We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived at 6.30am, having travelled all night by train and the check-in staff could not have been more helpful. Our room was ready for us and we were told we could have breakfast at whatever time we woke up. The views from the rooftop restaurant are stunning as the hotel sits on the banks of the lake beneath Udaipur Palace. The rooms are beautifully appointed around a central courtyard, which is festooned with pots of flowers. People with mobility difficulties may find the steps up to the restaurant a problem as some of them are fairly high.

Room Tip: A lake view room would be a dream come true, although ours was on the ground floor and overlooked th...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were delighted with this smart hotel on the lake shore. I'm difficult to please but could only find good things to say about it. Our stylish room was very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooftop restaurant had wonderful views of the lake and served very good food. On reflection after having completed our 3-week tour of Rajasthan I remember this as my favourite hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was by far the best place we stayed in Rajasthan.
Lovely, clean and comfortable rooms with spotless bathrooms and great hot shower at all times.
From start to finish everything was perfect.
A welcome change from the rest of India this hotel does not accept tips to individuals but rather has a box on reception for sharing out. All the staff were impeccably dressed, polite and courteous at all times. They could not do more to help. Service was brilliant.
Restaurant on top floor overlooking the lake was lovely. Was great to sit in little alcoves with this view all around. Just magical! Food very good.
Location was brilliant. Our driver could not get right to the hotel, but porters rushed down the lane to help. There are lots of lovely shops next to the hotel with everything you could possibly desire.
Free wi-fi internet in the hotel lounge area.
Laundry was expensive but was good service.
Most sightseeing was in walking distance.
Of all the places in Rajasthan this is one of the only places I'd truly want to go back to again.
Exceptionally good value compared with all other hotels we stayed in. We had a 'standard' room. This cost only 1,850 rupees per night.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After four weeks travelling around India this lovely, lakeside, former haveli offered a restful pause. We stayed in a Raj room with an alcove and view of Lake Picola and comfy twin beds. An awesome experience ! The roof-top restaurant, though chilly ( early February), was excellent. We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our lakeside room and felt that the expense of upgrading to a Raj room well...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allaround1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very good hotel, location is perfect, the room was large and spacious with the feeling of being in the palace, if you are here for sight seeing, the food was very good, great service and free WIFI, would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon and had a great time. The hotel was very relaxed and quiet with beautiful views over the lake from the restaurant. It is definitely worth asking for a lakeside view room. The hotel has lots of character and is also very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWSBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Jagat Niwas Palace hotel gives you the taste of how noblemen lived in Rajasthan. It's a haveli converted into a hotel which is on the shore of lake pichola. the rooms are spacious with simple decor with traditional rajasthani feel. The roof-top restaurant is very good offering nice traditional and western fare to partake while looking at the lake. You can see lake palace, Jag Mandir from here. Just outside the hotel you have boat service for a lake ride or visit to Jag Mandir. Jagdish temple and local bazaar is just few metres away. Even the city palace is at a walking distance. It is a nice desitination espacially in winter when weather is nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeep1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,302 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
711 reviews
0.4 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $32 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing