simple dinner at the hotel on our 1st Anniversary, until I met Amreen at the spa, who rendered not just a perfect spa treatment, but put together a perfect candlelight dinner plan, a surprise for my husband, within a very short span of time… Her enthusiasm and a go-getter attitude was really commendable…She pulled together the right resources and drew the support of her fellow staff to create one of the most memorable and exuberant experience over our Anniversary dinner - A beautiful and calm dinner table under the tent, near the poolside with reverberating folk music or Rajasthan..The restaurant staff, including the chef personally made it to wish us and offer some of his beautifully crafted deserts exclusively for us… We couldn’t stop thanking the staff for all that they did to make our experience , one which we will remember for years to come…

Taj Gateway, in our experience has shown us unsurpassed hospitality…

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavithra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Gateway hotel is a recently constructed hotel, but still looks as though it is from the age of the Maharajas. For those who cannot afford a Umaid Bhavan, this hotel gives you a good royal feel within your budget. All the amenities are present in the hotel - swimming pool, parlour, spa. The rooms are large and spacious, with simple decor. The beds were comfortable. The issue with the hotel is that it is away from the city, so I had to necessarily get a pick up. The food was good by the service needed some more finesse. The traditional music in the night and the kabab dinner is a good experience. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The rooms on the two wings have a nice view and sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Mostly used for company conferences & marriages. Bed was very comfortable. Soft mattresses and spacious rooms. Very basic in amenities. Not full utilisation of area they have got. ( 27 acres ). Food is average. The entrance of the hotel looks very shady as the main gate is located right next to a liquor shop. They have only the gate on highway. There is no full frontage of the hotel. After seeing the pics on the net I was disappointed at the entrance. The looks are very grand from outside but inside is not able to match the same grandeur.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
8.4 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
7.5 km away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
9.0 km away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
11.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
9.9 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Property: The Ummed Jodhpur
Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing