We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In homestay you can view the real India!”
Review of Pahuna Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pahuna Haveli
Ranked #115 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In homestay you can view the real India!”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stay for two nights in this wonderful accommodation during a 29 days of independent tour in 4 and 5 stars hotels. But here we could contact the real way of life and have a very beautiful conversation with. The elegant lady owner. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Pahuna Haveli. Hemant, our hostess is a lovely, kind person and was helpful in all respects. There was more than ample space to spread things out in our spotlessly clean 2nd floor "suite" room. The "super suites" are even larger but I can't imagine needing all that space. It was very quiet at night with only an occasional horn honking in the early morning hours. Breakfasts were simple - scrambled eggs (creamy and delicious), toast, home-made jam, porridge or cereal and tea. We had laundry done during our stay and there is an internet cafe in the neighborhood. Getting to and from the tourist area (City Palace, etc.) is easy - don't pay more than 50 rupees for an auto-rickshaw ride. As one of the previous posters mentioned, there is a local restaurant nearby which has a wonderful outdoor courtyard and great Indian food.

Note that the previous reviewer from Sydney had a problem which Hemant actually shared with us - I think she was as frustrated by the situation as the reviewer. Maybe best to write it off as how things go in India sometimes.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I made a booking on the Pahuna Haveli website. This was confirmed and paid for 3 weeks prior to my arrival. On arriving, I was informed they did not have my booking and I was left stranded to find alternative accommodation.

The only reason I booked my accommodation with Pahuna Haveli was because of the great reviews. Whilst I understand mistakes can happen, getting my refund back was a nightmare not to mention the lies I was fed by the owners of Pahuna Haveli.

Do not risk spoiling your holiday by making a booking at Pahuna Haveli!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsHSingh, Owner at Pahuna Haveli, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
This gentleman was to come & stay at our place for 1 night,the next day he was booked to go to Triedent Hotel, but because of a mistake by our Travel Agent we could not give him a room that day.We were v.apologetic & offered to organise a beautiful lake facing room for him for that night ,but he refused saying he will go to Trident. I also told him that any time in future you come to Udaipur we will give him a Suite for free for as long as he likes,for which he seemed happy.
We also offered & paid for his 1 nights stay at Trident.,but he wanted us to pay much more than that. & if we did not do so he will malign the name of our Home Stay so badly that on body
will come to stay at our place. We have no answer to that.!

Fortunately our rooms are always occupied,& my guests enjoy their stay with us.
I am happy to say that in 2007 we at PAHUNA HAVELI got the" BEST HOMESTAY AWARD" of MEWAR.
On 30 Sept.2010 - INDIAN ACHIEVERS AWARD FOR HOSPITALITY & TOURISM at a NATIONAL LEVEL was Presented to HEMANT KUMARI.- Owner of " Pahuna Haveli."
Best wishes,
Hemant Kumari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Pahuna Haveli is slightly out of town in a nice, quiet, up-market residential area. We had a very nice large, clean room - although the furnishings aren't especially well matched or special. The hosts are charming. Breakfast was average. Somehow or other this place doesn't quite deliver on the potential - I suspect its the overall decor. Best part is an absolutely excellent restaurant just around the corner. Targetted at the middle class Indian market, its the same price as the tourist restaurants in town but infinitely superior. Can't remember the name but Hemant will let you know.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrsWellington_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Udaipur was the last leg of our ten day Rajasthan tour. We stayed at Pahuna haveli for two days before returning to Bombay.
It was a great experience staying at a home stay. We got an upgrade to a suite after paying a discounted differential on the room rates. The facilities were at par with star hotels, and the personal touch of the owner was the special add-on. She was very keen to share her experiences and guide us on what to see, where to eat etc. We truly appreciated our stay at Pahuna Haveli.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagles_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

After staying in a couple B&Bs in Delhi and Rajistan, we were excited about the pahuna Haveli, after seeing the reviews. At first glance it seemed very nice. The house is beautiful, and the rooms are fine. However, the value of this place is terrible. We paid the price that was listed in the Lp, but it should really be about half that based on what we were paying for similar hotels throughout our travels in India.

After one night, we realized that the price didn't match the service and we decided to leave a night early. Our room came with breakfast included, and it was disgusting. Mushy porridge and an overcooked egg on the first day, and on the second day, they actually served us a half cooked egg. We didn't mention it to the owner, who was sitting with us, because we were ready to just get out of there. However, she clearly knew the egg wasn't cooked because we could hear her admonishing the cook for it after we started heading for our room. If she noticed it, then she should have fixed it. That one moment really left a sour taste in my mouth for this place.

The owner seemed nice, but there were too many issues. I could recommend pahuna haveli if it was half the price. Otherwise, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Pahuna Haveli has a unique mix to offer - comfort, peace, delicious home cooked food etc etc. Beautiful architecture and spacious rooms which are neatly maintained provides a complete home stay feeling even being away from home.
The hospitality extended, in terms of local travel, historical facts & places, food and delicacies in & around city, by Ms Kumari and her family is truly a sign of Rajasthani culture which gives a traveler an edge to an alien city. Their association and knowledge on the city’s history is worth exploring.

The Haveli is located in nice and silent place, reaching to any city attraction is just few minutes tuk tuk ride.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq-Tourist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.4 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.7 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
2.7 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#17 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.1 km away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
3.3 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pahuna Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahuna Haveli

Property: Pahuna Haveli
Address: 211 - Sardarpura,, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pahuna Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing