We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“relaxing home from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kumbha Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kumbha Palace
Ranked #53 of 242 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Kumbha Palace is run by a friendly Dutchwoman (Francine) and her equal friendly husband (Dinesh). My room was bright, clean, comfortable and airy with multicolored glass windows that opened for a view over the front garden; the room also had an enticing little table and two chairs in the perfect sunny spot. The bathroom was okay, clean and functional, although a bit musty due to lack of ventilation.

I enjoyed eating on the rooftop terrace and chatting with the multilingual Francine, however the highlight of my trip was an afternoon's jaunt out to their property in the hills. As an inexperienced rider I was given a Merwari horse as safe as sitting in a cosy armchair and we trotted happily around the countryside, enjoying the fresh air and quietude. A more advanced rider also had the chance for a gallop.

I fully recommend the Kumbha Palace as well as the chance to experience another side of India by riding through the hills.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippynroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    38
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
37
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

This place is for a budget traveller and you pay for what you get (400Rs a night). It's clean and pleasant but nothing special. Rooms are small and basic and beds quite uncomfortable but it's all clean. There's only one a/c room , which you can pay more for but it was booked up when we arrived. Restaurant on the roof has a nice view of the city palace walls. Service is a little begrudging and we only ate dinner once which unfortunately wasn't very nice at all. Breakfast was very good though, delicious porridge! There is a pretty little garden with seats to sit in. They offer a lot of reasonable services, laundry, taxis, day trips etc and for once they are not trying to rip you off or take any kind of commission. The owners also have a farm with horse riding available. We went for a morning and stayed up at the farm for the night. I don't recommend doing it at this time of year. It was so hot it was difficult to enjoy. The food we received at the farm also made us quite ill.
On the whole I'd say this place is great for a backpacker or budget traveller as it's clean and quite pleasant but nothing particularly special.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ps87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Kumbha Palace was a lovely play to stay. The staff members are fantastic, so nice and helpful. It was very cheap we payed only 400 rupees for a double room. The rooms are very clean. The only downside is the rooms are a little bit run down and the mattress on the bed was quite thin. But overall excellent value, very quiet, great location.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackballoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Kumbha Palace Hotel was AMAZING from the airport pick up - Anwar you're fantastic! - to the beautifully furnished rooms, enough to fit 3 people or more ! The room itself was just beautiful and all for 750Rs, total bargain. Anwar is a fantastic guide offering to take you round Udaipur for a decent price in the AC car and give you historial background to all the sights. The hotel felt very safe and in a fantastic location too, right on the city palace walls! The owners are SO lovely, the breakfast was lovely on the rooftop - can't say much else about the other food but breakfast is a definite yes here! I went on a half day trek on a horse, Rama, with Dinesh in the Rajasthani villages and it was just fantastic, it was so enriching, I totally loved it. Very clean and very helpful staff - thank you SO SO much Dinesh and Francine!! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.6 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 km away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#44 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pratap Bhawan
Pratap Bhawan
#29 of 242 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 km away
Lal Ghat Guest House
Lal Ghat Guest House
#69 of 242 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 km away
Lake View Guest House
Lake View Guest House
#39 of 242 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumbha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumbha Palace

Property: Hotel Kumbha Palace
Address: 104 Hotel Kumbha Palace Bhattiyani Chohatta, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kumbha Palace is a charming and very peaceful budget hotel situated in the heart of Udaipur’s old city. The hotel has a big, beautiful and lush garden. All clean and bright rooms have attached toilet/shower. High speed Wi-fi is free for hotel-guests. There is an excellent rooftop restaurant with great views on the City Palace and the old city. The owners are also running the Krishna Ranch for professionally guided horse-safaris and trekkings in the beautiful surroundings of Udaipur. It is also possible to stay there in nicely decorated rural cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing