We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Ranked #1 of 260 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ulhasnagar, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant Stay in Udaipur”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Really it was a pleasant stay at Udaipur in Bhanwar Vilas, Hotel room was spacious neat and clean, and best point is location of hotel is located in the heart of the city. Owner of the hotel is really nice person given proper guidance about the city.

If we ever go back to Udaipur, we will definitely stay at this place again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    134
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
231
190
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We traveled to Udaipur in February 2012 when the weather is pleasantly cool and tourists minimal. Bhanwar Vilas is a good option to stay especially if you're looking for a safe, clean and value for money accommodation option in Udaipur. The rooms were clean, basic and had a distinct flavour of Udaipur. We were more than glad to have hot water in the mornings to help us kick-start the day. The flip side was the four floor climb which seemed like a trek to eternity. But for what it's worth, the terrace was just a floor higher and made it easily accessible. The terrace might not have the best views of the lake but is a great place to hangout either in the morning or late evening when the city lights up. The highlight of the guest house would undeniably be Mr. Sharma who is not only the owner of the property but also your local advisor on virtually anything. It's best to ask him what to see before you blindly follow travel guides and end up feeling cheated of the experience.

Room Tip: If you aren't a fan of climbing stairs request for a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basildso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This guest house is simply charming. The family welcomed us, and treated us as part of their family. The rooms, including the bathroom, were absolutely spotless. The view from the rooftop (see the picture below) is excellent. Do be prepared to climb stairs, but we learned that Udaipur is the "City of Stairs." We arrived for our stay late in the evening, and they waited up for us, and then they sent out for food for our dinner. My daughter was ill one of the days we were there, and the family at the guesthouse were truly wonderful in their care. They also helped us arrange trips, including a horseback riding trip. One other wonderful perk, we were able to receive full massages ... right in our own room. This isn't the swankiest place you can stay in Udaipur, but I have to say we were well cared for (my adult daughter and myself), and I loved staying there, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb stairs ... this is for the entire city. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Located in a quiet alley near the temple (so v central) this was a perfect base for 4 nights in Udaipur. The owner, Mr Sherma, is very friendly & helpful. Each day he gave us a list of places we could visit, many of which weren't in our guide book so that was great. He also recommended places to eat which were fab. It's a shame he doesn't have a restaurant but you can order room service & maybe even food in the lobby area. Lack of rearaurant didn't put us off though as so many nice places to eat nearby & good to have variety.

Very good value for money - perfect if on a tight budget. Room was clean, spacious. Hot water was temperamental & didn't always work fully hot. Nice window seating & good selection of cable channels.

Agree with the review a bit below about the tailor... We were hassled by him too & the only thing that dissatisfied us about our stay was his hassle & the owner not doing anything to stop it.

Apart from that though, our stay was great & we really felt at home. Mr Sherma made it clear that he could help in any way & that we should feel comfortable that it was home from home - a great feeling after being on the road for months.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Best piece of hospitality, complete customer delight

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imuvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you are going for a budget hotel and don't care about amenities or a restaurant (which this hotel does not have. It has a menu you can order from for room service) then this place is fine. There is no elevator and you could stay five floors up. This was not a problem for us. There were several things that were an issue, however. Some sort of pipe needed repair and there was hammering and drilling all night long and into the morning. The management never explained any of it to us, though we walked in and out several times and they could have said something about it. There is also a man who seems to own the tailoring shop next door and claims he is a "manager" but all I ever saw him doing was playing solitaire on the front desk's computer. This man was rude and even flirted with me in front of my husband. he made us all uncomfortable. The family who owns the guest house would be smart to cut him lose. We were traveling with our one year old and we found the place to be quite disruptive. Beyond the all night construction, or doorbell was wrung several different times by room service, each time waking our baby even though we never ordered room service.
The room itself was clean but the bathroom had not been cleaned in some time. There was even hair on the floor when we arrived. I never took a hot shower in our four days staying there, though they told me the hot water was on. On our last day, we needed a place to store our luggage as we were taking an overnight train later that evening. The owner said we could leave it in the lobby so long as my husband wrote a good review on tripadvisor. He made my husband write the review on the front desk's computer and sat by him while he wrote. This was not an uncommon request in India, we discovered. Read the reviews carefully. We felt we had no choice as we had a full day in Udaipur, post check out, and we would not be able to take our bags with us. Again, if you don't mind noise and annoying "managers" and not so clean bathrooms and people bribing you for a review and want just a cheap bed, then go for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACCoop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed for three days in Bhanwar Villas. Room was very neat and clean.Bathroom was also very clean. Owner is a very nice person, very flexible. He gave us directions. We would recommend, if going for Budget hotel then go for it. Under this budget just go blindly, do not worry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abulqasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
466 reviews
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,272 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
1,347 reviews
0.3 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.6 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanwar Vilas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanwar Vilas Guest House

Property: Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Address: 74, Gangor Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bhanwar Vilas Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house in the heart of city to give homely comforts with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Bhanwar Vilas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing