We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2009

What a place!! I had the honor of having my wedding at the Umaid Bhavan Palace. We had booked the entire hotel for the wedding for 4 days and the guests had a blast! The staff were extremely cheerful and helpful. There were no un-needed delays in wedding events and the overall experience was a great one! Each wedding guest came back to us and decribed their uttermost joy at staying at this heritage site. I recommend anyone visiting Jodhpur to definitely stay at this property!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2009

Fantastic. Regal. Breathtaking.

Even if you do not stay here, you must go for dining at Risala. What fantastic hotel - every bit royal. Even the rest rooms are awesome!

Extremely high dome gives a larger than life feel to the lobby, and the palace garden is amazing. Lobby area is semi-museum and staff are super-good. This one beats Palace and Towers in Mumbai by a distance!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pranav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The Umaid is simply amazing. The palace will simply take your breath away as soon as you enter it.
I was booked into the deluxe room. But soon found out that the room had some problem with the AC. We contacted the house keeping regarding it, and it would take quite long to get sorted out, they offered an immediate room change to the suite !! This was to compensate for the trouble we had !! This is what you call Taj hospitality.
The room was simply superb with a great view of the Mehrangarh fort. The bed was very comfortable. Service was top class with attention to minute details.
We were offered a complimentary tour of the palace, which was a pretty nice experience.
The hotel has two swimming pools. The outdoor one is good, again with amazing views of the fort. The indoor one is at the basement. It's actually a part of the spa. The water was very cold, and I think its not temperature controlled.
And lastly the food. Well it was fantastic. The chef took personal interest to know what we like like, and then cook accordingly !!
Overall it was an amazing experience !!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anupamwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Myself and my two friends went there for dinner and we all agreed it was one of the most fabulous meals of our lives. We actually stayed at the Taj Hotel in Jodhpur, which is related to the Umaid Bhavan, so as guests at the Taj we were entitled to dine at the Umaid Bhavan (and the hotel taxi took us there and back) without the extravagant surcharge otherwise levied on restaurant guests not staying at the Umaid Bhavan (which costs about $500/night to stay I believe, and I think there is something like a $50 surcharge for a meal if you don't stay there - but look it up). The Umaid Bhavan is absolutely enormous, like Buckingham Palace, and has fabulous public rooms of which we were given a very brief tour as we were the only guests dining at that time - and were told there were only 5 overnight guest rooms taken. Gold gilt and tiger heads, fabulous stained glass and architectural details - everything you would expect in the palace of a major Raja in northern India (he and his family live in one wing part of the time). We ate on the outside back patio overlooking the large grounds. The menu was extensive and everything we ate was fabulous and it was expensive and well worth every dollar (I think the cost for the 3 of us, with drinks, was $150). I have a friend who did stayed at the Umaid Bhavan with a (wealthy) tour group and said the rooms were likewise fabulous - and that she actually got lost trying to get back to her room and had to call for help. For a once in a lifetime splurge and experience - this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaryaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The Palace makes you feel like a royal yourself. Right from the time you step into the lobby, the royal welcome, inroom check in, the palatial rooms...all bring to life, the style of the maharajas.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

If you need to see the how the Blue blood (Royals) lead there life, this is the place for you.
The Umaid Bhawan Palace is magnificent building, half of the palace portion is converted into hotel and other half is residence of royal family.
The rooms are lavish, the ceiling height adds to the feel of opulenence. The hotel building also has an museum, especially the clock one is worth watching. Another attration is the basement swiming pool. One can see lot of fighter plan taking execrcie in nearby airbase.
The restaurant serve the true taste of rajasthani cusine. The reception is well planned with ample lobby area.

A great place for vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hemantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This is the ultimate Luxury residential paradise.Just to imagine that this was how Royalty once lived.We got upgraded to a Junior Suite with a Private balcony.Outstanding Toileteries(Molton Brown)superb furnishings.The Bathrooms were a splendour.Spectacular wall canvasses,rich furniture.Everything in and around the Palace Hotel had the word"Regal splendour" carved all across.Superb Cuisine the local delicasy(gatte ki subzi & lal maas) unforgettable.The Staff all across treated us as if we were Guests' of the Royal King(The erstwhile Royal King of the British era's Family occupy a part of the Palce even today)Narayan a venerable man in his lates 60's epitomises Service,Heritage & Culture all rolled into one.He has been a part of the Service Staff for over 50. . . yes 50 years!!!Huge well manicured gardens and landscapes even have made it a favourite abode of a horde of Peacocks who live on the Gardens & it is a delight to wake up with the hoot of the Peacock in the mornings!A truly once a Lifetime experience!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.1 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,084 reviews
3.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#19 of 102 in Jodhpur
656 reviews
2 km away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,307 reviews
6.4 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $680 - $2,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing