We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best hotel experience to date”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Having come from the award winning Oberoi in Jaipur just a few days before, expectations were high for the Leela Palace in Udaipur. We were not disappointed at any point and I daresay, the Leela Palace is now our favourite hotel experience to date.

From the rose petal shower welcome, we were treated like royalty at every turn. Staff were amazingly kind and accommodating without being overwhelming; they really make the experience what it is! Jitender, who looks after guests at the pool, was especially sweet and we loved just spending time having drinks and listening to the birds sing while he lavished us with complimentary juices and iced fruits.

The setting is beyond compare - surely one of the best views in Udaipur, you can see the City Palace and Lake Palace from the grounds (and from our lake view room) and the site has been built around a 400 year old Hindu temple. Everything is done tastefully and has clearly been thought out aesthetically.

Our room was perfect - again, tasteful, romantic, with very modern features like lighting level adjustments at the touch of a button. The bed faced the lake which was lovely, and the separate bath/shower/walk in wardrobe/water closet were wonderful.

We had massage treatments at the spa and these were absolutely top notch. We also ate at the Sheesh Mahal restaurant and had not just a fantastic meal but a real experience, from the hand washing ceremony to the bracelet tying at the end of the meal.

Though it's hard to leave the hotel, the location is perfect because if you depart from the service entrance you can easily walk around the city and watch the locals (and cows!) walking around, and easily walk to the City Palace. There is also great shopping along every road and Udaipur has a lovely feel.

I could go on forever about this experience - there's a reason why it gets 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor, choose this one if you're going to Udaipur!!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lululie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Leela Palace is now 3 years old and really does have everything for the 21st century traveller. It is situated on Lake Pichola looking out over no less than three
palaces! The "back" entrance is not suitable for vehicles being via incredibly narrow potholed streets so visitors are brought across the lake by boat and given a wonderful welcome. The place is beautifully furnished and the service has to be experienced to be believed. This is the first time I have come across a sunglasses cleaning service at the pool!! I'd go back tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: I would be very surprised if there was a bad room. Having said that views over the lake are obvious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Leela Palace is the newest hotel on Lake Pichola and probably has the best views of all the hotels, including the Lake Palace (Taj) and Udai Vilas (Oberoi). Extremely luxurious and excellent service. My wife and I felt that the decor was a bit over the top and the rooms a bit overcrowded with stuff. But overall, can't fault the hotel for much and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Take the lake view rooms, and try and get a higher floor (rooms are on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdityaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I don't know where to start. This was an unbelivably luxurious hotel. Every aspect was beautiful. The food was gorgeous, the service outstanding etc.

The only thing I would say is that, given we had booked here in order to relax, when we first arrived it was all a bit stressful as we were visited by a string of staff - the butler, his manager and whoever else. All we wanted to do was go out and eplore the grounds etc.

It did also get bit much that we couldn't open a door for ourselves or even turn our heads in the restaurant without someone rushing over to see if we needed anything.

Having said that, it was the most fantastic experience and luxury beyond our wildest dreams. I wouldn't say no to a return visit. In fact, I considered moving in!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Perhaps the best hotel we have ever stayed at.
entry by people dropping rose petals on your head from above, a little band playing, free boat service - and they discourage tipping !
Staff are all so finely dressed, so well mannered, actually look well paid and certainly happy, rooms were to be seen to understand (we want to design our house this way now).
Everything new, all perfect. Absolutely nothing seemed to have had any expense spared on it, it was like living in your uncle the billionaire's house, selection of chocolates and fruits in your room, buffets amazing to say the least, we did not want to leave the hotel at all.
Cannot recommend enough - even the Queen of England would be impressed I'm sure.
If only all hotels could be this way.

Room Tip: Heritage view rooms are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed for two nights and was impressed by the service food and the spa. Would love to go again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManishPatel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

If someone wishes to get the pleasure of being treated as a king/queen, this is the perfect place.... Loved the spa..Keep it up!! The food was also good and I would definitely recommend a stay in leela palace..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,156 reviews
0.5 km away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 167 in Udaipur
1,968 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.9 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.8 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $804 - $1,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing