We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had our own car and GPS so finding and getting to Kurabar Kothi wasn't an issue. The manager and staff are sweet. The view from our room was gorgeous. The room was pleasant, it had a fridge, a good space heater and it's very quiet. The mattress is a bit hard though.
But I have to say that for the rate we paid, I think it would be nice if they invested in a better water-heating system. The bathroom had a small geyser and the hot water finished very quick. And fruits should be included in the breakfast, actually the breakfast has a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for their best room with the best view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseDeGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    34
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
25
26
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice hotel with rooms which are a bit different to the norm, in a kind of tented style on the rooftop. There's great views from up there of the lakes and little glimpse of the lake palace hotel.  It's a bit out of town, something like a 20-30 minute walk, which is pleasant, or c. 70 in an autorickshaw, but this also makes it very peaceful.
relatively to what else you can get in the town centre it's a touch on the expensive side, but then again you pay for the quietness and the view.
Breakfast was good and lots of it, and the staff were nice and eager to please.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frisbeemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

A sense of calm and serene prevails as I collect and un-collect my thoughts, emotions, and expressions enthroned in the quaint epitome of tradition, the Kurabarkothi. Overlooking the embalming ripples of lakes Swaroop Sagar and Pichola and graced by the distant backdrop of the ceremonially lit Udaipur Palace, this place offers a truly unwinding experience. Even to date, the bells of the ‘Sandhya Pooja’ chime in unison with the ‘Magrib Azhaan’ in these quiet corners where every ruin of history stands witness to timelessness. With every breath, I inhale the echoes of a culture lost and a culture preserved and served on a commercial platter. For once silence seems to be the greatest gift endowed upon mankind!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook lake Pichola offer a beautiful sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaExpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niyoda a.k.a Noida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Kurabar Kothi is a kothi turned hotel located in a quiet corner of Udaipur. The lake view rooms offer a quite distant view of the Fateh Sagar lake. My experience was not great, maybe because I had high expectations from the place.
Some facts about the hotel are:
1. Its located about 5-7 km from the station contrary to 2-3 km mentioned on their website.
2. The nearest point is Fateh Sagar Lake, the view of the lake is what the hotel is offering. The view is quite distant and average.
3. The dine in resteraunt is completely and outrageously over priced. I mean I had to shell out Rs. 240 for 8 tiny pieces of Chicken Tikka. 2 boiled eggs cos Rs. 90. I don't know if the chicken that lays the eggs is blessed or what.
4. The service is slack and the waiters don't understand what you're saying. Service is one area where the hotel falls flat on its face. I was disgusted at the service.
5. Rooms are cozy and tastefully done. Thumbs up on that front.
6. The mini bar according to the hotel is an empty fridge. You can order drinks from the reception which you can place in the fridge for cooling. The drinks are sold for quite a steep markup, another testimony to the overpriced menu.

All in all i would rate them as not a professional hotel and I will definitely not stay there again. There are much better options available in Udaipur for the same budget in terms of location and value for money.
When in Udaipur, do visit Shilpgram. Try the food at hotel shilpi adjacent to it. Its great and is truly value for money unlike KK.
Happy Holidaying.

Room Tip: Bargain hard. Try to get the rooms with full lake view. They also offer rooms with "partial&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharemyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Lovely place to stay, Where you can have an nice overview to Udaipur, far from the noises of city, but 5 minutes (50 rupies) In tuc tuc.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGuincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

What a lovely place to stay! I don't think there can be better views in all of Udaipur of the lake, palaces, surrounding hills and city. You have to see it to believe it! My husband I spent a few nights in the Kurabar Kothi. After each day's sightseeing, we loved to spend some time just looking from the bedroom windows, sitting comfortably on the window seat, or by a small table on the rooftop (enjoying a nice cool Kingfisher, brought to us by Perumbala), admiring the unimpeded 345 degree view.
Our bedroom was very spacious and beautifully and tastefully furnished and decorated, and so was the reception area. The outside walls were sparkling white and the entire place was so clean!
Although we dealt mostly with the two very pretty young ladies at reception, the manager and all the staff members were really friendly and helpful.
The rooftop restaurant had a very good and varied menu, and the meals we enjoyed there were utterly delicious.
No brochure can do justice to this hotel, one has to experience it oneself! It is not a big hotel and the ambience is just great. We would certainly like to go back and stay there again. We highly recommend it.
M Powell

Room Tip: Ask at reception, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Powell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed in a room with a great view of the lake and city below. The furnishings in the room were lovely and we liked the handsewn mural artwork and painted ceiling. The reception area in this heritage hotel had some great carved furniture and the room doors were interesting. The staff were friendly, especially the main receptionist and the restaurant staff. We ate at the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was good value and most enjoyable (as was the breakfast) and being a rooftop restaurant there's great views up there as well. Oh and good tasting hot coffee. There's a nice little sweet shop selling burfi when you turn left at the bottom of the driverway and walk to the corner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowherebuthenaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Mandiram Palace
Hotel Mandiram Palace
#128 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 km away
Mahima Palace
Mahima Palace
#114 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#84 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.3 km away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#55 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms

Property: Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms
Address: II Ambavgarh | Near Ayurvedic College, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing