We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Nearby Hotels
Treebo Udai Niwas(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel The Tiger(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$10
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaiwana Haveli(Udaipur)
US$38
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$53
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lakend(Udaipur)
US$97
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,288)
Filter reviews
3,288 results
Traveller rating
2,990
218
45
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,990
218
45
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose petalslake palaceneel kamallily pondroyal umbrellajiva spaindian restaurantdance performanceheritage touronce in a lifetimelike royaltysunset cruiseheritage walkroyal suitemoment you arrivefairy taleunique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 3,288 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the name suggests the Lake Palace floats majestically in the middle of the lake which is flanked by the City Palace and looked down upon by the Monsoon Palace perched atop a mountain. Words cannot properly describe the beauty of the hotel, the quality of the service and how special you are made to feel here. From the rose petal shower welcome to the exquisite food, friendly staff and impeccable attention to detail, we felt like royalty ourselves. The Lake Palace is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of India and a welcome friend to which I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: we had a view of the lake. if all rooms don't have one, request one.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayan_Seth, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are most delighted you had a royal experience at the Taj Lake Palace.

Being fortunate to work in the magical setting of our 272-year old original historic palace and playing host to wonderful guests like you, nothing inspires us more than receiving such encouraging feedback. The Lake Palace was once the summer palace of the Udaipur royal family. That rich heritage is kept alive even to this day by our associates who strive hard at every moment to make guests feel like royalty. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the Palace, location, views, royal welcome, food, staff, service and attention to detail.

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our staff and their hospitality, which I have shared with my entire team, whose efforts made this possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again and should you need any assistance with your reservations, please do write to us at lpugm.udp@tajhotels.com

Kind regards,

Nayan Seth
General Manager - Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There really isn't a lot I can add to all the glowing reviews. The location is amazing, the palace is beautiful with its interior gardens, and large, well appointed rooms - all with amazing views, the restaurants are excellent and the staff attentive to one's every need. One couldn't ask for more - except it would be nice if they had kir royales available as cocktails.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayan_Seth, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are most delighted you had an enjoyable Taj Lake Palace experience.

Being fortunate to work in the magical setting of our 272-years old original, historic Palace and playing host to wonderful guests like you, nothing inspires us more than receiving such encouraging feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the Palace, location, gardens, rooms, views, restaurants, staff and their attentiveness. We have also noted your suggestion for adding kir royales to our cocktails list and shall work on it.

I have shared your gracious compliments with all my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Palace in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nayan Seth
General Manager - Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Taj Lake Palace Hotel is a 5-star hotel with 6-star service. This historic landmark hotel is magnificent and the royal vibe lives not only in its beautiful architecture and surroundings, but in the pampering that you feel whether getting a treatment in their luxurious spa Jiva, being catered to at the Jharokha restaurant by the chef Babu Singh, or getting assistance from the front desk who will book you a great tour or help put on a Sari in no time. If you want a royal treatment, Taj Lake Palace is the place to be. Simply the best in India, if not in the world.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayan_Seth, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review your Taj Lake Palace experience and for sharing the most encouraging feedback. We are most delighted your stay at the Palace was enjoyable and you found everything here truly royal.

Being fortunate to work in the magical setting of our 272-year old original historic palace and playing host to wonderful guests like you, nothing inspires us more than hearing back from our guests and getting to know what makes it special for them. The Lake Palace was once the summer palace of the Udaipur royal family. That rich heritage is kept alive even to this day by our associates who strive hard at every moment to make guests feel like royalty.

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team. I have shared your gracious compliments with all my colleagues, including Chef Babu Singh, Spa and Front Office team, who are grateful to you for your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again and should you need any assistance with your reservations, please do write to us at lpugm.udp@tajhotels.com

Kind regards,

Nayan Seth
General Manager - Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I felt extremely grateful to the wonderful staff and the hospitality that they afforded to us. The attention to detail was marvelous. The property is simply beautiful and breath-taking. The history and heritage of the property has been marvelously preserved. The hotel accommodated all of our requests in the short time-span that we could afford to spend there. The personalized dinner experience was perfect. In short, Teresa, Dipankar, Mahendra, Santu, Sunil and Harneek provided us with an experience that will most likely be at the top of our memories for a long time to come. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories and we hope to return soon. Everything from the royal welcome, to the gifting of the delicious welcome gift, a kind letter from the hotel manager, meeting with the chef for our personalized dinner and the departure gift impressed us greatly. We would recommend the Taj Lake Palace to anyone interested in a luxurious and unique stay at a one-of-a-kind property.

Room Tip: We lived in the palace suite with an overhanging jharokha facing the city palace and the room door opening to the Lily pond. Highly recommend such a room if expense is no question.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank 232indraneels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayan_Seth, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are most delighted you had a memorable Taj Lake Palace experience an found it luxurious, unique and one of a kind property.

Being fortunate to work in the magical setting of our 272 years old original, historic Palace and playing host to wonderful guests like you, nothing inspires us more than receiving such encouraging feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the Palace, history, royal welcome, attention to detail, unique dining experience, staff and service.

Thank you for recognising the hospitality and services of our team. I have shared your gracious compliments with all my colleagues, including Teresa, Dipankar, Mahendra, Santu, Sunil and Harneek, whose efforts made this possible.

Once again thanking you for recommending Taj Lake Palace and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nayan Seth
General Manager - Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's easy to fall in love with this place. It's in a stunning location, you take a boat to arrive, the staff is lovely but I don't believe it should be a 5 star hotel (maybe at one time). The hotel is in need of a renovation. The rooms are run down and for the rate that you pay you would expect far more. We left to have dinner in two other local hotels that we found far superior. Additionally if you have friends staying at another hotel they are not allowed to visit you for dinner in this hotel. It's for guests only... we found this out last minute and needed to rework our dinner plans. Not ideal.

Over all it's a beautiful place but perhaps 4 stars.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Eatprayloveparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayan_Seth, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are most delighted you appreciated the stunning location of our Palace and appreciated the services of our associates.

We have also noted your comments about renovation of the Palace and non-resident policy. Being an original, historic Palace of 272 years old, we do have certain logistical challenges. However we manage them all without compromising on the heritage and aesthetic appearance combining it with modern-day comforts as well. This is very well appreciated by all guests through numerous accolades. Also the residents only policy is in place in order to ensure exclusivity and undivided attention to all our esteemed in-house guests, which is again as a result of many verbatim feedback received from guests. However we have made a note of your concern as a constructive feedback for further enhancement and will certainly work on it to attain the utmost satisfaction of all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nayan Seth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews