We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful hotel in India !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Taj in Mumbai and loved the hotel , and then we went to Rajasthan and stayed at Udaivilas and we loved it even more ! Architecture , staff , interiors , gardens and landscape were among the best we have seen in a hotel . I have never seen a more hands on GM than Jan Tibaldi and that probably explains why this is such a well maintained hotel .Our dining experience was magical with beautiful views of the lakes and some of the best Indian food ( and we are great curry eaters !). On our return trip we told the Taj managers , they have some catching up to do haha

Room Tip: WE did a tour and was shown some lakeside rooms and I would have loved to stay there next time round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the architecture, the staff, the interiors, the gardens, the landscaping, the views from hotel and the Indian food.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is an elegant place to chill out but quite removed from the sights and activities of Udaipur. Nice pools and grounds to hang out in although really spread out so lots of walking. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed with patios. The food was good not great, although the truffle scrambled eggs were sublime. But, given the choice I wish we had been in the Lake Palace which looked like it was more connected to an authentic Indian experience in this region.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the pools, grounds and rooms.

Your comments with regards to the food has been read and shared with the Culinary team for their attention. I would like to inform you that our chefs also take pleasure in preparing special food according to choice and requirement of our guests.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Having travelled extensively throughout the Far East we think this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel are immaculate and give an aura of peace and tranquility. The army of staff from the cleaners, the restaurant staff to the Reception and Management could not do enough for us and everyone seemed to remember our name which made us feel very special. A faultless hotel and a fabulous stay. Truly sumptuous in every respect and where we can Oberoi will be our first choice in the future.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which was very spoiling but I believe all the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for appreciating the gardens and tranquility around the resort. Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed the service provided.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here Feb. 3-6, 2012. This was hands down our favorite property during a 2.5 week trip through Rajasthan. We appreciated the nice greeting from Jan Tibaldi upon check-in. He and his staff exemplified top quality service!

The food was excellent. My favorite part of each day was the delicious breakfast buffet. The selection is great, and the chef will pretty much make anything you want. Dinner was fantastic as well and was accompanied by live music. My wife and I also enjoyed grabbing a drink at the bar before/after dinner. We were treated extremely well by the bartenders - Vijay and Ansuman.

The rooms were great. Nice bay windows, a patio that led you to the pool, spacious bathrooms. I loved that my shoes were shined if I just left them in a box in the closet!

One evening we checked out the Leela hotel which is a beautiful, hip hotel but can basically be found in the middle of the Las Vegas strip. It was nice of the Udaivilas to provide us an escort to a golf cart where we were driven to a boat which took us to the Leela - all complementary of course.

If we had any criticism, it's that we felt internet/wi-fi should be free - especially in a hotel of this caliber.

Overall, we felt this hotel is in class of its own. During our trip, we stayed at the ITC Maurya in Delhi, Taj Rambagh, Oberoi Vanyavilas, Oberoi Amarvilas, and Taj Umaid Bhavan.

Oberoi Udaivilas was our favorite.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chungl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you for appreciating our resort so much! Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you loved the room and enjoyed the food and services provided.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

Your observation with regards to the WiFi charges has been noted.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I attended a team outbound in this place - i wrote the word 'place' specifically since i am not sure what else to term it - hotel? Palace? castle? A vacation destination itself? historic monument? I don't know.

A majestic place, you can spend half a day just roaming around the place, amazing view, amazing rooms (which are more like apartment sized I suppose) and the 3 chambered bathroom itself is the size of a lot many 4 star hotels in different parts of the world.
Breathtaking place, brilliant service and abundance of space - The royal image of the property sometimes intimidates you a little bit :)
The stuff are very very friendly, service best in class - however, the distance between rooms and different places (restaurants, pools) sometimes becomes a little bit tiring.
The food was a bit let down - do not get me wrong, its very good by any standard but it is not as royal as all other stuffs in this property were...I found it a bit more oily to my taste and a little lack of choice in lunch & dinner - though the breakfast was awesome.

One advice is if you are out shopping in the city, DO NOT tell the taxi people to go to Udaipur, they will take a you fora a ride and also walk a little bit outside the gate before you start negotiating for taxi/auto will cut down your cost by 50% at least.
There is a shop just outside the main entrance which has great collection - check out and keep it in mind - you can bargain there and they WILL reduce price :)

Will definitely go back with family fi I can afford it in personal expense - chances are limited :)
The room rents are whooping.

Room Tip: if u are paying this much, pay a little more and get the rooms with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quidditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the view, the rooms, the service and our grounds.

Your comments with regards to the food has been read and shared with the Culinary team for their attention. I would like to inform you that our chefs also take pleasure in preparing special food according to choice and requirement of our guests.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just spent two nights at this wonderful hotel! From accomodations to service to food to the sheer physical beauty of the property, grounds and setting, this is one of the very best hotels in all of Asia.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

It is our pleasure to learn from your tripAdvisor review that you liked everything at our property!! Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to know that you and your friends enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the accomodation, the service, the food and the beauty of the property, it's grounds, the pools and their setting!!

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We went to stay at the udaivilas with the family and obviously the sheer scale and setting of the hotel blows you away. We spent a lot of time in the pool which was magnificent and the food was really good as well.
But having stayed at the lake palace, have to say that it beats the udaivilas just on location. But who cares- this is lovely too

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your review has been shared with the Team Udaivilās and they are happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for appreciating the setting, the pool and the food.

Your generous indication of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,151 reviews
0.5 km away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.3 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.5 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $951 - $1,754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing