We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for tiger safaris”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Jhoomar Baori
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Don't stay here if you're doing tiger safaris. The reason is that they're not safari-minded. Let me give some examples.

1. Other hotels give the guests sandwiches, blankets and hot water bottles for the cold morning safaris in winter. Jhoomar does not.
2. The meal times are not scheduled around safaris. Despite what the board says about lunch being served beginning at 12:30, the earliest it was ready during our 4-night stay was 1:30. The latest was 2:15. The only reason we got lunch that day was because our safari pick-up was late. But it was a rushed lunch every day.
3. The power goes out every morning at 6:30, just as you're in the critical last part of preparation for your safari. You'll need a torch/flashlight. The shortest power outage was 30 seconds, the longest was 10 minutes or so.
4. The cleaning crew comes by every day at 1:30, wanting to clean your room, just as you're preparing for your afternoon safari. Even after a few days, they didn't figure out that we want them to go away until we're out on our drive.
5. This is not their fault, but the location is not ideal for safaris. Jhoomar guests are usually the first picked up and the last dropped off. This means you get less sleep, more driving time in the cold (with no blanket) and less time between morning and afternoon safaris.
6. The guys actually wanted us to go to the booking office every morning at 5:30 to pay for our safaris, and then again every afternoon. Other hotels do this for the guests without asking. It wasn't until I complained about it that they offered to send somebody for us (for a price).

Another thing that annoyed us and cost us some money was that we booked for 5 nights but it turned out we only needed 4 of them. We knew this in advance of our check-in, but you cannot cancel for only one night. You have to cancel the entire booking, pay the 50% penalty on all of your nights, then make a new booking for the shorter stay. The staff at the front desk acknowledged that this was the case. We had to swallow the entire cost of the 5th night. That was very sub-standard.

Also, I tried several times to order something off of the room service menu, and each time they told me they couldn't do it. Don't put it on the menu if you can't make it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

We were a group of 5 adults & 2 children for the trip to Ranthambore NP .Based on TA suggestions we choose to stay at the RTDC (Rajasthan Tourism) run Castle Jhoomar Baori since it is the only accomodation located inside the Sanctuary (the National Park is of course off limits for all accomodation). Thr price was slightly on the higher side being peak season (Diwali)

The manager Mr. Jitendra Singh is very helpful and assisted us for all the bookings. The rooms itself are very oddly shaped but that adds charm to the whole experience. Plus to enter into the hotel, u need to go through 2 kms of forest area which is a pleasant experience as well. Also near the hotel, we spotted a leopard kill and hyenas at night so made it that much more thrilling. We were also told that around 3 months ago a tiger was sighted in the jungle part near the entrance.

being inside the jingle, it is a hotel with character. Plus they have a lovely terrace which is a good vantage point. The food and service was pretty good with the waiters taking personal care and attention

Overall very good for those who wish to experience a hotel with character in the national park sanctuary. For luxury and comfort, go elsewhere

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank Mrmaulikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

joomer baori is the perfect hideway for any busy person..its lovely to be cut off from the world bang in the middle of jungle.. with tiger nearby... and you in a ancient property..probably one which was used for hunting in past..right answer to chaging world now the wild rules as it should be... great hotel.. ok rooms..good food but really expensive for the heritage..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed there for two nights in MArch 2010. The hotel is located in a forest area. The access to the hotel is through private road for 2 km. This strech of 2 km is like a travel inside the park itself and has lots of wildlife like deers, birds etc.

The rooms were good considering that the same is a heritage property. The views from the rooftop of the hotel is remarkable.

Due to its location, you may often find insects in the bathroom /room. The food quality was OK but the service could have been better.

For Safaris booked online, one has to go to the booking office to submit the papers and get your vehicle alloted just 90 minutes before safari time. Hotel people did not assist in submitting the forms. You can mention the hotel you stay in the form and the jeep will pick you up from your hotel. So I had to go to the booking office early morning to submit the papers and come back to hotel and get picked up by the jeep. This is one of the major deficiency in the service quality of the hotel.

However, if you do not have your own vehicle, you may find difficulty in reaching the park office/town and may have to shell out extra money on taxi/auto.

Overall it was good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImmanuelPonraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This resort enjoys a fantastic location. It still retains its rustic charm from the dated era.
I will go point wise -

1. LOCATION : Simple awesome. It is the only resort inside the reserve. On your way to the resort you can easily spot sambhars, neelgai, and if u r lucky...a panther too. Peacocks are in abundance. Squirrels accompany you over breakfast..which is damn lovely.
You have attached courtyards on each floor where u can enjoy the views.

2. FOOD : The food was good. We stayed there for 3 days and the food was always good. Infact if you request the chef for some delicacy, he will prepare it for you.

3. ROOMS: The rooms were big yet small. There is a passage on the entry and then the bedroom. The bedrooms hardly have walking space but they are generally clean. You will have to mind your head while moving around the room. A price you pay to enjoy the originality of the rooms. They are more or less in their original shape.

4. STAIRS : THERE IS NO LIFT IN THIS RESORT....YES....!!!
That's a big drawback. Climbing up 2 to 3 floors with more than usual no of steps is a bit of pain. A lift is a must but its not there.

You can walk down the resort and explore the flora and fauna on your own as well during the day (going beyond the resort courtyard on foot after dusk is prohibited as animals roam around freely). You can see neelgais moving along the wall at night while having dinner !!

Overall, a very good stay. Staff is courteous and efficient. Very good food, good variety. Neat rooms, fantabulous location...

MUST VISIT !!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smriti_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This is the best located resort in the whole of ranthambhore as it might be the only accomodation in the forest buffer zone itself. The approx 2 km drive from the main road till the castle is great, one can spot chinkaras (indian gazelles), neelgais (bluebull antelopes), sambhar deer, spotted deer, plenty of birds and if lucky even a Leopard. Infact a leopard had killed a deer just behind the hotel in the night, seems this is a regular occurence.
The rooms are clean and comfortable food is just about ordinary, serves only Indian dishes and the foreigners might find it too spicy.
The front desk arranges for the safari trips into the Ranthambhore park and the safari vehicles pick-up guests from the hotel.
On one day we deliberately missed the safari and instead went for a walk till the main road and spotted a lot of birds alongwith the above mentioned animals.
We also spotted a Tiger during our safari trips. Tiger sighting depends on your luck and its recommended to take atleast 4-5 safaris for good sightings/photography.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Milind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

this castle in actuality was a ladies only castle, it was for the women royalty of rajasthan. located on a small hill a few minutes drive from ranthambore national park this property has a charm of its own.the rooms are huge and have a seperate sittinf area,dressing area and sleeping area.each floor has a huge balcony where you can enjoy the green lush countryside. the food is very good,hospitality is also quite nice. if you are goin to ranthambore this is a nice location to stay in. the rooms are not very expensive and the comforts are exceptional.if you have booked your jeep it willl come to the castle to pick you up at the stipulated time.early morning if you take a powerfull flashlight you can see a whole lot of shining eyes of deers and other animals.the beauty of this castle is the stairway that leads to the upper floors of the property.its so thin and low thats its diff to walk the 1st time around.this property is a def must stay to know the heritage of our country

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
0.7 km away
Raj Palace Resort
Raj Palace Resort
#9 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
424 reviews
6 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#19 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
227 reviews
10.3 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#12 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
81 reviews
1.1 km away
Rajputana Heritage
Rajputana Heritage
#15 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Jhoomar Baori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Jhoomar Baori

Address: Ranthambhore Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: C$310 - C$506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing