We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay on the water.”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Very nice stay on the water.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The rooms are beautiful and the setting serene here. Service is adequate but not very personal. The restaurant boasts one of the best views in the city. We had a suite which we loved - beautiful window seats. Clean. Nicely decorated. BUt why or why do all these places use ugly florescent lights - you end up trapped in a stark white glare all night when it could be the most romantic mood.

Ask for the corner suites which was views of the Lake Palace as well. Would also recommend Jagat Niwas on the other side of the lake - great food and views and similar price point/style.

Room Tip: A suite is worth it. ask for corner suites (there are two) which have view of Lake Palace as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsimonds1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    110
    30
    9
    24
See reviews for
73
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Didn't have the budget to stay overnight but waterfront restaurant was highly recommended. Came around 530 in the evening to catch the sunset over a cup of masala chai and was not disappointed. Prices are a little higher than elsewhere in the city but the setting and staff make it totally worth it. Tables right by the water are generally reserved by hotel guests starting at 7 or 730, so be prepared to be nicely asked to move to a table right behind you.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AbKo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A total amazing experience was had by my friends and I - nothing is too much trouble for thsio hotel. We arrived to a warm welcome and then taken to our rooms. My friend and I defintiely got the best room in the hotel (ask for room 8) - windows on to the lake with full length window seats - and the bathroom was exactly what was needed after the long drive to Udaipur. The enjoyment didn't stop there - the restarant has bth amazing views and food in equal proportion : good food and beautiful night view of the lake - magical experience. The next day our hire car broke down - the hotel staff rallied into action adn arranged for a mechanic to be there within 15 mins. I will definitely coming back - next time just with my partner ;)

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8 if they have it free - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Perhaps we were lucky to have the Rani from Deogarh speak to her friend at Amet Haveli and say we were coming, as we got the best room in the Hotel! Double aspect - one way you look out on the Royal Palace, the other way you have the Lake Palace! The room was spacious and newly decorated with the beautiful ceiling baubles giving a regal touch!

The restaurant is rated No1 in Udaipur and with good reason - situated on the lawn by the lake with the same dreamy views of the floodlit Palaces, and with delicious food (the cooking is overseen by one of the Maharaja's ex-chefs!), it doesn't get any better than this!

The family are delightful - charming, hospitable and generous -we thank them for a mostenjoyable stay, and look forward to returning again some day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This Heritage Hotel is situated on the Lakeshore, in Hanuman Ghat opposite to the Lal Ghat area with most of the hotels and City Palace, however, what a beautiful location! We had a corner lake facing suite with cushioned window seats to enjoy some of the best views in Udaipur.Rooms and bathroom are large ,clean and very comfortable. The hot water system needs to be improved to allow better and quicker supply. It has a small pool (too cold to use during our stay) but set in a beautiful courtyard. The Ambrai Restaurant , for breakfast , lunch and dinner has a magical setting and is great demand notably for its view. Service was attentive and prompt and there was a good food selection at reasonable prices. A highly recommended hotel offering a perfect base in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony or Corner Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while touring India and would happily have stayed longer. Our room had huge bay windows in which we could sit and look out at the lake. The view was perfect. Our suite was large and clean. The restaurant is outside and again has stunning views of the lake. The food was fine. Staff were helpful. You can sit out by the pool or in the hotel garden, but my husband didn't want to leave his lakeside window!
The wifi is free but only really works effectively near reception.
The water is hot ( when left to run) and our only minor quibble about the whole place was low hot water pressure for the shower. We want to go back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The lake views from our room were indescribably beautiful. The rooms are perfect as well.
Everything is nice and clean, only from in our bath it was stinking from the pipes, but they said they will fix it.
The management was nice, but the service staff in the restaurant was below the standard expected in such a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank QuietTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,055 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
701 reviews
0.3 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
0.6 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
0.3 km away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#38 of 161 in Udaipur
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing