We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Incomparable Shashi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shashi Cooking Classes

Shashi Cooking Classes
Ranked #1 of 12 Food & Drink in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are honest people.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incomparable Shashi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We participated in many cooking classes and impromptu cooking lessons over our seven weeks in India. However, our experience with Shashi stands out in our minds. A generous and humorous soul, Shashi is also an accomplished cook and storyteller.

In the 9 years she has been giving this class, Shashi has gone from a rudimentary understanding of English to become an accomplished speaker in not only English but she holds her own in many of the European languages. Her generous spirit is obviously infectious as many a participant has found ways to leave their gifts of translated recipes, a picture book, and of course glowing reviews of their hours spent in Shashi's kitchen.

Our level of participation was higher with Shashi than in any of our other classes, and perhaps because of this we learned to make far more dishes in our few hours with her than at any of the other cooking lessons.

We wish her continued success and would not hesitate to recommend her classes to anyone interested in food or a 1st hand experience with a Rajashtani family.

Helpful?
1 Thank CUL8RLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    13
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We were recommended Shashi by the guest house we were staying in. At the time they did say it was the best which you tend to hear a lot of in India so we were a bit dubious. When we arrived we were given an overview of what we were going to create and from that moment we knew it was going to be spectacular. Before we started Shashi told us of her background which was truly inspiring. The instruction was top class and the food was just amazing. She makes it very simple to understand so you go away knowing that you can recreate the masterpieces. We also bought spices directly from her as opposed to being ripped off in the market so would totally recommend doing this.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_5949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I joined the cooking classes last weekend and it was absolutely great and we all had much fun. Among other kinds we learned how to make real Jai, Masala sauce, Pakora, Chutney, Naan .... .
You don`t have to write down all the receipts as you will get a summary of all with the ingredients and the description how to prepare it. So you can really concentrate on cooking. In the end you can even buy some spices of Shashi to prices which are maybe 10-20% of the prices you pay at the market as a tourist.

Thanks for this great experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank German86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Definitely the best cooking class experience in Udaipur"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

If you are wanting to learn how to cook great Indian food, this is the place to be. I researched TripAdvisor for the best cooking classes in Udaipur and choose this one based on the reviews given. I was not disappointed.

Shashi is a very kind person who is passionate about cooking. Her cooking class is well organised, educational & fun.

For each class Shashi takes approx 4-5 people into her small home. She will tell you how she started her cooking classes, then take you into her small but well organised kitchen.

She has 2 time slots of 11:00am and 5:30pm each day for these classes. As she is very popular in Udaipur, I dropped into her home in advance, paid a 100 Rupee deposit and then the difference of 400 Rupees when I took the class.

Make sure you don't eat too much before you come, because you will eat what you cook.

Shashi will go through a typed handout of several recipes before the cooking begins. The handout is your recipe book for you to make notes on and take home with you.

You will learn from Sashi how to make Masala Chai (Tea), Pakora, Coriander & Mango Chutney's, Aubergine & Tomato Curry, Veg Palau & different types of Indian Bread. (The menu may change on your visit)

The cooking class is very interactive so Shashi will have you stirring, mixing, chopping, but as another reviewer noted that Shashi does most of the cooking while you observe & take notes. Bring your camera as there are plenty of opportunties to take some memorable photos.

Out of all the things to do in Udaipur this was by far the best 5 hour evening I had.

My friend dropped me off at Shashi's, even though I was alone, I soon made friends with the other 4 tourists that joined the class and we had a fantastic time with Shashi.
Shashi and her son's were very helpful and kind hearted and their english is great, especially her son so you should have no problem with communication.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTravelMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't eat before you go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We LOVED the cooking class - Shashi is very welcoming and entertaining. She answered all our trivial cooking questions, which resulted in the lesson finishing at 11pm! Great food, great value and most of all...a great teacher.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shashi Cooking Classes also viewed

 
Udaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Shashi Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing