We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nahargarh Ranthambhore(Sawai Madhopur)
US$162
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Raj Palace Resort(Sawai Madhopur)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger Safari Resort(Sawai Madhopur)
US$37
US$18
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pugmark(Sawai Madhopur)
US$66
US$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sanctuary Resort(Sawai Madhopur)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel(Sawai Madhopur)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ranthambhore National Resort(Sawai Madhopur)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
40
73
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
73
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssambarheritage propertyhunting lodgeown vehiclelocated inside the foresttop floorthe upper floorstourist lodgegovernment runsmall hillocktiger or leopardfantastic locationhotel locatedopen terraceyour doorstepranthambore forestthe hotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 145 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2016

Located right in the middle of the forest buffer zone, its an amazing experience to stay in this place. The rooms were decent and clean, though not luxurious. Our room had an adjoining terrace from where we could see nilgai's, peacocks and hundreds of birds all times of the day. Food was decent and the staff courteous. The terrace at the top had a very good view of the surrounding forest. Overall, quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nilatravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

The old hunting lodge is in the middle of the jungle so you get to stay amidst nature. Other than the location it is not at all value for money. We spent 8K on a suite which was not at all well maintained. The curtains and linen needed changing. The bathroom could have been cleaner. Dining staff were helpful. Off season prices are probably ok.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frugal_travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2016

this is truly the best place to stay in ranthambhor , it is a hunting palace of the Jaipur royal family and is located withing the buffer zone of the jungle , no other hotel is within the buffer zone , its a must stay place since u can see animals like deers, blue bull, tigers (if you are lucky ) . the food is excellent home quality true rajasthani food .service is excellent .

Room Tip: take the rooms on the top floor if you want a good view , though the climb is a bit steep
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tejas_shah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2016

We stayed at Hotel Jhoomer Baori on 13 November 2015 and 14 November 2015. The property is truly heritage but mind you, if you are going with older people, the stairs are high and narrow. The real fun is at the roof on the second floor which is again a steep climb. We saw more animals in the backyard of the hotel than on the safaris.

Now about the hotel, the serving staff were very nice and the buffet lunch and dinner quite tasty, the breakfast was really good. But at times they just forgot to put any salt in the food. However, the people in the restaurant were nice. The front desk people were another story. Rude, over smart and in efficient. Half the time no one was available on duty. As soon as we reached we enquired about safaris (I had managed online booking) and paid them extra money as was asked for the release of tickets. Horrible service from jhoomer baori and when we questioned them with respect to the afternoon safari the front desk person asked us to take our money back for the morning safari and go ourselves to get it released. This is not the behavior you expect from a place charging five star rates. Also, while booking please read the fine print carefully or else you may be in for a rude shock re discounts. Our experience was not pleasant and am not sure if i visited again if i would stay here. the only reason i may even consider is because of giving some benefit of doubt due to diwali weekend rush

The safari system in the whole of ranthambore sucks in general and is corrupt in the extreme. Very few seats are available online and if you have manage to book seats online, you are punished for it. And you need an agent in any event to get the vehicle released or go to the booking office at unholy hours, even then I presume it would be frustrating. But whatever be the case, the jhoomer baori agent seems the most incompetent. Both the safaris arrived 30 – 45 minutes late. In the morning safari I had booked the best route – 3, but while everyone on that route saw the tiger, we entered so late that forget tigers we hardly saw any animals. Also it was Ganesh Chaturthi and our exit from the safari gate and reaching the hotel took one hour due to the crowd for the prestigious trinetra ganesh mandir in the fort. On the whole, if you want to enjoy the stay as presumably safari may be the main goal, get hold of a good agent and try and avoid jhoomer baori agent.

In general a few warnings re RTDC places:

a) Make sure all the fine print is explained at the time of booking. In order to avail discounts don’t make full payment at time of booking. We had to book extra cot and luckily we didn’t pay at the time of the booking for the extra cot or else we would not have been able to avail of the discounts as they don’t believe in refunds.
b) Not too many food options. The breakfast buffet gets cold if you go towards the end and there is no real option for hot food at breakfast.
c) The fittings do not work properly and inspite of complaints no one is really bothered to have the same corrected. The TV reception in nearly each of the five places we stayed was quite bad and in ranthambore, the TV may as well have been a decoration piece only.
d) The people at some places (especially jodhpur and ranthambore) were highly boorish and complacent. So be prepared to battle and have you holiday mood spoiled.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anshumala82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2016

It is a heritage property, right in the middle of wilderness. You have to drive almost a kilometer into the forest to reach this place atop a small hill. Staff is helpful and courteous, nice spacious rooms and garden area for kids to run around. Common area in front of rooms is good and nicely kept. Like all government properties it may do with some maintenance, that said it is very neat and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsj_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews