We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Deogarh Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deogarh Mahal
Certificate of Excellence
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 8 December 2007

This is not only a stunning building palace that one could spend days enjoying (we were fortunate enough to stay in the top suites and the lack of hot water did not diminish our enthusiasm).
The food was amongst the best we had during our 3 week uo-market tour of Rajasthan.
Having drinks with the owners who described what it was like living there before electricity and running water was an added enjoyment.
There is an excellent shop with a delightful chap serving who paints miniatures and whose family are famous painters in Samode (his grandfather painted the palace there and now has a school teaching miniature painting).
The staff at Deogarh are all delightful.
The village is also delightful and they love showing you around. we can't wait to go back there.
Russell

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water some times
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    129
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
60
217
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

For 400 years the residence of the Rawat Nahar Singhji family, now a heritage hotel with character, the Deogarh Mahal offers a unique experience of feudal India's past. On a knoll with the village outside the fortress walls, it lets one explore shops and markets with ease. Merchants are not yet jaded, pushy or spoiled by an overabundance of tourists

Our ground floor quarters, more of a suite than a room, consisted of a sitting room, bedroom with twin beds with a firm mattress, and a desk, make-up room, and a bathroom the size of an average US living room, all with marble floors, some area rugs, 15 foot ceilings, head busting low door ways, and toe breaking one to two inch steps between rooms. The suite was equipped with a stocked mini-bar, wall mounted A/C and ceiling fans in all rooms, light switches galore appeared to be from Thomas Edison's days. Everything worked, except the in-room safe that was locked and responded to neither of two conflicting sets of instructions. The Bathroom had two robes, ample towels, a hair dryer, and sinks, fixtures, and the toilet were very up-to-date. Frosted windows made the suite somewhat dark.

Walls in the common areas were decorated with pictures and scenes from the palace's feudal past. A restaurant on the top floor terrace offered buffet dining under the stars, and a-la-carte dining was available in the restaurant (with A/C) on the second
floor. Breakfast was served in a hall/room with beautifully decorated walls, ceiling, and archways, just like a movie set. Staff was very attentive, and a tip jar eliminated the need for individual tipping. Two gift shops, pool, lounge w. big-screen TV, and a tour desk offering various trips to explore nearby sights rounded out the common area. Nightly entertainment of Indian music and warrior dances was offered as well.

All in all, the Deogarh Mahal lets one experience India of the past, and while there one can not help but think Aladdin will come up the stairs any minute.

  • Liked — Unique ambiance ofthe picturesques palace fortress and close proximity to bazars
  • Disliked — Stairs, stairs, and stairs again, no signage pointing way throughout facility
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

This is a good option for an overnight stay if you are visiting Ranakpur and/or Khumbalgarh Fort. Take the guided tour as you'll get to see some of the other rooms (and make note of which ones you'll want to return to!) - it's worth the 45 mins and really interesting. Not a bad place for kids as there are lots of areas to explore and a big reading/TV lounge. Skip the buffet restaurant and have your meals at the ala carte restaurant (much better quality) - I had an amazing dish called mutton jungli (I think).

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2007

This is a beautiful heritage hotel with charming rooms the restaurant & food were a disappointment though. My trip to Deogarh was nevertheless the highlight of my tour of Rajasthan. The village is very interesting and the people very friendly, the big difference between being in the countryside as opposed to a city is that the people don't pester you. The children love to practice their English and they do like to have pens so do take lots with you. I visited a school and took a train journey through the Aravalli Hills which was brilliant. There's lots to do in the area including horse riding. Stay for a few days it's very relaxing.

  • Liked — It was what I would expect in a heritage hotel, antique furniture, handblocked fabrics. Lots of atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

A first class hotel that is well maintained and full of old charm. The staff were friendly (sometimes being a little over attentive) and welcolming. We had been given a suite that had a well appointed bathroom (complete with never ending hot water) and a massage shower. The rooms were immaculate and the hotel literature gave a history of each room in the palace and highlighted the various features in them - ours having an original Mogul arch around the bedroom area. It was great to be able to walk out into the village and barter and chat with the local people. The hotel has regular meetings with the villagers to ensure that the tourist/local economy balance is maintained. The buffet meals were 500 rupees a head (more expensive than we had paid elsewhere) however you do get an awfull lot for your money and I felt that it was good value. The breakfast was also extensive and set us up for the rest of the day. There is a large swimming pool at the palace which looked very inviting but was unused by us (we only had a limited stay here). The staff do not pester guests for tips as there is a central tipping policy which we found refreshing.

  • Liked — Luxurious
  • Disliked — Over attentive staff (if thats a criticism) Naan bread removed and replaced with fresh if not eaten within 5 minutes.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geriatricbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

This is an amazing Heritage hotel set in the middle of a small bustling Rajasthani market town.

We had a fantastic room, #223, with a large lounge and bathroom area and big double bed. But the most amazing feature is the original paintings on the wall - takes you back a couple of centuries everytime you walk into the room.

We enjoyed the excellent jeep safari through the countryside, to the cave temple and eventually to the tented camp at the lakeside for tea and snacks at sunset.

The buffet dinner was excellent quality and very good value, but the a la carte was extremely expensive and the alcoholic drinks were also pricey.

All in all we'd thoroughly recommend Deogarh Mahal but don't take our word for it, see for yourself !!!

  • Liked — Amazing, authentic Heritage palace experience
  • Disliked — Expensive a la carte & drinks
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Sueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2006

Having read a previous review of this old palace, I feel that I must write something about it for other people who may be 'put off' staying there.
We stayed at the Deogarh Mahal in January 06. It was one of the last places we stayed on a 2 week whirlwind tour of Rajasthan for my husband's 60th birthday, together with our son and daughter. I am amazed at the previous reviewer's outlook on this old palace. For us, it was an amazing place (and that was after sampling some other wonderful old palaces). The Rawat and all the staff went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. Our bedrooms were typical of what we expected from India. We had a suite while our son and daughter had a standard room. The rooms were furnished in typical Indian style-full of typical Indian furniture and ours looked out over the courtyard with a wonderful window seat full of cushions like a day-bed .It was quite cold there at night and the staff were only too pleased to give us hot water-bottles and heaters! The village was delightful with very friendly people and lots of bargains! We went on a wonderful picnic to the old fort and after talking to some of the staff, it seemed to us that the Rawat and his family certainly looked after everyone who worked for him. What is it that people expect from India?The people of Deogarh were certainly poor but very welcoming and treated us as 'guests' rather than just tourists. We certainly did not feel that we were being 'ripped off' by the prices charged for meals or trips out and cannot wait to go back to this magical place again .We all felt that it was an amazing,peaceful and wonderful place to stay and had much more of an 'Indian feel' to it than the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel in Bombay where we stayed at the end of our tour, which was certainly opulent but soul-less. India is full of extremes and surely people who visit there must accept this.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rajsamand
85.7 km away
RAAS Devigarh
RAAS Devigarh
#1 of 5 in Rajsamand
603 reviews
33.0 km away
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sardargarh
193 reviews
0.5 km away
Dev Shree Deogarh
Dev Shree Deogarh
#1 of 3 in Deogarh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Amargarh Resort
Amargarh Resort
#27 of 100 in Jodhpur
88 reviews
0.0 km away
Palace Anjali, The Ranch at Charbhuja
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deogarh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deogarh Mahal

Property: Deogarh Mahal
Address: Deogarh Madaria, Rajsamand 313331, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Rajsamand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Rajsamand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deogarh Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Deogarh Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deogarh Mahal Hotel Rajsamand
Deogarh Mahal Rajsamand, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing