We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for the location...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Jhoomar Baori
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed three nights, the location is fantastic, it is the only hotel situated in the forest. So much more could be done with the hotel,it is government managed RTDC and no one seems to be bothered with improving it, it has so much potential. We had the Tiger Suite, it was simply huge, it is old fashioned,in terms of furniture but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.The food was really good, the staff were all very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a plush 5 star experience this is not for you. This is a piece of history, I am a really fussy and I would highly recommend staying here, it is clean and comfortable and it is the nature you are visiting, we did not see a tiger but plenty of other wild life.

Room Tip: The Tiger Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharonlinda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I travelled to Ranthambore with family between March 8 to March 11, 2012. I stayed at Castle Jhoomar Baori. The location is nice on the hill top and you can find deer family nears your hotel. The service is actually bad, if you order anything as room service you’ll be LUCKY to get it in your room. The hygiene of the place is pathetic; cockroaches were found meal table on daily basis. The place is not suitable for elderly people as dose not have any room on ground floor and has not lifts to go on other floors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We went on a family outing during the extended weekend of 3 days in Feb 2012. Had booked an AC room through internet, for 2 nights. This is the only hotel in Ranthambore which is located inside the forest. You have to drive 1.5 km from the main road and climb up 350 metres (by road) to reach the hotel. On the way you can see deer, peacock and monkeys. Leopards prowl in the area during night and early morning as you can clearly hear their calls. We were excited and scared too, as the doors in the room had no proper locking system.
Food is excellent. You get buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can order hot beverage and pakora during the evening and have it sitting in the lawn outside the hotel. The amenities in the hotel are good and the staff are ever helpful. Advise you to book the safari in advance through internet and the hotel will get the confirmations done. This way you will save the trip to the forest office for the boarding card. The hotel will ensure that the canter / gypsy will arrive in the hotel to pick you for the safari. The hotel staff also try to arrange for safari booking if you have not made it in advance but it depends on the availability on that day. At least 2 safaris are required to spot a tiger.
When you stay in the hotel, try to take a room which faces the hills so that you can soak in the beauty of the jungle scenery. We stayed in room 304. It had a small balcony overlooking the hills and we had winged visitors for tit-bits of biscuits.
We drove from Delhi via Dharuhera, Alwar, Sikandra, Dausa, Lalsot, Sawai Madhopur. The roads are excellent (except for a 20Km stretch from Lalsot towards Sawai Madhopur which is being laid). The hotel staff arranged to even wash my car as it was full of dust after the drive.
We will always want to go back to this place.

Room Tip: Try to take a room which faces the hills so that you can soak in the beauty of the jungle scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

the only hotel in the middle of forest..managed by RTDC. Do not go there and expect high end service. The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. Food is homely..non-spicy. Rooms are clean...beds are confortable after you go through park safari. We got good hot water through out the stay during peak winter.

If you dare, take a walk from Forest Office located on main road to the hotel. The walk is through the forest. You can see and picture chital (spotted deer), sambar, nilgai, langurs, various type of birds, peacocks and if lucky a sloth bear (I did see around 6.00 pm evening). This section is in middle of forest at territory of a male tiger (I think T-24), panther and sloth bears. So be careful not to wander before 11.00 am and after 5.00 pm on this road. early morning you can have a visitor to hotel porch - few samber deers - as we had on first day of our stay!

Keep windows of your room open durin night if you are in forest facing room. You can hear a chital call or a panther grunts..!

It's truly a remarkable experience if you really enjoy forest and do away with some luxuries on service.

Room Tip: Room No 302, 303 facing forest side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pushkar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The property is well placed on the periphery of the national park. It is approx one & a half kilometers inside the park entrance.On the way to the hotel we saw gazelles,spotted deers,peacocks,antelopes,red breasted parrots, treepies,langurs etc.The rest of the story is very average. I stayed in the castle/hotel for 2 days with my family. Bed sheets etc were clean but towels were horrible. The toilet floors were defectively laid hence water used to stand in the toilets. The hotel staff disappeared after acccepting the tips on arrival. We used a mooper ourselves to clean the toilet floors. For a cup of tea to be served in the room, I had to call the room service thrice.Breakfast was average but the lunches & dinners were very uninteresting in both taste & menu.Definitely not the full value for money.

Room Tip: I had booked 2 rooms on the top floor. Easy to go to terrace for enjoying the views. Nice verandah i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umeshjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Amazing location...We went to ranthambore in Diwali (end of october). Jhoomar Baori is placed beautifully amidst dense forests. This property is the only property to be located in the forest.The rooms were clean and and tidy but were not furnished with the most modern amaenities. Being a heritage property it is not a five star treatment but for a forest experience I strongly recommend this place.
The only negative point from the trip was the food wasn't as good as any other place...its OK
And for Ranthambore, PLease don't expect to see too many tigers as u need to be very lucky to find them. We did the safari a few times but weren't lucky. Although the ride was very beautiful.
If you are not a "ONLY 5 STAR" traveller, Strongly recommend this place coz u will not visit Ranthambore a lot of times in your life. For us we had a gr8 family time. Hope u have the same

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajushah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

this was the only non family operated hotel i stayed in and i so wish it was not the same. the hotel is a heritage property which once belonged to the jaipur his highness as i was told. the location of the hotel was spectacular as it was almost in the forest. you could see quite a lot of wildlife through the drive to the hotel. its got huge rooms and if you don't mind the goverment service that you get then this is truly a great place to see ranthambhore from. the rajasthan tourism department runs the place so it is very good value for money. a must see for its great setting.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preetis745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
6 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
685 reviews
0.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
3.4 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Raj Palace Resort
Raj Palace Resort
#9 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
399 reviews
10.3 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#12 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
79 reviews
1 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Jhoomar Baori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Jhoomar Baori

Address: Ranthambhore Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: $304 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing