We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd visit and it just gets better!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Baroda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“3rd visit and it just gets better!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I are both hardcore fans of this hotel since the first time we stayed there 2 years ago. Our most recent and 3rd stay at this luxurious hotel was as amazing as the first two. The hospitatlity is something beyond all expectations, and every member of staff from seniors to juniors made us feel so welcome and would go out of their way to tend to our every need. I dont believe the staff understand the meaning of the word 'NO'............... Its always 'certainly' , 'ofcourse' or 'not a problem'. In the evenings we enjoyed the views of the amazing sunset from various parts of the hotel and coffee was served to us wherever we were. Our friends, who had also joined us on thistrip were equally blown away, this being their first stay at the hotel. The taste, quality and presentation of every item we ordered from the menu was impeccable, the mezze platter being exceptionally good.
I would not merely recommend, but insist that every couple or family looking for uber luxury and topnotch service should stay at this hotel.............it is truly an amazing experience, that never fails to overwhelm me each time i'm there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvniBaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    142
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
524
702
38
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for a family wedding and had two adjoining rooms.....I could write pages and pages on how wonderful the service, the food, the ambience, the attention to detail was, but instead will just say that everyone should experience what we experienced at this hotel at least once in their lives....simply magical and total fantasy made real.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room - you'll struggle to leave your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Truly one of the most luxourious places. The service and attention to detail was superior to anything that we had experience. The place in itself is beautiful and the food was excellent. From the moment they picked us up from the airport to the moment we left the staff was always extremely friendly and helpful. For both my husband and I it was the first time in Udaipur and we truly enjoyed it. One of the best experiences was asking for the James Bond film and being offered if we wanted to have popcorn in our room!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmpaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our first hoilday visit to Udaipur.

The Leela Lake palace was a preference because it was avaliable.

On arrival at the jetty we were greeted by 3 of thier members. One to open the car door for my wife, one holding the traditional umberala and a host who asked for our names. The boat ride was fantastic. The fresh water breeze opened my senses to a whole new world.

Again on arrival at the Palace jetty, we were greeted by the duty manager wearing traditional prince suit.

Our walk to the hotel lobby included flower showers, live rajasthani music and a traditional welcome. We were escorted, to our room directly. Imagine not waiting/standing at the receiption for any checkin formalities. Every thing was completed from the comfort of our room. That moment we knew that we were in for a treat.

The place/palace has a very fresh feel to it. Grand pathways, marble artwork floorings, mother of pearls designs on walls, open lawns on one side along the pathwa, extensive fresh flower arrangements.... It was all too royal and life like.

Did i mention a royal courtyard in the hotel, with a huge waterbody which lights up at night with live traditional music and folk dance. It was all very good.

It has all the modern amenities that you would expect in a five star property. Ours was a heritage room, one up basic. It had a private lawn, with beach benches, coffee table and chairs, a small personal garden and a swing. All of it facing the lake.

Now for the best experience..... The team at Leela.

They were thought everything expect how say a NO to a guest request.

No expections.... There was again a very fresh feel to the way they interacted with the guests. Usually there is a image of artifical politness in the way the staff interacts with you at other places, but this was not the case here. It was like home. It felt like they were happy to be there and happy that you were there. They were so glad to make you comfortable.

Ofcourse the hotel and our room had every amenity that needs be there to give you a comfortable stay, but its not that only thing that completes a good experience. Its the family that makes the home. And that is exactly the case with the team at Leela Palace.

The food here was again very good. We asked for something that was not on the menu. The chef came to us personally and asked us if we would like it for breakfast the next morning. The next morning it was there, specially for us. We were so happy.

The butler assigned to our room enquired about our sightseeing plan for the day. And the next day asked us how our previous day was with specfic references to the places we told him. That simply means that he did not ask it as a formality. He meant it. This small gesture had a very personal feel to it.

The Palace has a No Grautity/ Tipping Policy to Individual employees. Any tips have to be handed over at the receiption so that they can distributed amongst everyone. This saves you the awkard moments with the employees where you think whether and how much to tip him because he has been so nice to you.

Well there is lots more that i can say about the lawns, the spa, the view but i'll leave these and the other things for you to experience.

A message to Team Leela "keep it up guys" and thanks for a Super Great Hoilday.

For those of you who think all of it costs a lot "Believe me, Its all worth it". It is simply much better than a holiday abroad.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Palace Wing. Ground Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abhay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Leela Palace is the best 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. I booked a room and was upgraded to a larger balcony room with a butler. The view was spectacular, the room and bath area magnificent. The whole complex is designed to look like a palace -- and it does! The hotel furnishings and decor are exquisite -- from silver tables to gorgeous miniature paintings, to a beautiful pool area. I can't say enough. My stay was SO relaxing ... melted away every tension. The service was really friendly and impeccable. Food was delicious. The bath area was huge and luxurious -- deep bath in a separate room just built for relaxing, complete with bath salts and imperial decor, state of the art shower, etc. I just loved every minute! If you can afford a splurge, this is worth it.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a balcony view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agnes184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Being well traveled across half d globe, gives me a fair view of what bliss and luxury stands for. But the Leela Palace Udaipur however re-defies these words and gives them a whole new volume of a meaning.

From the Lovely Jetty Ride to the In-Room speedy Check In with a personal on call butler awaiting to greet you with a welcome drink, u must me thinking 'what did miss all these years'

The Palace is Uber luxurious, with a perfect blend of traditional look as a palace married with a ultra modern room with the perfection to detail of every luxury need that one cud think of.

I am not sure what the bosses' tell their staff, but every member of the team is there to please you and just attend to every whim and fancy u could demand, and they do it readily happily and genuinely. very hard to come across such a dedicated work force.

While this Palace is expensive on the pocket its worth that every penny after u r treated like a royalty.

A truly well deserving 10 on 10 with every aspect of ones luxurious demands!

I am glad that we selected Leela Palace over and above the others, a definite must visit before u die place!!!!

Room Tip: Best Rooms to select would be on the Lake Wing of the Palace especially the ones facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AveeJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is beautiful and has a very good spa.
Food is excellent.
Rooms are large and airy. Go for the heritage facing rooms though- as they have both- a view of the city's heritage buildings and also the lake.
The staff are friendly.
A special mention for the decor of the hotel which is rather unique and has incorporated local elements with grace and class!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anirudhvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
0.5 km away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.8 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 km away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#23 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing