We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay in Jodhpur”
Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #11 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent place to stay in Jodhpur”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent 5 nights in this haveli and we were not disapointed! the room was clean very well presented and very spacious. We felt confortable and the owners were extremly helpful.
The roof top restaurant was excellent, the cooks were very accomodating and helpful.
I f we go back to Jodhpur we will definetly be staying again at the Shahi guest house!

Room Tip: Ask for top rooms with view o the Fort if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurelie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    101
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
140
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel has it all - beautifully renovated quirky building, a rooftop restuarant with the best view of the blue city and fort, great food and service. Bantu and his family were welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble from booking trains to organising an auto rickshaw at 4.30am.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Shahi is brilliant value and in a great location in the old town, with a beautiful view of the Fort. Really lovely spacious rooms with 360 views of all the goings on in the neighbourhood! Our best meal in Jodphur was at the rooftop restaurant where they serve simple but lovingly-prepared fresh food. Pal Haveli - packed with a busload of tourists the night we were there - was honestly not a patch on this. So glad we tried Shahi!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMalabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

A warm and wonderful place. Vishal and Anu Bantu make you feel like family. The Nepalese chef on the rooftop restaurant, directly beneath the fort, serves up fine veg cuisine. The best part of Jodhpur for us.

Room Tip: Top room near the restaurant has best fort view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

You won't be disappointed. It has it all: great location, wonderful views, ancient haveli beautifully renovated, comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms, WiFi, and the all important plentiful hot water. And, not to mention the spectacular roof-top restaurant overlooking the blue city and up to the fort. Vegetarian food is good (don't miss the nutella pancakes!). Thank you Bantu and Anu, you were very gracious. Also, the day trip you arranged, a local safari, was a good experience. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_and_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Undoubtedly this was the best accommodation we have encountered on our trip to India, Bantu and his beautiful family have made us feel at home. Excellent service, beautiful Haveli, perfect location, reasonable prices, and an atmosphere of warmth and romance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pola1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Run by an extremely hospitable( and patient )couple, this 350 year old zenana has been renovated as an extremely comfortable hotel (complete with Exemplary washrooms with hot water) , bursting with character and has a spectacular view of the Mehrangarh and the bue city from the roof top restaurant. The owners were relentless in their mission to see to our every need - Anu arranged for a trusted auto-rickshaw to take us around jodhpur for the day (people are usually discouraged by the fact that cars are unable to enter the road but this applies to most roads in jodhpur and autos will invariably turn out to be the quickest way around) and was infinitely patient in answering any and all questions we had. Being centrally located, the guest house is about a 5 minute walk from the main markets ( in the vicinity of the clock tower) . Vishal personally saw to the preparation of the courtyard room for our stay and urged enthusiastic discussions on the interior decorations of the newly remodeled rooms.The other guests were friendly and helpful in sharing their experiences at the places we intended to visit .
The tariff is entirely reasonable- great value for money
Food is economical and satisfactory .

They provide a heater on request in the winter months.

Room Tip: the maharani room or the courtyard room are spacious and exceedingly charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank architravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.7 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
2.5 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
921 reviews
6.7 km away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 95 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 190 in Jodhpur
611 reviews
0.4 km away
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
0.8 km away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#10 of 95 in Jodhpur
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Property: Shahi Guest House
Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing